We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips”

Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 75 Restaurants in Salinas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: RALPH JONES, British Chef, having worked in culinary institutions in the UK, opened his own business in Salinas - Ecuador. A casual restaurant offering modern and traditional British food, in addition to quality and high standards based on extensive experience.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Ralph and his wife are great host. Their Fish and Chips are Great the only thing better is Ralph and his wife. They are friendly kind and very helpful. They went out of their way for me and my friends. I'm headed back this March and will spend lots of time at Ralph's.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joeyt484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 170 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

What a quaint little place, we loved it!! Ralph and Andrea make your stay memorable. There were 3 of us in one room, so it was a little small and cramped. But, all we did was sleep there, so not an issue. The place is very clean. We sat out in the courtyard one day having drinks and it was wonderful!! The only negative about this place is it is a few blocks from the beach and down from where all the action is. So, if you or someone you are with has trouble walking, you will have to get a taxi. But, the location is also a plus as it is quite and out of the way...so it depends on what you want. I think my favorite part was the different homemade juice every morning...delicious!! And, they even stayed up late waiting on our late arrival...Thanks Ralph and Andrea...hope to see you again soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana73, Propietario at Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thanks Cindi, how is everybody?.. When you coming back?.. looking forward to see you again. Ralph, Andy, Sam & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The food is spectacular and it was nice to meet expats. We keep fond memories of the place and they were very keen to help us as we were looking for furniture, etc. for the condominium. The service is very friendly and the food is more than affordable. The food preparation is according to cleanliness and wellness standard. Ralph is also very flexible and will cook for you: I had a lemon pie and a chocolote pi baked for our family. They were out of this world! Thank you for our great time at your restaurant. Our Friday nights are not the same here.
Lucie, Albert and Jaden

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fancypaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana73, Propietario at Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Dear Lucie, Albert and Jaden we appreciate your comment. Hope everything is alright. I'll sent you the rice receipe soon. afectuosos saludos. Ralph, Andy, Sam & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I was thrilled to find a little piece of England hidden in Salinas Ecuador - a real fish & chip shop. Big Ralph is the owner and resident chef. His pedigree is great as he has worked in some of the top restaurants in London. This shows because the ingredients are always fresh, the fish is straight off the boat and the resulting meal is delicious. A delight on a plate. The simple menu does also include a couple of non fish dishes and every last Sunday of the month Ralph does a 3 course roast dinner for $10. If you want somewhere to stay he has a hosteria at the back with reasonably priced, clean comfortable rooms. Oh, and if after all that great fish and chips you still think you’ve got room for more – the lemon meringue pie is a must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana73, Propietario at Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2011

Thank you guys. We miss you lots. Let us know were are you?... Ralph, Andy, Sam & David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

Thank AlejoFt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant also viewed

Salinas, Santa Elena Province
Salinas, Santa Elena Province
 
Salinas, Santa Elena Province
Salinas, Santa Elena Province
 

Been to Big Ralph's Hostal & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing