We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
451
167
64
37
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
451
167
64
37
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews red mangrove sea lions suite mayor santa cruz clams isabela island iguana crossing overlooking the water the darwin research center overlooking the bay lounge chairs academy bay day trip yogurt tortuga bay the main street deck
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 744 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2019

We loved it.

We had just finished an active sailing adventure trip so we spent a lot of time enjoying our room and found the hotel to be wonderful. Our room was an ocean front suite (Darwin); large, light filled, lots of natural wood, a sky light and with a balcony and a patio. The room was beautiful and the view was amazing. We had open views south, west and east. There was a 3rd night free deal, be sure to look for that.

The resort was very pretty, the people were polite and the food was great. Breakfast was easy and included plenty of variety. No one minded when we spent two hours with coffee, a book and the sea lions. It’s a popular spot for dinner so a reservation won’t hurt. Almar's reputation was earned on their dinner which has a varied menu of fine dining.

It’s a short walk to town including Avenida Kiosko or to water taxis for your own adventures (go to las Grietas). The Darwin Research Center is next door and the nicest beach in Puerto Arroyo is a short walk.

You’ll find sea lions, iguanas, pelicans and herons right at the resort or in the water nearby.

If this was helpful, click on the helpful so others can easily find it!

Room tip: Darwin room - ocean front, tree-house, 270 degree view, honeymoon suite
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JorMolchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

Dear JorMolchan,

Thank you for your excellent comment on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to know you really enjoyed the suite you had assigned, and its amenities; as well as the Galapagos Habitat's facilities and the restaurant. The hotel has indeed a great location which makes it good for travelers who are willing to rest, but also go adventurous if they would like to! Thank you for your tips for future guests, but specially for taking the time to post this review which is much valued. Service is our pride and it is important for us to learn that you received the best service from our staff.

It has been a pleasure to host you, and we hope to have you with us again in the future!

Sincerely,
Galapagos Habitat
by Eco Luxury Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days. Great location on waterfront in Puerto Ayoya. Unfortunately first impressions were misleading. Was shown to one our rooms at around 6pm to find the patio door hanging off. Once fixed and in room - Espanol- room clean but tired. Next day, there was no hot water, just muddy trickle and after returning from tour following day, we found that construction had started above our room and debris fallen into our seating area. Staff did clear up when asked, but there seemed to be a lack of attention to detail in the hotel. They need to realise that there is more to a 5 star hotel than a waterfront restaurant with some sea lions. Would look at other options

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank nickwL8691RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

Dear Nick W,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

Please consider that Galapagos Habitat is not a 5 star hotel and we do not promote ourselves as such. Actually, there are no 5 star hotels in Galapagos. Nevertheless we understand your point of view; unfortunately during your stay we had a few complications, the patio door was fixed as you mention as soon as we could, and due to an important investment in a new water pipe design system there was an unforeseen inconvenient with the hot water that arose. Nevertheless again, the issue was fixed with pro activity and it worked out well later. Please let us assure you that we do care a lot about details and our guests as many positive comments show, however we are very sorry this time the Galapagos Habitat did not reach your expectations.

We are working hard in order to innovate and we will consider your comments for future travelers in order to provide the best possible service. We hope you give us the chance to serve you better at the Galapagos Habitat Hotel in the future!

With our best regards,
Galapagos Habitat
by Eco Luxury Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

The restaurant is in a beautiful location overlooking the bay and the food is good. However they turn on bright fluorescent green lighting after dark which unfortunately takes away from the natural beauty of the area.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TwigsSticksnBones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019


Dear TwigsSticksnBones,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are glad you were able to visit the restaurant at the Galapagos Habitat and that you liked the food provided. We are very sorry you were not delighted with the green light under the dock, it was placed there for guests to see the fish in the water and sea lions around, which most of our guests really enjoy. We are glad to receive all comments and we will consider yours specially now that the lights got just damaged after a high tide we had at the hotel.

We hope to have the chance to host you sometime at the Galapagos Habitat Hotel in the near future.

With our best regards,
Galapagos Habitat
by Eco Luxury Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Unfortunately, the booked "superior room with sea view" was very small and in front of our balcony was a canopy over which you could only see the sea on the horizon. The cleanliness just in the bathroom can be optimized, the floor was probably swept but not wiped. My wife cleaned the bathroom again with a towel, which was very dirty afterwards. At high tide the way from the street to the reception was full of water and we could only reach our room with difficulty. Nice the directly above the water lying outside lounge and the dinner was very tasty. Also the breakfast had a bit more choice than in other hotels during our trip. Conclusion: a middle class hotel with good kitchen.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Dear Roland H,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. Our guests feedback is very important to us, as these always give us an opportunity to improve and innovate.
Regarding the accommodations, please let us explain, we only offer 3 types of rooms: "Suites with Sea View", "Superior Rooms" which only have a partial view to the sea and are not offered to clients as accommodations with sea view, and "Standard Rooms". Nevertheless, we will reinforce this important information with our travel agency clients so that no confusion arises in the future regarding this matter with our guests at the Galapagos Habitat. We will definitely take in account your comment in order to keep the bathroom floors perfectly clean.
Referring to the weather, in the last few weeks there was an increase of tides and currents in Galapagos, more than usual in these months, and for this reason the water surprisingly covered the way from the street, this natural event happens quite rarely, however we are considering alternatives to avoid uncomfortable situations due to unpredictable climatic changes in the future.
It is great to know you enjoyed the food provided at the hotel, and the resting lounge by the sea! We are committed to provide our guests with the highest standards of service, and we put lots of efforts in order to keep improving. Thank you again for taking the time to send us your review.

It has been our pleasure to serve you, and we hope to have the chance to host you again in the future!

With our best regards,

Galapagos Habitat
by Eco Luxury Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019

This hotel is beautiful. We were in the Santa Fe suite which felt like we were in a tree house (no ocean view). Indeed, the hotel is located within a mangrove forest and is very beautiful. The sea lions have their special place on the patio where they play and rest in the sun, and guests can swim in the waters off the patio. We had one dinner here which was amazing, and the breakfast buffet is perfect, with yogurt and granola, breads, meat and cheese, and made to order eggs and french toast. The service is super friendly and helpful. While this hotel is quite luxurious, it is a bit rustic, and as one would expect in a mangrove forest, there were some bugs but nothing alarming or bothersome. The lovely birds do wake up early though, about 5 am they are chirping.

Leaving the hotel, to the right, is the Charles Darwin Science Center, an easy walk and a must see. To the left is the downtown area with many shops and places to eat. There is also a waterfront park and marina which was a fun after dinner activity. This hotel offers bicycles, which was a great way to get to the marina quickly. I would love to stay here again if I am fortunate enough to travel to the Galapagos again.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela C, Customer Care at Galapagos Habitat by Eco Luxury Group, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

Dear Beth S.,

Thank you for your lovely comment on Trip Advisor.

The Galapagos Habitat is an eco-luxury lodge where our goal is to provide our guests with the highest standards of service while being surrounded by a protected ecosystem where life around is the witness of a healthy environment, and where it is possible to share with different species. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the hotel facilities, as well as the meals offered at the restaurant, the service of our staff and the great location of it! We thought it was a great idea to lend bikes to our guests as it is an excellent way to explore Puerto Ayora.

It has been our pleasure to host you, and we hope to have you with us sometime again in the future.

With our best regards,

Galapagos Habitat
by Eco Luxury Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews