We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't meet our expectations at all”
Review of Balandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balandra Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Manta
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Didn't meet our expectations at all”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I know this hotel is rated #1, but we had a lot of issues with this hotel. First, it is really not a beach hotel as it is almost 2 blocks off the beach. Second, we were without power and water for a shower in the morning before we left. Dinner was mediocre and breakfast was less than mediocre, maybe because they fixed it ahead of the power outage. We had asked the front desk to recommend a driver to Canoa and she said they had someone "connected to the hotel" who was very good and spoke some English. I agreed to a premium price of $50, understanding that someone connected to the hotel, etc. would be a premium. Turns out, the connection was that it was the father of an employee, Andres, and the father was a lousy driver, alternating between accelerator and brake for 2 hours when not necessary (we had other great drivers in Ecuador), he didn't speak English and I am quite certain was illiterate in Spanish as he didn't seem to be able to read highway signs...or his eyesight was bad, which would help explain his poor driving, too. All in all, an experience we won't repeat. And, Manta was a disappointment, too. If you want great beach, go north, especially to Canoa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    136
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
204
109
20
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I spent my vacation in this hotel, it was very exelent time, thanks a lot for administration and personals. in this July I want tovist again this hotel to celebrate the Birthday of my friend. Very high services, clean, very beutuful restaurante and view. I will propose to friends also this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gafur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel with my family three times. The service is great. It is two blocks from the main beach (Murciélago). The food is great, with many seafood dishes. The gardens are filled with flowers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakbank
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

After a week in the mountains and several hour flight delays traveling to Manta, it sure was nice to end up at the Balandra. After receiving our bags at the airport we walked out the door and there was our smiling shuttle driver holding up a sign with my name! I had made arrangements to stay there while delayed in the Quito airport through emails which were answered promptly. After checking In, enjoying a nice shower we noticed just how clean the place was. Walking barefoot on a hardwood floor after a shower in a beach town it was a surprise to see this level of cleanliness. Some of our stays in the mountains of Ecuador did not provide much service. Here they were on top of everything. It felt good. Our only problem was that they only had one night available. After feeding us a nice breakfast the next morning we searched with good wifi for our next room. After little luck I spoke to a nice young lady at the reception and she recommends another hotel just down the street that she told me she had checked out herself just for these occasions. Pretty darn good service.
Also, as it was very hot there after a week with no need for A/C in the mountains, their air conditioning was strong. All around nice place.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badavy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulSAH, Gerente at Balandra Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are very glad for your comments. We work very hard everyday to give our customers the best experience in their stay. Hope we can see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 5 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The hotel is located one block from the beach, location is great if you dont have private transportation, they are building a new tower of suites next to the cabanas. The service is good just need to know that are mosquitos in the gardens..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

After staying in many hotels throughout Ecuador, this was one of the best. Great pool, great restaurant, great service. Luxury at a reasonable price. Close to a lively Steakhouse with the most delicious Sangria. (can't remember the name, but at the top of the hill on the right hand side).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrmacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

I booked a night in this hotel as the Oro Verde, which is where I use to stay while in Manta, was unavailable. All in all, a very pleasant surprise. We got a nice and clean suite with two bedrooms and a bathroom, plus a nice little balcony on the second floor, albeit you only get a view of the surrounding suites. The breakfast is good, and you may get a nice view to the beaches from the restaurant. The second-floor bedroom was nicely decorated, all bricks and woodwork, very pleasant. The location is very good also.
Pros:very confortable suites, nicely decorated, clean.
Cons: one block away from the beach
I recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manta hotels
1.3 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
1.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#6 of 12 in Manta
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vistalmar
Hotel Vistalmar
#4 of 12 in Manta
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Porto Velho
Hotel Porto Velho
#8 of 12 in Manta
11 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nazo Hotel
Nazo Hotel
#7 of 12 in Manta
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balandra Hotel

Property: Balandra Hotel
Address: Calle 20 y Avenida 7 | Barrio Cordoba, Manta 130802, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Manta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Manta
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manta
#2 Green Hotel in Manta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balandra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best hotel in Manta with first class service, surrounded by nature and with a pefect location for tourists or business guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Balandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balandra Hotel Manta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing