We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solymar
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Gardner(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (447)
Filter reviews
447 results
Traveler rating
231
144
45
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
144
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsfish marketpool and jacuzzimiddle of townsanta cruzthe hotel staffocean viewclamssmall balconytortuga bayresearch centerwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotelincluded breakfastbottled wateriguanasherons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 447 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights while on the Santa Cruz Island of the Galapagos. We stayed in the building across the street because they had bigger rooms. Very spacious for the 4 of us. It really does not make any difference for the ocean view because you are 100 ft from the ocean. Breakfast is included nothing special but good enough to start your day with. We had several afternoon drinks and dinner at the restaurant. Their Sushi menu is EXCELLENT! We were amazed by their friendly staff especially Jimmy who took his time to explain everything to us with regards to the daily day trips to other islands. The location of the hotel is the best in Puerto Ayora in the main street close to all the good restaurant and shopping. Will definitely recommend this hotel for your trip to the Galapagos Islands.

Room Tip: Only Wifi in the lobby, pool and restaurant areas. Not in room wifi.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Nice hotel with great views of the ocean. Breakfast was average, but it is an island, so it's OK. Nice to watch sea lions from your balcony. The location is very good for walking in the downtown area to have dinner at one of the restaurants or for shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Wonderful location, easy to walk to everythng. Front desk staff so friendly and welcoming! Room was small but nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nothing special but fine. Did not have any other meal. Drinks by the pool were uber-slow, not very good, and really expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1sandlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Firstly, this review is very late, apologies! Hopefully people will find it helpful though.

We stayed at the Solymar as part of our honeymoon last June, taking a Galapagos within your reach package. This meant we were met at the airport, had tours of the island and several other day tours to other islands all included. We chose this option as a cruise just didn't appeal to us, and we were so glad we did, as we had the time of our lives.

This is a review of the hotel though so I'll try not to wax lyrical about the islands themselves, but I will say that the hotel staff were so helpful n ensuring we got onto trips visiting all the islands we wanted to, and we were lucky enough to swim with turtles and penguins, as well as see all of the other amazing wildlife!

But, back to the hotel - with hindsight, I think we may have booked another day here just to be able to enjoy the hotel and Puerto Ayora. When you're in the Galapagos, you don't think much about wandering around town, but just watching the sealions around the hotel, and the amazing bird life, was a treat in itself and I could have definitely spent more time doing that!

The seafront location of the hotel is unrivalled, and views and wildlife action visible from our balcony were amazing. Having sealions hang out in the bar and by the pool was just brilliant, and we have some utterly fabulous memories.

The bar and pool area are great to relax in, and the birds in the pool just added to the appeal for me. The staff do a great job of cleaning up after the animals and making sure it all stays spotless.

The rooms are beautiful, bright and colourful. We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony and just watching the action unfold. They are clean and comfortable, and there are water coolers outside in the hallway to refill bottles.

The location is great, close to restaurants and bars and the town centre, so there's always a new place to try for dinner. Our trip was a once in a lifetime experience and I'm so glad we chose Solymar.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank BrummieWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel was booked was for a 3 night stay while visiting the Galapagos. Walking into the lobby and seeing the beautiful view of the sea in front was amazing. The pool at the edge of the sea was lovely for a relaxing swim after a busy day of sightseeing. The room had a water view and had a huge, comfortable bed with very efficient air conditioning which kept the room lovely and cool. Bathroom was clean and roomy. The outdoor restaurant also had a very relaxed feel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel as it was centrally located, was clean, had amazing views and good food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisteria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews