We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, cozy hotel in Puerto Ayora”
Review of Hotel Mainao

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Mainao
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I went with a group of travelers this march to the hotel. This is a very nice decorated hotel located just on block behind the main touristic section in Puerto Ayora. Not so far away from the fish market and Charles Darwin Station.
I had a room in the second floor with a very nice terrazza... where to read and spend the afternoon reading and drinking a Coca Cola!
Friendly and nice people always at the front desk!

Room Tip: Rooms by the front desk are noisy!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadGPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mainao
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2012

Attractive property with spacious rooms and a great breakfast included. Staff was pleasant but a bit aloof at times. Overall a good value.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent 4 nights here and found it most friendly and enjoyable place and very well priced too which is rather incredible in Galapagos. Our room was very spacious, comfortable and clean with the air conditioning that did not keep us awake all the time. We enjoyed the breakfasts. The view from the large terrace right in front of our room was beautiful. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Overall we liked it and we would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Mainao hotel is a very nice place to stay while exploring Santa Cruz Island. The hotel is more like aa 3 star hotel, but the staff is friendly and the rooms are air conditioned with private facilities and hot water. What I liked the most is that you can rest very well in the hotel and you can see that it is well taken care of and clean. It is well located, close to the main street in Puerto Ayora and close to restaurants and bars. If you already explored the Galapagos in a cruise and want to stay a little longer this is a not expensive way to do it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galapagos-Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

$120 booked online. When I arrived the lady in town who booked my cruise laughed how much I had payed as she books all her clients at this hotel for $48. She said she could book sol y Mar for that price $120 with ocean view and spa in room lol so I left hotel next day

Wifi doesnt work well at this hotel. Next day I moved to another hotel nearby which didn't have a fancy moisaic but had better breakfast and was only $35 a night.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sabretoothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed one night at this hotel. We loved the setting, architecture and a very comfortable room.
The night we stayed the TV was not working, otherwise, excellent

Charming!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top, lots of narrow staricases to walk up and we were our own porter, no pas nada
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m-ketzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We booked a 5 star galapogos cruise and they had arranged for accommodation here the night before they picked us up. The reception was super friendly and our rooms was Very Large. The kids had a separate part of the " suite" and a doop opened to a large common roof balcony with great views. There are no elevators and lots of stairs which was great for us but there was an older quite over weight gentleman that had issues with this. ( they moved him to ground level) the breakfast is included and is home cooked simple and lovely. We had A few hours free un the morning and one of the waiters got a car and took us to the turtle ranch. Wonderful service and people. And much much better than what we had expected. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisetteki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#5 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
426 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mainao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mainao

Address: Matazarnos and Indefatigable Street | Acacias neighborhood, Puerto Ayora EC00000, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $95 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mainao 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MAINAO HOTEL offers its customers a range of services with a green vision that suit their requirements and needs, giving our guests the best quality experience in the Galapagos Islands.  We present 19 comfortable rooms with private bathroom, hot water, TV and air conditioning.  As well as 3 comfortable suites with mini fridge, writing desk, chair and a private balcony overlooking the sea. It Includes 1 complimentary wine and soft drinks in the room.  Ability to normal accommodating 54 people and up to 61 guests in multiple accommodation.  bar-lounge with a map of the islands for talks.  Library with free internet.  Wi-Fi in our facilities.  Safety deposit boxes in the rooms.  Luggage Storage.  Reception / 24 hours.  Laundry.  pleasant areas for relaxation in a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in harmony with nature.  We support the environment by using biodegradable products We also have a room especially suitable for people with disabilities, it has all the doors; both entry into the room and the bathroom and closet doors that open horizontally sliding for easy access to a person in a wheelchair. So the bathroom has all regulatory measures to facilitate access and provide all the bathroom fixtures and assurances to facilitate the experience for our guests with special needs.  We have all access to social areas and restaurant, it´s arranged for easy wheelchair mobility .  This room is for 2 people and the rate is identical to a standard room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Mainao Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing