We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place on the beach.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Avalon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windrift Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This was our first trip to Avalon. The Windrift was a great place to stay. We will return if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justbecause45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 217 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

My family of 4 spent 4 nights at the newly remodeled Hotel. We had a really nice stay. I honestly have to say the beds were the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We loved the new deck, which overlooked both the ocean and the pool. The kids loved the pool and new hot tub. The staff is very nice and the location is ideal. It is right on the beach and very close to the shops in Stone Harbor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our family has been staying at the Windrift at least one time a year since 1978. As you might imagine, we have seen a lot of changes in the place. It started as a family hotel with a simple restaurant. Then it became the night spot that was the place to be seen on Seven Mile Island… lots of drinking, bands thumping to 2AM and an upscale dining component. Overnight guests were secondary while the bar and noisy band noise became the primary focus.

Finally, in 2012 the Windrift has managed to merge its two identities; serving both the young and hip as well as the folks who want to spend a whole vacation walking from beach to room and back without shoes. The old sundeck is back on level three albeit smaller than the old level two deck which is now totally supplanted by a new dining area. The pool is very well done. It has zero depth entry and a wonderful Jacuzzi. Work has been done to soften the sounds from the bands playing late at night. This is a BIG improvement. And the new rooms are amazing. They are upscale yet accessible and comfortable. There are a lot more casual dining spaces some with great views of the ocean.

The transformation from 2011 to 2012 is incredible. It is very well done. If you are looking forward to a great summer beach vacation on the Jersey Shore, this is your place.

Room Tip: If possible, reserve a year in advance . Oceanfront and weekend rooms book solid from year to year...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hankski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for a portion of the July Fourth holiday. We were able to get a very clean sophisticated suite with a view of the beach and ocean. The Windrift has been totally redone and has a Miami Beach atmosphere. Elegant styling. Not our parents Jersey shore!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the north side of the building - no encumbered view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wraway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

I am here as I write this. It has been redone from top to bottom. It is gorgeous. For all of the travelers who have always loved this place, now there is more to love. The rooms are now modern and look like a new boutique hotel in NYC. The public spaces are drop dead gorgeous with an level. Restaurants and bars are amazing. Same great place with everything new and very comfortable. Wow!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rozbscoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

The Windrift is and always will be the most fabulous hotel on the island. My family stated vacationing in Stone Harbor in 1964, but ALWAYS DINED AT THE WINDRIFT! So proud and excited each year now that I have my own family, to let them also experience the beautiful shore! EVEN BEFORE MY OWN FAMILY MOVED BACK EAST FROM SAN DIEGO, we would make the trip to Avalon to stay at the WINDRIFT FOR 3 weeks! Nothing compares to the gorgeous beach, fabulous dining, including YUMMY sushi bar, outside dining overlooking the ocean, fantastic wood-fire pizza for the children, the VERY BEST CHICKEN CHEESESTEAKS, my son's comment, and the unparalleled DELICIOUS food served in the dining room in the evening. OUR FAMILY EATS AT THE WINDRIFT EVERYDAY AND NIGHT. THE ENTERTAINMENT HAS LIVE BANDS MOST EVERY NIGHT IN THE SUMMER. WHERE ELSE ON THE ISLAND CAN YOU FIND THAT? The college staff is very courteous and they work their tails off.

Even though we recently bought a condo next door, we visit the Windrift twice daily for lunch and dinner. It is that fabulous!!

Not only would I recommend it to strangers, but I have recommended it to our neighbors in Pittsburgh, that are diehard Outer Banks, NC fans. They visited for the first time last year and fell in love also.

Beautiful new pool/ spa and I can't wait to see the finished result at the resort summer of 2012. It will be gorgeous! Best location on the island, with rec center 1 block away. Terrific family resort!! Doesn't get better than this!!!!

ENJOY!
Diane Mackie
Washington, Pa:)))

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The rooms have been very nicely updated, great bathroom and shower, comfortable beds and reasonable rates. Great location also, right on the beach. Breakfast vouchers for $10 off are a good deal, and breakfast only cost us $3. We left a few items behind which we called about and the staff located them (and another item we didn't realize we left) and shipped them to us promptly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dave289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avalon
0.1 mi away
ICONA Avalon
ICONA Avalon
#1 of 5 in Avalon
379 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beachcomber Resort
0.9 mi away
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
The Reeds at Shelter Haven
#2 of 6 in Stone Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Concord Suites
The Concord Suites
#2 of 5 in Avalon
507 reviews
9.1 mi away
ICONA Diamond Beach
ICONA Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
1,346 reviews
12.4 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windrift Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windrift Resort Hotel

Address: 105 80th St, 105 80th Street, Avalon, NJ 08202-1037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Avalon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Avalon
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your dream oceanfront resort in Avalon. Located on the beach at 80th Street. Hotel Accommodations include 72 standard hotel rooms, 6 oceanfront suites, and 10 condominiums. Featuring a zero entry pool with hot tub Dine with your family in one of our 3 restaurants. Our Level 2 restaurant and tiki bar feature the only oceanfront dining on the island. Enjoy our Brick Oven Pizza kitchen, Sushi and Oyster Bar. Our 5 lounges allow for all your entertainment needs, whether that be at our piano bar or by the stage with a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windrift Hotel Avalon
Windrift Resort Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing