We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap room nice people good service”
Review of Hotel Francisco II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Francisco II
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Florida, New York
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“cheap room nice people good service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

you get what you pay for, cheap hotel people are very friendly no one speaks English, beds are very bad and rooms very small, if you plan on spending much time in your room don't stay here if you are looking for a bed and a shower cheap this will work.. location is right on beach

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    8
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at Francisco III for two nights for $80. This hotel is well situated on the Malecon but like everything else on the Malecon, it is noisy so bring earplugs. Our room was small but clean. During our stay, we witnessed an incident that left us smiling at the differences with North American standards. Our room was on the third floor an from the mezzanine hallway, we noticed that a room on the first floor had caught fire. We kind of thought we would be evacuated but no. No alarm, no firefighters, nothing but maintenance staff with a couple of pails of water...(see picture). They put the fire out, relocated the guest and aired the room and that was that. All in all, our stay was OK and the staff was nice enought

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SylvanoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Because we needed to change our plans, we arrived in Salinas without a reservation. We stopped at Francisco III and asked about room rates. We were told $45 per night. Well, this is off peak season and I felt it was a gringo price so I walked away. At the street, the owner's grandson who was running the property, came out and offered the same room for $35. I felt it was still too high, should have been $25 or less but we were tired and just wanted to crash. The room is small but clean, hot water showers, fairly quiet and everything seems to work. It seems safe and is right on the Malecon.

Room Tip: During the off season, especially during the week (not weekends) it is whatever room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaliceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I travelled for a competition in Salinas and I needed a hotel close to where the competition was being held so I wouldn't have to travel much. The staff was very helpful and friendly, they even accepted my multiple changes of reservation because my family couldn't decide whether to come with me or not.

The hotel is right in the middle of the Salinas Malecon, which is a good thing if you want to party and stay up all night, but a pretty bad idea if you need to rest. The night we stayed there, it rained all night and since we were on the first floor, we could hear the noise from the roof cover right next to our room.

The room was clean and it had cable TV and a small fridge. We didn't have hot water, but we didn't really care because the weather was hot. The only thing that did bother me was that we left the hotel at 6am to go to my competition and returned around 11am and the room had not been cleaned yet.

The parking lot is about a block away from the hotel and it didn't look safe enough to leave my bike there, so I took my bike with me and left it in the room. The hotel manager told me I could leave my bike outside my room in the lobby, but since I had a competition the next day, I really wasn't willing to take any risks.

We decided not to stay another night because it was raining and there was going to be a fashion show right in front of the hotel that night and I really needed to rest.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the first floor, it's pretty noisy, specially if it rains. This hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfjaramillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed one night in Francisco III is a clean and comfortable hotel. The first recepcionist was friendly and respectful the next morning there was a gay guy that was so disrecpectful with attitude. When we talked to him, he wouldn,t even face us. The location is in great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshine1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband, my father in law, and I stayed here in August. For 3 people the room was plenty large, and even had a small fridge. The location of Francisco III is great...right in the middle of everything. (although Francisco II isn't bad either!!). The room was very clean and the staff very nice. One guy there spoke very good English, but the rest were limited, so brush up on your Spanish. We paid cash and got a discount off the quoted price. All in all, I would recommend this as an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: We were right by the pool which was loud during the day, but not an issue at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cindi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2009

My friend and I stayed here for three days then I came back for an additional couple nights.

Many days you will meet the owner of these hostels sitting in the lobby keeping an I on things. He runs a tight ship and it shows in the clean comfortable rooms!

I highly recommend Francisco II for everyone. Note: If visiting during the low months (May - Oct) don't accept first price quoted. Expect to pay $20 - $25 per person.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WmWT1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salinas hotels
0.0 mi away
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
Chescos Hostel & Hotel
#2 of 16 in Salinas
133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Marvento II
Hotel Marvento II
#9 of 16 in Salinas
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenfield's Hotel Spa - Eventos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cocos Hotel
Cocos Hotel
#15 of 16 in Salinas
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Francisco III
Hotel Francisco III
#8 of 16 in Salinas
17 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chipipe
Hotel Chipipe
#13 of 16 in Salinas
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francisco II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francisco II

Property: Hotel Francisco II
Address: Calle Malecon de Salinas, Salinas 241550, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Santa Elena Province > Salinas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Salinas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Francisco II 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Francisco II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoteles Francisco i, Ii y Iii Hotel Salinas
Hotel Francisco II Ecuador/Salinas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing