We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just amazing”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, this review is very late, apologies! Hopefully people will find it helpful though.

We stayed at the Solymar as part of our honeymoon last June, taking a Galapagos within your reach package. This meant we were met at the airport, had tours of the island and several other day tours to other islands all included. We chose this option as a cruise just didn't appeal to us, and we were so glad we did, as we had the time of our lives.

This is a review of the hotel though so I'll try not to wax lyrical about the islands themselves, but I will say that the hotel staff were so helpful n ensuring we got onto trips visiting all the islands we wanted to, and we were lucky enough to swim with turtles and penguins, as well as see all of the other amazing wildlife!

But, back to the hotel - with hindsight, I think we may have booked another day here just to be able to enjoy the hotel and Puerto Ayora. When you're in the Galapagos, you don't think much about wandering around town, but just watching the sealions around the hotel, and the amazing bird life, was a treat in itself and I could have definitely spent more time doing that!

The seafront location of the hotel is unrivalled, and views and wildlife action visible from our balcony were amazing. Having sealions hang out in the bar and by the pool was just brilliant, and we have some utterly fabulous memories.

The bar and pool area are great to relax in, and the birds in the pool just added to the appeal for me. The staff do a great job of cleaning up after the animals and making sure it all stays spotless.

The rooms are beautiful, bright and colourful. We spent a lot of time sitting on the balcony and just watching the action unfold. They are clean and comfortable, and there are water coolers outside in the hallway to refill bottles.

The location is great, close to restaurants and bars and the town centre, so there's always a new place to try for dinner. Our trip was a once in a lifetime experience and I'm so glad we chose Solymar.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BrummieWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    135
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
105
174
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel was booked was for a 3 night stay while visiting the Galapagos. Walking into the lobby and seeing the beautiful view of the sea in front was amazing. The pool at the edge of the sea was lovely for a relaxing swim after a busy day of sightseeing. The room had a water view and had a huge, comfortable bed with very efficient air conditioning which kept the room lovely and cool. Bathroom was clean and roomy. The outdoor restaurant also had a very relaxed feel. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel as it was centrally located, was clean, had amazing views and good food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisteria19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed three nights at Hotel Solymar, walking in without a book late one evening upon our return from Isla Isabela. Paula on front reception was excellent, gave us a choice of rooms, and was helpful when we asked about taxis etc. The room was a good size, I thought, for the Galapagos. It had air-conditioning and a balcony. The bathroom was clean. Bed was comfortable. It was quite luxurious compared to other places we'd stayed on the islands. Buffet breakfast was pretty good, and there's a seal who hangs out by (and in) the pool as it's right on the water's edge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We walked in without a booking after returning from Isabela late one afternoon. Seasick from the boat ride and having been treated with disinterest at Red Mangrove I was glad to have been welcomed by a very professional, friendly and efficient front desk person here.

We stayed three nights. The room was moderately sized but air conditioned, contemporary in design and overlooks the pool and bay.

Drawbacks are that the staff setting up the breakfast in the dining area across from the balcony and anybody outside early in the morning are easily heard through the floor-to-ceiling glass windows/sliding door. It's not the best layout if you want seclusion or quiet; kids were shouting and splashing all day in the pool (excellent for families!).

Breakfast buffet is included which had an adequate range of hot and cold foods. The view into the bay is the best as swimming marine iguanas and seals can be spotted. A seal even sun baked by the side of the pool.

Towels are offered complementary if you go to a beach or tour.

There is a post box in the lobby.

The room we stayed in was more expensive than seaside in Sydney or a similar sized room in Chicago. It's not the most expensive on the island but matches the indulgence of being on an island holiday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank g13nl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at Solymar and enjoyed the view to sunrise over the sea, the animals visiting the hotel pool (marine iguanas, sea lions, crabs and all sorts of sea birds) the exquisite hotel restaurant and the most helpful and friendly staff.
Highly recommended for Galapagos visits, walking distance to all attractions of Puerto Ayora like Darwin station, main harbour and all restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We spent two nights at Hotel Solymar, after completing a five day boat trip in The Galapagos. It was a perfect way to get back on land and to rest up after five days of non-stop sightseeing, hiking and snorkeling. The setting is charming and the view from our room was spectacular. We enjoyed two dinners and the restaurant, as well as the outstanding buffet breakfasts. The owner and his wife were extremely nice and went out of their way to let it be known that they were there to help. The sea lion who jumped into the pool one afternoon made the stay even that much more special :-).

Room Tip: You definitely want to face the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkoitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

REI Tours booked us in Hotel Solymar for 5 nights as an extension of our 12 day tour of Ecuador highlands and Galapagos Islands. It is a top notch hotel and extremely well located in the middle of the restaurant zone in this city. We used it as our base for 3 days of scuba diving at Scuba Iguana - considered by most as the best dive operation on Santa Cruz Island. The hotel booking included a full breakfast just off the open air pool/sauna and not far from the bar area that offered a great jazz sax in the evenings. OK, so we listened to it from our second floor balcony!
The room was not cheap, but if you don't know what else to expect in this city of 40,000 then you book one of the best. This was one of the best if not the best...
Only problem we had was low water pressure in the shower in our 2nd floor room.
Service across board was excellent!

Room Tip: Take a 2nd floor room above the pool facing the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Property: Hotel Solymar
Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing