We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Amira in Salinas, Ecuador
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Salinas(Salinas)
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chescos Hostel & Hotel(Salinas)(Great Value!)
$20
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos(Salinas)(Great Value!)
$40
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
15
29
7
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
29
7
3
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 58 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Just returned from Salinas Nov 19, 2011. Amira was a great place to stay. Had a wonderful staff of workers and a fantastic owner that made our stay their so welcoming. Would highly recommend stay at the Amira while in Salinas. Great room & food.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony...Very nice
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 795Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

We stayed in the Amira Hotel for one night in March, 2010. The hotel is charming with beautiful flowers surrounding the perimeter and a lovely pool. I think it was a private home at one time. Our room was large with 2 small balconies and a vaulted ceiling. We loved the setting but there was no internet in the room and no safe. It is not on the beach but the location is quiet. Our friends were staying in the Barcelo, so we moved there for 2 nights. Bad move! The Barcelo is just another big hotel, 4 times the cost and the pool closes at 7pm! The Amira is a much better choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

This is a great place to stay for a week or so.this hotel is very clean and well kept.the rooms are spotless with good quit A/C.TV programing is all in spanish.The pool area is maintained and nicely landscaped.Great fresh fruit at breakfast.Most meals where above average.Service was excellent,but you"ll need to ask for coffee.1/2 block from beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank louienanaimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

A very moderately priced small hotel one block from the beach. I, traveling alone, paid $42.00 including ALL meals. The attractive hotel features a pool, air conditioning, large rooms with a high 12 ft. + ceiling, TV (only local in Spanish), a one computer business area but also wi-fi Internet access, a helpful staff (Dionicio, the manager I believe, speaks English), and a good sized lobby or lounging area. Most importantly, it's got style and charm, a welcome home type of feeling. Did I mention clean and secure -- unless you need to be right on the beach, I think the Amira is a fine choice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alanalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Hotel Amira-Salinas, Ecuador

Hotel Amira is an oasis in an otherwise desert of modern accommodations in Salinas.
We arrived in Salinas looking to check into a modest B&B . Having been spoiled by
Casa Ordonez in Cuenca, this proved to be an impossible task.
I first found hotel San Francisco 2, and went to investigate. I found it to be
old and in much need of a face-lift. As with many of the hotels I previewed in Salinas, they tend to live off their “reputations” that were posted eons ago. At $45.00 a night plus taxes for two, it was out of line. I left disappointed.
While walking around the “town” (we will get to that later), we came across the boutique
Hotel Amira, a beautifully restored casa with restaurant located a block away
from the beach.The grounds were professionally landscaped. There were flowing vines of bougainvillea surrounding the property in a rainbow of colors.
We quickly checked in and took the required three meal plan for $35.00pp..
Our room was spacious and sunny with a vaulted ceiling and double French doors.
The bed was firm and comfortable. We had A/C and a modern bathroom with plenty
of hot water. As for our meals, unfortunately, they seemed to be hit or miss.
The food quality and portions were inconsistent. I had originally thought this was due to the owners son (who is the Chef) being on vacation, but he returned during our stay, and it made no difference at all. It was obvious the restaurant lacks a professionally trained chef. This hotel has been up and running for over two years. They have the hotel part down pat, but they need to improve on what they consider a restaurant.
As for Salinas, (unless you miss Mexican fishing villages from the 1980’s) do not go! Besides the small boardwalk, (Malecon), that is dotted with restaurant employees hawking you to eat, there is not much else to see or do. The streets are gaping with holes, broken cement, and debris. Behind the strip ,all the streets are unpaved compacted dirt. The town is made up of half built cement and stick homes. The rains of wealth have certainly not sprinkled anywhere other than the high-rises along the beach. Chipipe beach next to the Naval base is the cleanest because it’s in the residential area.
Unless you have a lot of experienced traveling under your belt, think twice about making a stop in Salinas , Ecuador; it is off, off, off, the beaten track.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryElizabeth41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews