We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed!”
Review of Barcelo Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Salinas
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“disappointed!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we visited Ecuador, in August this year (2012) We saw the Amazon River and the Cloud Forest, and decided to finish our holiday with a 'chill-out' few days at the pacific coast.
The first sight of the Hotel is quite impressive, a towering edifice overlooking the sea, however it soon becomes clear that only the first few floors are in fact the hotel ,,, the rest is for luxury apartments that do not even share the entrance.. We were checked in and shown to our room, the paint was peeling from the door frames, the net curtains were mouldy, there were no towels in the shower room, The whole room seemed very tired and uncared for, we returned to the reception and said we wanted another room. The only way we could move was to upgrade. We had no option but to accept this as we didn't want to be traipsing round Guayaquil searching for another hotel. The internet was a constant battle, while its not usually important to have this connection , we needed to touch base with home as we had elderly parents that were alone while we were on holiday. It is important however to point out that the staff in the hotel were a lot better than the Hotel itself, pleasant and courteous, happy to help and always had time for the guests, the food was good and plentiful, the bar at the poolside was convenient for drinks and snacks.
The advertised 'Entertainment' at night however never materialized, the large hotel bar was deserted from 9pm onwards.
While this is advertised as a 'Five-Star' establishment, anyone looking for five-star surroundings would be advised to go elsewhere.
last year we were so happy with our stay in the Hilton in Costa Rica, we assumed that the five-star award would be similar in this hotel, we were SO!! wrong.
The usual trappings of the up-graded room had to be asked for, I.E. Coffee for the filter machine, cups for the coffee to go in, once again towels for the bathrooms, the fridge in the room sounded like a small jet taking off, the patio doors on the terrace did not lock, leaving the room open while we were else-where. All in all, a seriously disappointing end to what had been a great holiday, the Barcelo chain should look closely at this hotel as it leaves customers determined to never visit another Barcelo establishment. I speak as a businessman that has used the Barcelo in San Pedro, Spain for clients visiting Europe, this hotel is a fine example of the chain.
The Barcelo Colon Miramar, Ecuador Five-Star I think not!!!!!

Room Tip: check your room before signing in, the pool noise is very bad, the air con is incredibly noisy. many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foamdancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    166
    104
    59
    37
See reviews for
303
165
14
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here from August 1st to August 10th. We had a car meet us at the airport, the cost was $60 to go to the hotel (which is good for a two hour trip). The taxi driver was nice, cordial, and sociable.

When we arrived at the hotel, the staff was great, courteous, and helpful. The food at the restaurant was marvelous (my fiance couldn't stop commenting about it). We live in Manta, my fiance is Ecuadorian but Las Salinas was by far more calm, less deliquents running the streets, and my fiance and I talked about relocating there.

About the hotel again, the internet was slow to say the least but that is to be expected in Ecuador. I don't know what the lady was talking about previously but I would recommend this hotel to anyone that would like to visit Las Salinas, Ecuador. We had ants on the sink in the bathroom but other than that, it was great.

It is convenient to all shops, restaurants, grocery stores, pharmacies, and clinics. I had surgery on my foot at la Clinica de la FAE (an Ecuadorian Air Force Clinic) and the doctor was amazingly great, studied in America.

From the reservation staff, to the spa staff, the pool-side tiki bar staff, the gymnasium staff, etc everyone was great and we are going to visit the place again. This recommendation comes from a man that travels all around the world.

My final say is: "Go, you will enjoy yourself!!" It has a great seaside view and we had an excellent room. If you can get it, stay in room 507. Good Bye

Room Tip: Choose one on the poolside overlooking the Pacific Ocean. I had room number 507 and it has a very r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesB1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a reservation for august 4th at 12 am because we had my brother's wedding at 445 pm, we get there at 1 pm and the hotel was full and cancelled our reservation without any advice. They trear us terrible bad and mak us wait 1 hour to solve our situation. when we get to the room there was no electricity for half hour and we get late to the wedding. When we got back from the wedding at 4 am there was no water in the bathroom they tried to fixed but it wasn't fixed until 10 am. We didn't receive any apologies from anyone in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katrinadiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

If you go on an "off" day and get the cheap rate (about $60pp per night), then the hotel can be alright. At this price the buffet and free drinks became worth it but I imagine at any other price (sometimes $120pp per night) they are totally over priced. The rooms I would rate 3 stars too, bathtub could be bigger. Towels weren't provided in one of our rooms (even after asking!), they said they ran out... All in all I would say this one is a gamble, if you get it cheap and there isn't many people the whole package may work out a bargain and a good time. However, with some other combinations, you may end up disappointed.

One thing you must for sure NOT DO --> Do not use the inhouse travel agency, they have rip off prices! just walk down the beach and use one of the local agencies for as much as 70% discount on the hotel's agency's rates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simplydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Nice location and thats it. Not worthwhile. There are much better and cheaper options in Ecuador. Lines for everything. Poor food. Too many people.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, ca
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Pros: all inclusive
Nice hotel in the area facing beach
Service good
Had enough, soft pillow on the beds
Cons:
no hot water to shower
Bar music to loud
Too expensive . Could get a better deal somewhere!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 12/28 and paid $310 for a double. Lonely Planet calls this the "most luxurious hotel in town" but fails to mention it is not luxurious and is way overpriced. The only benefit I see in this hotel is that it is all inclusive - food and drinks. Complex also includes condos. Food buffets and bar entertainment (actually the singer was really good) were good but not worth the all-in cost. Hotel staff speak limited English so it is more focused on Ecuadorian tourists. Room required one key card to keep electricity on. Door key card had to be replaced 4 times and still didn't work. Think cheap budget Waikiki hotel 20 years ago. Very clean. Our two double beds were not comfortable. Walls were thin and we heard the TV next door. No room service. Worth about $100-150.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dive448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salinas
0.6 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 16 in Salinas
134 reviews
11.1 mi away
Royal Decameron Punta Centinela
1.2 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salinas
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Marvento II
Hotel Marvento II
#9 of 16 in Salinas
80 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Francisco III
Hotel Francisco III
#8 of 16 in Salinas
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Salinas

Property: Barcelo Salinas
Address: Malecon Between 38th & 40th, Salinas 9999, Ecuador (Formerly Barcelo Colon Miramar)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barcelo Salinas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Barcelo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Colon Miramar Hotel Salinas
Barcelo Hotel Salinas
Barcelo Hotel Colon Miramar
Barcelo Salinas Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing