We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Solymar
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel(Puerto Ayora)
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Silberstein(Puerto Ayora)
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Laguna(Puerto Ayora)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fiesta(Puerto Ayora)
$112
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$350
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
$100
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Ninfa(Puerto Ayora)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fernandina(Puerto Ayora)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveler rating
232
144
45
15
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
232
144
45
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea lionsfish marketpool and jacuzzimiddle of townsanta cruzthe hotel staffocean viewclamssmall balconytortuga bayresearch centerwould highly recommend this hotelsmall hotelincluded breakfastbottled wateriguanasherons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
203 - 208 of 448 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were scheduled for a cruise on the Galapagos Legend, but we wanted to spend some time on the island looking around before going out on the cruise. We are glad that we made this decision Puerto Ayora is a really nice town with many shops and very good restaurants. There is also a very nice custom jewelry store (Maldonado) right across the street from the Solymar with really nice designs, not your typical tourist stuff.

Room Tip: The rooms here while clean and comfortable, can best be described as austere. There is no TV in the room or the hotel, so if you want no contact with the outside world (does have internet access) this is great.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed at this property in January 2012, after a trip to the Galapagos. We were the only ones on our ship who decided to stay on the islands, and I must say that I am so glad we did. Puerto Ayora is a perfectly charming little town with nice shops, restaraunts, and an island feel. Our stay at the Sol y Mar was bundled into a package so I cannot comment on price, but we did enjoy our brief one night stay here. We checked in in the afternoon, and to cool off in the afternoon heat before visiting the Charles Darwin Center, we hopped into the small pool. The first thing that strikes you are the Lizards that share the pool with you. We had a nice swim and cooled off and spent the afternoon shopping and at the Darwin center. When we got back, my husband and two children went back in the pool while I had a cocktail in the lovely hammocks overlooking the sea. Lo and behold, a sea lion jumped into the pool and swam with them, and after he tired, jumped out and lay in a lounge chair! Unbelievable! Picture opportunities galore!

We had a room that was fine and clean, on the second floor, overlooking the pool and water. There is a newer Solymar across the street that looks beautiful and I half wished we were there, but I did enjoy my view. Amenities were basic, and room was a little on the small side, but again, very good.

We loved having breakfast on the water in the morning. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank eros49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Our stay was very good - the hotel room is clean, quiet and the food excellent. The only problem we experienced was confusion with the Reception/Front Desk. We were booked at the Solymar via a packaged tour of the Galapagos Islands through a reputable tour company. All of our meals were pre-purchased and included as part of our 'package.' This arrangement caused some confusion with the Reception/Front Desk because they informed us that we had to pay for all of our meals - which we refused to do. We had to call our tour company to sort the matter out - then, all was good. The problem appears to have been that the hotel books its own separate day tours which do not include meals and, the staff are not fully informed as to which hotel guest has a 'packaged tour' versus a 'hotel tour'.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSolymar, Owner at Hotel Solymar, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2012

Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value your comments and reccommendations. Your review has assisted us to streamline the operation between tour agencies and our sales office, so that no information is missed!

We thank you so much for assisting us in noting this important issue and helping to resolve it. Wishing you happy travels in your future!

Sincerely,

Allison Schaffer de Perez
Social Media Manager/ Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Solymar charges a "convenience fee" for arranging excursions. This fee is double what the tour operator charges. We asked for an excursion to Isabella; Solymar picked up the phone and booked two spots for a total of $280. When we talked to others on the tour, we found out that they paid $70 per person. Same tour, same everything! We talked to the front desk and they confirmed that they double the cost as a "convenience fee." Best to walk down the street 2 minutes and book your own tour - it will save you - the convenience is not worth the price! Overall, we enjoyed our trip to the Galapagos and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank 1544LizzieAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

It was my wife's and I first visit to the Galapagos' Islands. We had a great time. Every went as planed, and that's always good. The hotel is very, very nice. People are very nice. Location is great. I just hope the hotel improves its Wi-Fi conection, so important nowadays, but everything else was great. Thanks!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great because all the them face the pool and the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique_Carrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews