We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and great food!”
Review of Big Ralph's Hostal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Big Ralph's Hostal
Ranked #5 of 47 Salinas B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We feel so lucky to have been guests of Ralph and Andrea! They are great people with a great business. Minutes walk to the Malecon. Our intention was to stay 3 nights but felt so at home that we stayed 10! We intend to go back and highly recommend Big Ralphs rooms and food to anyone visiting Salinas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have been living in Guayaquil for two years, and I am so glad I found this place. There fish and chips is amazing, light flaky fish just like in the UK. But best of all was the Ossu Bucco, amazing flavors, highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tashak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Ralph and Andrea are very nice people but the room my wife and I had was nice but we feel it the floor could have been cleaner. The food was good, Ralph did an awesome job on everything we ate.

It is a bit of a walk to the beach but it's a nice walk, We also feel the room was a bit over priced as well at $45

We will do some better surveillance next time before we commit. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WheresRowdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

After going here for 2 years, never a bad experience or meal. Ralph is a first class chef and his food and presentation is excellent.

Andrea, his wife, is a kind, caring and helpful person and it is always a pleasure to visit Big Ralph's Hostal and Restaurant. Nice place to stay and/or eat!

Great food, great place to meet other Expats and Ecuadorians and gather information.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at Big Ralph's during our visit to Salinas. Ralph and Andrea were gracious hosts who were helpful with providing information before our arrival and during our stay. Our room was basic but super clean. The shower had plenty of strong, hot water :). Unfortunetely the in house restaurnat was not open for dinner during our stay (low season), but if the scrumptious breakfast prepared by Chef Ralph was any indication of what they offer for dinner -- don't miss it. The Hostel is an easy walk to the nearby beaches and several good restaurants. We plan on returning to Ecuador in the fall and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Wow what a warm friendly welcome we got from Big Ralph and Andrea. Rooms were basic but very clean. Powerful showers and lovely breakfasts. The hostel is in a safe area away from the noisy beach areas but close enough to walk too approx 10 mins to sandy beaches. Try eating eating in restaurants 1 block from the beach front as food fresh and tasty but not gringo prices. Recommend a trip 'whale watching'

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fitnessbec76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed at Ralph's and Andreas Hostal for three days and very much enjoyed the hot showers and many conversations with Ralph about his days in England and all the current and future improvements and expansions to the Hostal. I could tell a lot of love has gone into building and maintaining the Hostal. The breakfast was very good: Ralph is a certified English Chef and the breakfast reflected those certificates(see photo:fresh squeezed Orange juice didn't make it into the pic). I very much enjoyed my walks to the Malecon, but other options are taking the bus for $.25 or a $2.00 Taxi to the Malecon, if that is your preference.
The weather(it is winter in July) was overcast and chilly for Ecuadorian standards, but still enjoyed some great Whale watching and had my clothes cleaned from a little place around the corner very reasonably.
They actually drove me to the mall a day during my stay while showing me some of the interesting places to visit in Salinas.
I would stay at this Hostal when I return to Ecuador in the Summer and very much enjoyed every minute of the room and conversations with Ralph and his very good breakfast.

Room Tip: There is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
1.0 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 15 in Salinas
149 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#15 of 15 in Salinas
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Chaqana Lodge
Chaqana Lodge
#2 of 47 in Salinas
37 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Salinas
Barcelo Salinas
#1 of 15 in Salinas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Ralph's Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Ralph's Hostal

Address: Av. San Lorenzo S/N | Calle 53, Salinas 240207, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range: $30 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Ralph's Hostal is a small English - Ecuadorian business in Salinas a few steps from the beach. Services and facilities available at Big Ralph's Hostal include a Restaurant, bar and private parking. Our bedrooms are supplied with air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and national TV. Spoken languages: English & Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Big Ralph's Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Ralph's Hostal Ecuador/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing