We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptionally clean and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Sand Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Sand Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Certificate of Excellence
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
“exceptionally clean and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed with 2 friends of mine and found the Desert Sand Resort to be quite convenient to all restaurants, to Stone Harbor for shopping and both villages impeccable. The fact that they are 1 bllock from the ocean plus an outdoor and indoor pool for inclement weather was a huge plus. The office staff were very helpful in recommending us to several quality restaurants --thank you. I have a handicap vehicle and was told where to park so I would be convenient to the elevator--thoughtful of them. The rooms had been newly renovated 2 1/2 years ago and kept spotless on a daily basis. I only have praise for this resort which is fairly priced, especially Labor Day weekend. Would love to return in near future.

Room Tip: We had no A/C noise on 2 nd floor. Enjoy some great take out seafood from Stone Harbor and enjoy it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeAnn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
I would like to thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    56
    12
    11
    11
See reviews for
70
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at the Desert Sand for the first time Labor Day weekend and will NOT stay here again! When adjusting our air conditioner from 72 to 75 degrees it began to discharge a burning odor that was irritating to the eyes and nose. This resulted in the smoke alarm sounding in our room. This was scary to our daughters and gave an overall uneasiness about remaining in the room. When the front office was contacted, an employee did respond and stated, "Well at least we know the smoke detector works". While this employee was friendly, this was not the respond we expected. A can of lysol was provided to help decrease the odor. The employee stated the problem occurred as a result of the Heat being turned on for the first time. The heat was NOT turned on and we informed the employee of this, but she insisted it had been. When informed we were to address this with the Manager, we did....but it was USELESS! The manager did NOT see any reason to be concerned about the AC sending off an odor that would trigger the smoke alarm! The manager did NOT at all show any concern for the complaint of irritated eyes and noses! The manager REFUSED to resolve this manner in anyway stating, "There is nothing I can do". I can't imagine what management course she took...she must have FAILED!!!!! We would never stay at this hotel, nor recommend it to anyone we love!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

I stayed here with 4 girlfriends for our annual shore weekend getaway. We have been coming to Avalon for years but this was our first time at the Desert Sand. We loved it! It was only a couple of blocks to the beach - very convenient; and the motel provided beach tags with a deposit. We stayed in a one bedroom efficiency that had a pull-out sofa bed which was fine for the 5 of us. I was impressed with the modernization of this motel; most shore motels don't have flat screen TV's, very nice kitchenette with stove top, microwave, full frig, bar stools. And it has an elevator which was a huge help since we were on 2nd floor (many shore motels don't have elevators either). The room was very clean. The pool area has plenty of lounge chairs and tables; along with a sundeck on 2nd floor. There is a little pool snack shack/bar that is open in the afternoon too. The ice machine took quarters which we weren't expecting. There is free wifi (ask for the password at the front desk), however we found the connection to be very slow.

There is a trolley that runs along Dune Drive if you want to go into the heart of Avalon for the nightlife / bars. That was convenient so we did not have to worry about driving.

This is a great motel and we would come back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GalThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you very much for this review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. I will take into consideration our internet connection and see what I can do about that. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

This was the third visit to Avalon beach, but first time in Desert Sand Resort. If you don't want to rent a beach house, or aren't staying a full week, this place was great. My mother, 8 year-old son and I stayed 4 nights. The room was fine and clean. Two double beds, sleeper sofa in separate living area. Kitchenette with microwave, fridge/freezer, sink, 2 burners. Bathroom was small, but nice. The pool area is clean and lounge chairs are comfy. Bar and snack bar by pool. Tables w/ umbrellas available on deck area. Higher floor would be quieter, but it wasn't bad next to pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerryjmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We remodeled all our two room efficiency suites 3 years ago. We hope you think of The Desert Sand for future trips to Avalon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My 1 year old son, husband, sister in law and I stayed here over 4 nights in July. Our room was one of the newly remodeled rooms, and everything was very nice and very clean. Our housekeeper Dottie was great and would try to come before our son's nap time. The grounds are nice and very close to beach. Cooking on the stove top is my only real concern, everything took forever to cook. During a T storms one afternoon, the indoor pool was closed, which was kind of a bummer because that was the main reason we booked at this hotel: in the event of rain, we'd have the indoor pool. However, since the roof over the indoor pool area is glass or plexiglass, we were told it was still considered a hazard during a T storm.
Location, new rooms, housekeeping staff are great. The tile in the living room area is a great idea, instead of carpeting which just traps the sand. Would go back.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Callaweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

For the record if you want to stay in Avalon you get what you pay for. We originally paid for a nice hotel in Avalon but instead were moved to a cheap motel due to the fact that they over booked. When we arrived at the motel to check in, they immediately asked for our ages (we are under 25, but over 20). The lady became angry with us. She went straight to the phone and had it out with our original hotel manager. She came in telling us this was a one time deal only, due to their age policy, and will allow us to stay for 2 nights. She said we will get one warning, due to "having children on the premises" and not allowing swearing/loudness. My girlfriend asked the lady what would this warning entail, and she said that they QUOTE: "WILL KICK US OUT" if there is any complaint of loudness/swearing etc. We are all over 21 years old, we are mature and here only for the beach as a vacation with friends-we have been coming here for 20 years. We wanted the other hotel to begin with.

When we walked into the room, we were overcome with the stench of what seemed like urine and mold. The comforters had what seemed like a sticky film all over. We did not even want to take our shoes off or sit down on the beds, let alone BREATH in the stench filled room.
We are not picky people, but this was APPALLING. We ended up finding a room elsewhere.
When we returned the keys to the desk deciding NOT to stay a minute longer, the woman told us that if we check out we cannot come back, and that [insert name here] would only be in for a short while longer, and we will "not find a room anywhere else" when she asked why we were leaving, I said that the quality of the motel was not what we had paid for at the other hotel, and due to this fact, we will look elsewhere. The cleanliness was disgusting, and the customer service was non existent.

VERY RUDE, NASTY, DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!

*for the record, we highly recommend "The Dunes Motel" in Stone Harbor. Price range is similar but rooms are immaculate and fresh. Staff cleans rooms every day-even ones that are not being used-and they are VERY friendly and easy-going*

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielrm5210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Desert Sand Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
I am the clerk that checked this group of 4 young adults in. The motel that they were orginally were booked at over booked their rooms. We just so happened to have two of rooms available for them. I had asked the motel manager of the other motel if they were ALL over 25 years of age, as our policy is that everyone in your party must be over the age of 25 or accompained by their legal gaurdian or parent. When they checked in, they looked very young. We asked for their ID's, as do with everyone who does not look over the age of 25. They were all under 25. Since they were inconvienced by this other motel, I made an exepction and told them that they could stay. I also told them that we have a no tolerance policy. I did not inform them about this rudly. She did ask what the no tolerance policy is and I proceed to tell her, that she will get one warning from us, after that they will be asked to leave, not "WILL KICK US OUT." I would also like to say that they had two rooms that have been cleaned and that have aways been cleaned by the same person for years. She is one our best maids and NEVER once have we had a complaint about her, I promise that. That room did not smell of urine or mold, nor did the comforters have a film on them. When they decided to leave so soon after they checked in I went up to the rooms to check them, as we always do, and they were very clean and did not smell. What I told them when they checked out was that if they check out now and are unable to find another room else where, the pm shift clerk will not be able to rent to them, as our policy is 25 or older. I did not tell them they will "not find a room anywhere else" as I do not know the availabilty of anyone else. I would also like to state that we also clean and freshen our rooms everyday whether they are rented or not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Nice place to stay. Booked a two night stay on a weekend. Clean rooms and friendly staff. The rooms are spacious. The pool was nice with a separate little pool for small children.

Room Tip: We booked the E style room, large room with 2 queen beds, sofa bed in living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jalt1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.0 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#1 of 6 in Stone Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
12.7 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
12.2 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#15 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sand Resort

Property: Desert Sand Resort
Address: 7888 Dune Dr, Avalon, NJ 08202-1070
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Desert Sand Hotel Avalon
Desert Sand Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing