We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Renovated Hotel/Faithful Customer”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to the Windrift for about 20 years or so. The owner has done a complete renovation of all the rooms. The quality of the finishes are great!! The beachy hotel feel is gone, we are now in the mid-century modern 21st century. Kinda miss the old roof top open-air beach bar. At one time the downstairs bar was a true barefoot bar with high top tables upto the dunes. That said, we were greatly disappointed in the service of the wait staff at breakfast, food was OK? The bartenders lack of attentiveness during our evening after dinner drink was indifference at it's best. The poolside service was good, pool very crowded, also hotel guests reserve most lounge chairs before going to the beach, if you sleep in your out of luck. Our room was one of the cleanest ever for the jersery shore. Loved it!!

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are at a premium. Choose odd # rooms on the 2nd level as even # rooms face the bac...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Windrift Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Just got back from dinner on the rooftop bar at windrift. It was beautiful. Unfortunately the service suuuuuuucccked!!!! I NEVER got my meal after and hour of waiting with absolutely no apology. Instead an attitude. 1 st time in my life that I did not actually get a meal ever at dinner. No comped drinks NOTHING! On top of that it took the waitress 20 minutes to stop at the table to take my order to begin with. Also no apology. Never again. Also my girlfriend got the chicken cheese steak and I ate some (out of hunger) and it sucked also.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank Mmcada02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Avalon. The Windrift was a great place to stay. We will return if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justbecause45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at the newly remodeled Hotel. We had a really nice stay. I honestly have to say the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We loved the new deck, which overlooked both the ocean and the pool. The kids loved the pool and new hot tub. The staff is very nice and the location is ideal. It is right on the beach and very close to the shops in Stone Harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family has been staying at the Windrift at least one time a year since 1978. As you might imagine, we have seen a lot of changes in the place. It started as a family hotel with a simple restaurant. Then it became the night spot that was the place to be seen on Seven Mile Island… lots of drinking, bands thumping to 2AM and an upscale dining component. Overnight guests were secondary while the bar and noisy band noise became the primary focus.

Finally, in 2012 the Windrift has managed to merge its two identities; serving both the young and hip as well as the folks who want to spend a whole vacation walking from beach to room and back without shoes. The old sundeck is back on level three albeit smaller than the old level two deck which is now totally supplanted by a new dining area. The pool is very well done. It has zero depth entry and a wonderful Jacuzzi. Work has been done to soften the sounds from the bands playing late at night. This is a BIG improvement. And the new rooms are amazing. They are upscale yet accessible and comfortable. There are a lot more casual dining spaces some with great views of the ocean.

The transformation from 2011 to 2012 is incredible. It is very well done. If you are looking forward to a great summer beach vacation on the Jersey Shore, this is your place.

Room Tip: If possible, reserve a year in advance . Oceanfront and weekend rooms book solid from year to year...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for a portion of the July Fourth holiday. We were able to get a very clean sophisticated suite with a view of the beach and ocean. The Windrift has been totally redone and has a Miami Beach atmosphere. Elegant styling. Not our parents Jersey shore!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building - no encumbered view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I am here as I write this. It has been redone from top to bottom. It is gorgeous. For all of the travelers who have always loved this place, now there is more to love. The rooms are now modern and look like a new boutique hotel in NYC. The public spaces are drop dead gorgeous with an level. Restaurants and bars are amazing. Same great place with everything new and very comfortable. Wow!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozbscoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
268 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,223 reviews
12.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing