We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Stay on the second floor, away from street!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Red Booby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Red Booby
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Stay on the second floor, away from street!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty ideal. Walking distance to the pier where you can catch a water taxi ($0.60/person daytime or $1.00/person night time) to the nearby Angermeyer island for an afternoon cocktail and beach stroll. Sadly, that's the only positive point I have for this hotel.

A pungent odor welcomed us as we entered our room. It smelled like you are living in a closet filled with moth balls. We tried to deal with the smell by blasting the air conditioning, which helped a little bit. Our local guide suggested that we do not shower at this hotel (as well as many cheaper hotels in Galapagos) because of "bad water" so we followed her tip. They have filtered water outside so definitely a smart idea to brush your teeth with that water. We were assigned a room on the first floor, facing the main street. Around midnight, the power went out so the air conditioning as well as our white noise making machine went out. The longest night followed... Without A/C, we were drowning in the stench...literally suffocating. Without the white noise, we could hear drunk locals screaming outside as well as lots of cars and trucks that passed by. It sounded like we were sleeping outside!

Oh, and I guess the receptionist failed to mention to us that there's supposed to be complimentary breakfast for our booking. I had the worst sleep so far in my life at this hotel...never would I return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YRLovesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    44
    23
    7
    3
See reviews for
17
26
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My stay in the Galapagos Islands at the Red Booby Hotel was absolutely wonderful! The staff at this location were very friendly and helpful with anything we needed. The breakfst offered was very good as well. The room itself was very clean, well organized and spacious. AC was working well, no problem with the lights going out (as I heard that lights go off from time to time). Staff spoke both English an Spanish. Would defintely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor, facing a pharmacy and small store. It wasn't very loud. However w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazy118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at the Red Booby for 5 nights in January. The location is superb -within walking distance to all the shops and restaurants in Puerto Arroyo and just a couple blocks from the waterfront/docks. The room was plenty large with a table/chairs and storage area for clothes. Everything was neat and clean. Loved the roof top pool! Probably not somewhere I would want to stay for multiple weeks, but for a vacation it's just right. My husband and I aren't fans of cruises so we opted to stay here and take day-trips to the other islands. We booked through latinescapes.com and everything went very smoothly -we always knew where we were supposed to be, at what time, and what was appropriate to bring. Overall a great trip!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling-gal129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our family recently stayed at the Red Booby for 1 night on our Galapagos Adventure. The hotel is in a great location (although all is close in Puerto Ayora). The rooms were clean, plenty of hot water for showering, air conditioner worked well. We stayed on the first floor. A little noisy in the morning with guests coming down, gathering around the reception. It would be best to have a room on the second or third floor. There was free wifi and breakfast in the morning. We didn't go to the Galapagos for first class accommodation, or to have lots of amenities. Just looking for a clean, quite and reasonable priced hotel. We were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd or 3rd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Clean and roomy. Right across the hotel there is a bar that can be loud late at night. The town is very small, so any location is close to the harbor. Nobody in the hotel speaks any English, but this is the case for any hotel of this class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank borismail01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

As someone else mentioned, this place is clean, neat, close to where you need to be, breakfast was nice enough, - it'll do the job.

Beds were too hard for me, but every place I stayed in Ecuador (5) except one had too hard beds.

Our room was on the second floor and the view across the street was of a nice tangle of wires and concrete. But didn't really matter. Ah yes, the curtains didn't keep th eligh tout enough in the morning.

But like I said, good enough. Pool on the roof had an amazing bird on the wall! (pic attached)

Room Tip: someone else said third floor - sounds like a good idea I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibralter56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien Norway
Level Contributor
129 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We stayed four nights in the hotel. Many rooms are located in the first two floors with windows opening to the restaurant area. Some mornings this means early arousal because of loudspeaking guests (Americans). Try to get rooms facing outwards or to the third level.
Nice and plentiful breakfast. The location is excellent even though there are no distances to worry about in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerUrdahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.1 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#1 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#9 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Booby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Booby

Property: Hotel Red Booby
Address: Avenida Plazas y Charles Binford | Isla Santa Cruz, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Red Booby 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Red Booby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Booby Hotel
Hotel Red Booby Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing