We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Salinas(Salinas)
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caridi(Salinas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
15
29
7
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
29
7
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 58 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We were surprised as how few hotel options there are in this town, and the few there were weren't too appealing. We settled on Hotel Amira even though it is located a ways south of the main section of the malecon, and there were no restuarants close by. The hotel grounds were surrounded by a high wall that included a secure parking area for our truck.

Our room was very plain, cracks in the wall and paint peeling. The air conditioning was completly ineffective. The Wifi was very poor, although we were only 20 feet from the router.

The lobby area was nice, as were the grounds with lots of flowers, and the pool was nice as well. The 3pm checkout was great, allowing lots of time to enjoy the beach a block away without worrying about the clock.

The included breakfast was OK, but I don't understand why in a country that grows coffee, most places serve instant. The staff was helpful, but not particularly friendly. Overall, not worth the price, but not much to choose from.

Room Tip: Make sure the AC and Wifi work in your room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The grounds and rooms at Hotel Amira are very nice. The rooms are big, with A/C and hot water. Even though my room was on the street side, with the a/c on, and after 11 pm, noise was not an issue. The staff were attentive and polite, although they spoke little English. As others mentioned, the hotel is at the Chipipe end of the malecon and a bit of a walk to the restaurants and the main beach area. The breakfast was the same everyday and often cold. Overall, this is a very nice, quiet hotel near the beach.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jmOPKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This little hotel is located less than a block away from the best beach in Salinas, next to the naval base. You can hear the ocean, but it is, unfortunately, blocked by the monstrous high rise buildings with no more than the 2-3% occupancy rate.

The hotel has a very clean and pretty large swimming pool, and 2 portable steam baths. The grounds are wonderfully maintained. The rooms, all with private bathrooms/showers are spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. The stuff is very friendly and obliging. Their breakfast is WONDERFUL - fresh fruit, different every day: the eggs cooked to order, freshly squeezed juice, freshly baked bread, cheese, and GREAT coffee,

The owner, Dionisi, who speaks Enlglish, goes out of his way to make sure that his guests are comfortable. He offered to drive me to the bank machine, took me to the bus station, gave recommendations for good restaurants, etc.

I first came to Amira, thinking that I would stay there for 2-3 nights and then move on to Olon, which I did, to discover an awful hotel, in which I declined to stay and fled to Montanita. But my good memories of Amira brought me back to there, for another five nights. Most certainly will be back soon!

In off season, and if you pay cash, the rate was $28/day, for a single person, all inclusive. Check the hotel site for special offers and remember that, in Ecuador, there are discounts for the cash payments, which they call "effectivo"

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank movingtoEcuador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed here with friends while traveling the Ecuador coastal region. After looking at several others we selected this one and we are very pleased we did. The hotel is small, but very friendly with a great building and beautiful grounds. The flowers are growing all around the entire perimeter and are well tended and maintained. Even on a rather cool evening sittiong out by the pool for drinks was great. Price is also right for off-season. Definitely would return to this little charmer!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are better. The hotel is far enough from the beach itself and from the center of town (easy walking distance). Upstairs room were quieter it seemed and our friend in the downstairs room had parrots outside their window which was nice , but a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LarryS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We happened upon Hotel Amira quite by mistake. We acted on a recommendation of a lovely lady we met on the Malecon in Salinas. This hotel is located walking distance away from the busy Malecon of Salinas, in more cleaner and safer area of "Chipipe.".

It is only one block back from the beach, which is a far more desirable beach for families and couples. We were there during off season (July), so I cannot tell you what the beaches are like from January to April. I hear most of the local beach dwellers leave the area at that time. The city swells from 40,000 to 400,000. Not my cup of tea.

Anyway, back to the hotel... I shall actually call it a resort, as it it self contained with amenities that turn your head and make you ask yourself "Do I really want to go to the beach today?". The pool, lobby, and grounds, in general, are so clean and comfortable that you may not want to leave.

My husband and I arrived with plans of staying a night or two and then heading up the coast. Each morning we woke from our restful slumber, we asked for another night. This went on for about a week when we decided we would ask to book another week. We abandoned our plans to go North. We stayed two lovely weeks and hated to go. We became friends with the owner and staff and plan to return as soon as possible.

Definitely worth a try if you've never been to the area. The hotel will do everything they can to make your stay a happy memory. (Yes, most of the staff does not speak English, but the owner and his son at the desk do. The staff are trying to learn English, so be patient with them. Consider how they feel. If you don't speak Spanish and you've come to their country, can you really expect to put demands on them to know your language? There is a computer with Internet right next to the front desk. Worst case scenario, you can pull up Google Translate and get your message across.)

Room Tip: We think the "Best Room" was our room because it was convenient to all services AND had a private terrace with a hammock under a Guava tree. Early in the morning you may hear the Parrots in the tree eating the fruit. Just a lovely place to hang out and relax. Room 101
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews