We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely isolated getaway...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas
Ranked #5 of 40 Salinas B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely isolated getaway...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Gorgeous grounds, the hostess is an interior decorator and the rooms are beautifully done in an international style. The spot is located way out of town, you will need lots of taxi rides for lunch, dinner, shopping. Make sure you establish meal and transportation prices ahead of time : we had a lovely lunch the second day which was charged at $18 , I am assuming our two rides into town were included in that price. Nice to know beforehand, however. If the Señora is not there, it will be difficult to get fed, you will need to send out for meals. And pay the delivery fee as well. Those small things aside, it was a lovely experience in beautiful surroundings away from the crowds, listening to the ocean right outside your door.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    7
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
11
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Front Royal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful getaway with excellent personal attention, this is definitely the place. My girlfriend and I recently spent a week at Playa Canela and it was very hard to leave! The rooms are clean and well kept daily, the morning breakfeast is delicious, and the staff is ready to help you with all of your daily needs as you relax in the jacuzzi and swimming pool, or just lounge in a chair and listen to the ocean. Ceclilia and her staff earned 5-stars from us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dylan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay in Salinas in this breathtaking hotel. The owner is a lovely lady who goes out of her way to help you with all your needs. The rooms are decorated beautifully and the ocean views spectacular. Breakfast is served and other meals can be ordered and picked up for you. Otherwise take a $2 taxi ride into town and enjoy some terrific restaurants along the Malecon.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlayaCanelaEcuador, Propietario at Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tan valiosa opinión. Estuvimos muy gustosos de tenerlos nuevamente con nosotros y haber aportado para que su estancia haya sido placentera.
Siempre tendremos en cuenta todas las opiniones constructivas de nuestros huespedes porque eso nos ayuda a mejorar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you want the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature, this is the place. Romance can be feel in the air. Great views. Enjoy breakfast with ocean view is priceless. Great service, owners of the B&B treat you like family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amayorgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spent 3 days there October 2012. The pictures you see online are exactly what it looks like. Is is funny because outside of this resort it is a dirt field and you walk throught the doors of Playa Canela it is a magnificent oasis. Beautiful place, relaxing and the rooms are beautiful and clean. We were served our meals there and the food was excellent and the dinner settings were goregous with beautiful colorful linens and the beautiful ocean right in front of you. Ceclia the owner was awesome and I loved her dog Luna. Great time. Highly highly recommend. You can walk on the beach, swim in the ocean and watch the beautiful sunset. It is worth every penny you spend!! Don't hesitant to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful B&B over the Christmas/ New Year's Season. We had the honor of staying in the newly developed suite on the second floor of this hotel. Everything in the room was new and made our stay more comfortable. The view from the hotel was breathtaking. Seeing beautiful birds of all kinds flying over head as we relaxed by the swimming pool. The weather in December was beyond prefect, it was amazing. We were able to relax by the pool in the morning, explore the surrounding areas and town during the afternoon, and then relax on the deck later in the evening
The owner and her staff were willing to go the extra mile to make our experience more relaxing and enjoyable.
.
I highly recommend this hotel to people who would like a private get-away from their busy lifestyles. It is a wonderful place to relax, enjoy some sun and let your worries fade away.

Room Tip: If you can rent one of the Suites, make sure you do....they are beautiful, new and help you relax du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

A terrific little B&B right on the beach and just a couple of kilometers from the Salinas Malecon. It consists of a main house where the owner lives and where her personal guests stay. The main house is next to a 3 story building that houses the remaining guests. There are currently 2 large apartment/suites (a 3rd one is being built) and I would strongly recommend you stay in one of these. The other rooms--either doubles with 2 twin beds or couple-rooms with a single, double bed are comfortable but small. The AC works great in all the rooms and the bathrooms are on the small side but not uncomfortably so. Breafast is included in the prices. The owner is a true lover of nature and she has a few majestic birds in an aviary near the pool/jacuzzi and there are a few dogs that you may see (but I never saw or smelled any poop or urine). This is a really lovely place with a totally laid-back atmosphere. Wireless works in some, but not all, rooms and reception is best near the main house.

Room Tip: Stay in the suites if at all possible. Book at least 3 months in advance if traveling during Ecuado...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HugitoSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
3.3 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 17 in Salinas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvento
Hotel Marvento
#9 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#10 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#16 of 17 in Salinas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Palmira Inn
Hotel Palmira Inn
#3 of 17 in Salinas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas

Property: Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas
Address: Calle principal frente al mar, Salinas, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Boutique Playa Canela Salinas Ecuador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing