We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you want great service, book in to the Sol Y Mar”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
1 review
“if you want great service, book in to the Sol Y Mar”
Reviewed June 1, 2010

What a great hotel, I have been lucky to stay in many of the worlds top hotels but nowhere have I meet such efficient and pleasent staff. We had a luggage problem (good old BA and Heathrow) but the receptionists chased and chased the airlines and tracked down the missing bags, giving an unprompted update every day. The other staff - barmen waiters and house maids were also equally efficient and friendly. As for the hotel itself it might not have charm but there again I have never been in a hotel where you can share your bar table with a sea lion or Pelican never mind the Iguanas. The location is beautiful and really handy to the centre of things without being noisy. Overall a great hotel good value and definatley reccommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    136
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
107
177
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

One of the newest hotels in Puerto Ayora. Built on the standard model for resort hotels: interior hallways, big square rooms, smallish bathroom, huge sliding glass door and small balcony. Felt like I was in Myrtle Beach (with iguanas). Central location and right on the water but no swimming aside from the pool. No problem with noise at night, but there is construction nearby. Almost all rooms have a great view of the harbor, but some rooms have what I'd call a partial view. Ask for a second floor room if you want a better view. Friendly but not super-helpful staff, I just think they lack experience. Overpriced breakfast buffet, but I would go to Cafe Hernan for $5 breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seafloorscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

We found this hotel over the internet after months of searching and quoting prices and i have to say that this hotel was one of the last ones we reviewed. I sent an email requesting information and I heard from them almost immediately. We were looking for an all inclusive stay for 6 days. We also traveled with my mother in law. Gloria the sales rep for Solymar is AMAZING. She answered my request within 24 hours. Their prices are competitive and she took care of eveything. She took care of transportation, tours hotel stay and meals. She met all of our requirements.
So we arrived on the Islands on the 14th of December we were met by a Hotel rep. He took us to hotel and the folks at the hotel welcomed us with open arms. We were greeted with a refreshment. The rooms were almost immediately ready. We looked around they showed us around and told us a bit about the hotel.
The view from the pool is breath taking. Its peaceful. Amazing. The food - DELICIOUS. and I am a picky eater. The restaurant staff! Amazing! My kids were pampered by them. and i have to add that one night my son had a belly ache and they immediately helped us by getting him tea, offering to get some meds. Going out of their way. Not something you find in alot of places.
Gloria arranged tours. two of which were private tours and the tour guide was amazing. I can't remember his name but he is the husband of one of the hotel staff. He knew everything about the island and treated us amazing.
the Tours are spectacular whereever you go you see amazing things.
We can't say enough about this hotel. We HIGHLY recommend this hotel. If you want more information - please feel free to ask us. More than happy to answer questions.
We were so happy with everything about the hotel , staff, everything.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acer898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Solymar is a great hotel. It has a very friendly & helpful staff. The pool and outdoor area provides you a great view of the water. Sea lions, pelicans, cranes, and iguanas will come share some of the shade, as you enjoy a great mojito. Large clean rooms, with a great view of the water and a/c, screened bay windows. Great location in between the port and darwin research center

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aceraj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Solymar for (1) night in December with my husband. We were staying at the Finch Bay resort but extended our stay and they didn't have room so we moved for the one night. We paid $245/night which included taxes BUT this room should've cost significantly less. The rooms are very basic and nothing special. The pool and hot tub are nice features and we spotted wildlife right at the hotel. We saw a pelican, blue footed boobie and a sea lion. The breakfast buffet which was included was underwhelming. The location is good if you want to stay in town. Overall, its not a bad option but we'd recommend staying at the Finch Bay Hotel. For the same amount of money, its a nicer experience with better food, a more secluded and serene location and nicer grounds. Plus, the FInch Bay offers excursions on the Sea Finch Yacht which is much nicer than indepenedent excursions the Solymar can help to coordinate. The hotel staff was nice and helped us book a day trip to Floreana. The trip was awesome and the snorkeling conditions were amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GStarr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We went by or in several of the other Hotels listed and Solymar was by far the best. We missed a clock in the room but really didn't miss a TV. The service was good and the staff excellent. One of the owners/managers spoke excellent English(She was from Florida) and was quite helpful with tours reservations etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonny844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

We stayed at the Solymar for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it. Sure it does not have all the frills that you would like for the price, but the rooms were clean and we had a nice view of the ocean/pool. You could always see sealions and iguanas at the pool, the service was great and the air conditioning cool. Overall I was happy with our stay here and would return. I definitley liked it better then the other hotel we stayed at while in the Galapagos.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingcpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
849 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Property: Hotel Solymar
Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing