We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WAYYYYYYY Overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This is a nice hotel, part of the Oro Verde chain in Ecuador, well known as one of the best in the country. Every city has one. They often cater to businesspeople. The service, rooms and breakfast buffet (always included) are excellent.

The only problem is the price. I don't understand how can they get away with charging $149 plus the crazy Ecuadorian taxes and service fees, total per night $195. The only reason I stayed is that the Vistalmar a few blocks south had their pool under construction. It was almost 8 pm and I didn't want to search all over town with my luggage looking for something, so I just walked up to the Oro Verde.

If you can get a good price, it's a great place to stay.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank JJH3d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Gerente at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado JJH3d
Muchas gracias por comentar su experiencia junto a nosotros durante su visita a la ciudad de Manta. Le quiero poner a su disposición las tarifas promocionales en nuestra pagina principal del hotel, especialmente en temporada baja. De visitar Manta para una futura estadía, no dude en tomar contacto conmigo sera un placer atenderlo.
Cordialmente:
Sr. Christophe Moreau
Gerente General
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,260)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Oro Verde Manta
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 1,260 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2010

During our stay at the Oro Verde I was impressed by the helpfulness of the english speaking front desk staff as well as its location. It overlooks a very nice, clean sandy beach accessible by a locked gate and some stairs. Along the strand are a number of restaurants with a predominately seafood menu. The beach is close enough that you can hear the waves crashing at night if the balcony door is left open. The breakfast buffet which came with our room was a nice variety of fruits, cereals, and eggs. There's a Supermaxi a block up the street with a cash machine in the store as well as across the parking lot next to a pharmacy, there's also a cash machine in the casino attached to the hotel. Their business center has 3 internet terminals. There's not much to do in Manta except for the beach and the Oro Verde provides a comfortable place to hang out.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azjohnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014
Google Translation

Estimada huésped Janeth A.

Reciba un cordial saludo de parte de Hotel Oro Verde Manta y nuestro sincero agradecimiento por compartir sus comentarios sobre su estancia con nosotros.
Nuestro principal compromiso es tener clientes contentos y satisfechos. Nos alegra que seamos su destino de vacaciones en familia y con gusto comunicaremos a nuestro staff su agradecimiento por el envío de su celular.
Siempre a sus órdenes.

Cordialmente
Ana Maria Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

The hotel Oro Verde has a good fame among the Ecuadorian people, so I decided to travel to Manta with 2 younger children, my mom and sister. The day we arrived we encountered Karina (the receptionist) whom was not to helpful when we inquired about upgrading our room to one with a view to the beach...while waiting for our room to be ready, we took the children to the pool, and we encountered some dirty fascilities . While hanging out by the pool, one of my family members had to go find some service since we have been looking forward on having some pina coladas; the waiter delivered these and never came back.
Once in our room (a suite) we were provided with 2 towels, there was no instructions on how to reach the front desk or anywhere, we did not have an alarm clock or anything that you can imagine that a suite should have (or i might say a "5 star hotel")
I was informed by a beach security guard that the Oro Verde's exit to the beach is not too safe since thieves and gangs hang out by it.
The following morning i decided to end this nightmare by taking the earliest flight back to Quito.
I may add that the bellmen were the most helpfull gentlemen i encountered during this time. They were bilingual and ready to provide anything to make my stay more enjoyable; they are an asset to the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank missveranito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped
Esperamos que su próxima visita a Hotel Oro Verde en la ciudad de Manta, nos de la oportunidad de cambiar su comentario sobre nuestras facilidades y servicios.
Por favor no dude en tomar contacto con nosotros, para estar atentos y a sus órdenes en sus requerimientos especiales,
Cordialmente
Ana María Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2007

I'm a pretty easy-going traveler, and tend to write higher reviews than average when reviewing a hotel. However, I had a few problems with this one, though overall my experience was very good.

First, the negative. My room hadn't been cleaned very well. There were black hairs throughout the bathroom, as well as a little stain underneath the toilet lid that had been missed.

Second, there was a funky smell in the morning (kind of a sewage smell) that, best I could tell, was coming from the shower drain.

Finally, no fault of the hotel, but across the street apparently they were having a loud party the night I was there because I woke up at 2:00 to the loudest salsa music I'd heard in my life.

That said, I liked the place overall. While the location with regard to noise wasn't great, my room looked out over a large beach and boardwalk. My room itself was nicely apportioned, and I had a small balcony I could sit out on, look at the pool, look at the beach.

The included buffet was nice, and we got a free welcome cocktail as well.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, the business center was adequate, and the gym was very nice.

If I had business in Manta, I'd give it another shot!

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank belizelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped
Esperamos que su próxima visita a la ciudad de Manta, seamos de su preferencia para que nos permite mostrarle que nuestros servicios están siendo renovado y mejorados pensando en la comodidad y confort de ustedes nuestros clientes.
Quedamos a sus órdenes

Cordialmente
Ana María Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Manta is located near the best beaches in South America, miles and miles of unspoiled beaches. A very inexpensive area.

The hotel itself is located on the city's beach, which is fun and clean. But you need to take inexpensive taxi rides to go to the best beaches you've ever seen: clean, pristine, walks for miles and miles. There is a beautiful national park about an hour an a half south.

The hotel itself is very good, by far the best in the area. We had a junior suite for a week and loved it. Spacious and clean. The restaurant was great, excellent menu and made-to-order food.

Service was excellent.

The gym area is OK, a set of free weights and some machines. Steam room is good.

The hotel claims to be a five star but is a solid four star - this is the outback of Ecuador, and so standards are a bit lower (signs in the gym shower not to urinate in the shower).

Overall, this is a great place to visit, and the hotel is very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jimKelowna_bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped

Muchas gracias por hospedarse con nosotros y por compartir su experiencia en la comunidad de viajeros de tripadvisor. Esperamos nos visite actualmente para que pueda sentir que estamos renovando día a día , pensando en los requerimientos de nuestros huéspedes.

Cordialmente
Ana María Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Florida
19
Reviewed June 13, 2006

I spent there 3 wonderfull days and I want it to stay more because of the attention, because of the food, because of the luxury of the hotel, it is really great

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped

Muchas gracias por hospedarse en Hotel Oro Verde de la ciudad de Manta.
Estamos a sus órdenes siempre, recuerde que somos su casa y que estamos a sus entera disposición

Cordialmente
Ana María Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2006

My wife and 3 year old daughter and I stayed hear for two nights. We stayed in a junior suite, paying $95 plus 22% a night. To get this price, we had to argue a bit at the front desk. This price also included buffet breakfast for the 3 of us, which is worth $10 each if you come in off the street. The breakfast is excellent. The room was very large, the beds and furnishings all in great shape. The pool and patio areas were well maintained. The beach out front is nice, about a 2 minute walk. This is a high end hotel chain in Ecuador and if you want to stay in a quality place, it is worth the money. We would
stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank JOHNPETRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORO-VERDE-MANTA, Director de Recepción at Hotel Oro Verde Manta, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Estimado huésped

Reciba el sincero agradecimiento de todo el equipo de Hotel Oro Verde.
Mil gracias por ser su opción de alojamiento y por dejarnos ser su casa en Manta

Cordialmente
Ana María Delgado
Jefe de recepción
Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manta hotels
1.1 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
597 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#6 of 12 in Manta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vistalmar
Hotel Vistalmar
#4 of 12 in Manta
123 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nazo Hotel
Nazo Hotel
#8 of 12 in Manta
42 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Porto Velho
Hotel Porto Velho
#7 of 12 in Manta
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oro Verde Manta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oro Verde Manta

Address: Av. Malecon y Calle 23 | Playa Murcielago, Manta 130802, Ecuador (Formerly Oro Verde Hotel)
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Manta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Manta
Price Range: $128 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oro Verde Manta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel cinco estrellas más prestigioso de la provincia de Manabí le ofrece más que un estilo de vida, un lugar donde vivirá la experiencia única de sentirse bien. Con una incomparable vista al mar y la playa "El Murciélago” al pie del hotel, estamos ubicados a sólo 10 minutos del aeropuerto, justo en el centro de negocios, comercio y recreación de la ciudad de Manta, cuyo habitantes por su calidez humana y hospitalidad hacen de esta, la ciudad turística más acogedora de Ecuador. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Oro Verde Manta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing