We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel on a great location”
Review of Hotel Solymar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Solymar
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at Solymar for one week. The people were very friendly, the room was always clean. An ideal address to start from if you want to experience the Galapagos !! It was only a pity that some of the personnel speak only Spanish.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 432 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great value hotel in good location, right on the water. Rooms good and clean, and wifi worked! Breakfast Buffet was good with some very unusual fruits as well as all the usual, and the coffee was great. The staff, especially reception were very friendly and so helpful, thank you for such a good welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tricialenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is a great place right on the water with a great view. The rooms are clean and a decent size.

The pool is right by the ocean, jump in one or the other or both! They even will serve you cocktails in the hot tub.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank RiceWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We had originally booked to stay at Red Mangrove (for $655+ per night). We had an awful experience and as a result ended up finding a new hotel - Hotel Solymar. Where we paid $303 per night. My biggest regret was not booking here in the first place.

We stayed here for 3 nights. The rooms were so clean and tidy and so modern. The staff were some of the friendliest staff I have come across (especially Jonathan on reception) and when they realised it was my birthday everyone would stop to say happy birthday, which was just lovely!! I even had cake and balloons, which was fantastic at such short notice.

The breakfast selection was suitable. We had lunch by the pool and the food was great. I would highly recommend the coconut prawns!

The pool was lovely and so funny seeing all the iguanas lined up and sunning themselves across the edge!

Great location, in the centre of Puerto Auora with the port not far in one direction and the Charles Darwin not far in the other.

A lot of galapagos hotels are expensive, but based on what we have seen, this was a lot better value for money. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and would choose over Red Mangrove any day.

Thank you Solymar!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MeetTheEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

From the time we stepped foot in this hotel the staff were welcoming, courteous, informative, and accommodating. Within the first hour of our trip to the Galapagos we had already seen tons of marine iguanas and blue footed boobies, swam with sea lions, and had amazing views of Pelican Bay, all from the hotel. Rooms were clean, modern, comfortable, and spacious. Lounging poolside is an adventure on its own. The surprise visits from various Galapagos specific species (e.g. boobies, pelicans, sea lions, iguanas, etc.) made every second a true Galapagos experience. The bar drinks were exotic, thirst quenching, and impressive. But not as impressive as the food! I felt the seafood and sushi were the best on the island and my theory was supported by all the locals that came to enjoy alongside. Breakfast was graciously offered complimentary which offered a generous buffet, fresh fruit, tropical juice, tea and coffee.

Overall a HIGHLY recommended visit for anyone visiting the Galapagos. Book now, thank me later!!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms in Hotel Solymar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were booked into the Hotel Solymar for a few days while we took excursions to a few of the islands in the Galapagos during the day. the hotel is in a beautiful setting, looking out on the water and with a beautiful pool complete with marine iguanas and the odd sea lion hanging around. The hotel was very clean and modern. They had a laundry service which we appreciated when we arrived as many of our clothes were salty and stinky after spending a week on a dive boat. Our main disappointments were that the wireless internet was terrible unless you sat outside on the balcony and got eaten up by mosquitoes or you went out to the lobby to sit on the one couch that was there. Also, there was not a single english- language channel on the TV - not even CNN. The drinks at the bar were very pricey (standard for the Galapagos I guess), and the meals (one lunch/one dinner) we had there were nothing special. Breakfast was very nice with hot and cold buffet and also individually prepared eggs available. Great location along the main drag in town - lots of shopping - yet surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk if some rooms have better wireless than others. Also, eat your lunch and dinner e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smt499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear smt499,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our privileged location and laundry service, which is espcially helpful when one is travelling.

The internet situation in the Galapagos is quite unfortunate, as the islands recieve internet via satellite the internet strength island wide is quite weak and slow. Though our hotel pays for the fastest internet available we provide it complimentary, as it doesn't compare with the internet in mainland Ecuador. As mentioned on our website, we provide internet in our public areas, our room walls are quite thick and make for a good nights sleep, but do not permit the wi-fi signal to travel through.

We can appreciate your comments about the drink prices as the government in Ecuador charges per percentage of alcohol during exportation, which makes a bottle about 3 times more expensive here, than in the US or Canada.

Our chef will be delighted to hear that the breakfast buffet was enjoyable, its hard to beat with the ocean view and great variety of international and Ecuadorian favorites.

Sincerely,

Allison de Perez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were so excited when we arrived and saw a sea lion, iguanas and birds all enjoying themselves next to the hotel swimming pool - it was kinda surreal!

We stayed 2 nights at the beginning and 2 nights at the end of our Galapagos adventure. We were a group of 3 adults and 1 child and found the hotel to be exceptionally good. Great location, very clean and fully equipped.

Thanks Allison for your help with our reservation. We really enjoyed the hotel, Puerto Ayora and the Galapagos. Until next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JlcECAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
67 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
320 reviews
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Solymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Solymar

Address: Ave. Charles Darwin | Thomas de Berlanga, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $245 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in Hotel Solymar and our New Extension Isla Sol, located 10 steps from the entrance of Hotel Solymar. We are centrally located in Puerto Ayora’s mainstreet, with ocean access, and a beautiful patio for your guests to enjoy the nature that is Galapagos. Galapagos' only Galapagueño owned and operated first class hotel. Our father, a Galapagos tourism pioneer and legend, Jimmy Perez, opened the hotel in 1960 with eight rooms. It was later completely renovated in 2007 to bring the capacity to 17 rooms with ocean front views.In Hotel Solymar we have 17 rooms equipped with LED flat screen TVs, minibars, air conditioning, hot water, private balconies which allow our guests to appreciate a spectacular ocean view. Guests may enjoy a our jacuzzi, pool, and bar in our open air patio area or enjoy a more formal setting in our dining room, all while experiencing the service of our ultra attentive staff.August of this year, we inaugurated Isla Sol by Hotel Solymar; a new building with 14 modern rooms (6 exterior view – 8 interior view). Isla Sol with meeting space for up to 120 people, ideal for hosting any type of event in Galapagos.As former guides, we know our Islands intimately and can assist our guests with their travel plans, whether your desires be to kayak with sea lions or hike through the highlands to encounter the famous giant tortoises.Our staff speaks English, Spanish and Hebrew. We hail from Galapagos, Columbia, mainland Ecuador, Israel and United States. With our diverse international staff we are proud to provide a level of hospitality and guest service that keeps guests returning year after year.We look forward to welcoming you soon at Hotel Solymar - Galapagos! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Solymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solymar Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Solymar Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing