We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

We spent 4 nights at the Red Mangrove and it was wonderful! We had the Suite Mayor, which was an incredible suite with a perfect ocean view. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good, but lunch was kind of expensive and they only offered sushi for dinner, so we passed. The staff was very helpful and organized our dive trips and helped us with day trips. When we got off the plane there was someone waiting for us. Other people we met who stayed at other hotels expected someone to be there, but no one met them. The hotel was in walking distance to a really high quality dive shop (Dive Iguana). Also it was in walking distance to the Darwin Center, which really wasn't that great, but it was nice to walk along the beach and see the iguanas. Overall, it was a great hotel and convenient.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SAS036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    149
    56
    35
    22
See reviews for
165
264
54
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

As I was in Galapagos for 4 weeks, it was too expensive to stay here for the whole time but I needed a couple of single days between trips. Since Red Mangrove were oganising my boat trips, I decided to say here for those two nights.

The first night was in a standard room which was of good standard with remote controlled air conditioning and TV. The food in the restaurant was very good and the selection much more than the standard Ecuadorian food. Prices were more like at home so a little expensive compared to the normal local food but the variety is welcome.

The first room being next to the terrace connecting to the restuarant was subjected to the hotels music at about 6am. If I had been staying longer I would have closed the windows and used the air conditioning.

My second stay was in a suite which was a very nice room with extra bed, comfortable seating, table and large bathroom. The large glass doors gave a great view over the water. Thanks to the hotel for the free upgrade - I would probably pay to guarantee the suite next time.

It is very welcome that the staff speak good English as I don't have any Spanish. Bicycles were provided for guests free of charge but I didn't have time to try them out.

Internet was of the usual speed for the island (slow but useable) and worked from my first room which was next to reception but not from the upstairs suite. I had to sit in reception to get a signal - you would probably be OK on the terrace.

There were some mosquitos in the restuarant as it is left open to the terrace by the water. In fact I got more bites on my first night here than the entire 4 weeks on the islands. I recommend you take repellant.

The hotel is well placed on the edge of town near the Charles Darwin Research station. You could also walk to the public dock but a taxi is only $1 anywere in town and easy to flag down. There are a number of shops and restaurants nearby.

It is a nice cheaper alternative to the Finch Bay but still costs more than I would want to pay for a long stay. You can rent an entire house for a week for less than the cost of 3 nights here.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dpsoftware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, WI, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

Five members of our family recently stayed at the Red Mangrove Adventura Lodge in Puerto Ayora and Isabella Lodge on Isabella Island for a total of seven nights and had an absolutely awesome experience! The staff at both places went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and took care of all the details for our excursions or day trips. When we were unhappy with one of the rooms, the management immediately worked out a solution, by changing the room to a much more comfortable one at a relatively minimum extra charge. Immaculate rooms, plenty of pure water and gorgeous views added to our enjoyment. The breakfasts were great! Fruit, cereal, bread, eggs - prepared however we liked, especially in omelets with many choices of ingredients, cheeses and fantastic juices! Their tea welcome cocktail was delicious as well-never knew tea could taste so wonderful!
Some have mentioned on this site that there were too many rules
about what they couldn't do or had to do, but we didn't find this to be the case at all. Requests were most reasonable given the locale. I cannot say enough about these inns-they were exceptional!

  • Liked — The staff and service
  • Disliked — One of the rooms-but we were able to get another
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank PDB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2009

The Red Mangrove staff were amazingly friendly and helpful throughout our stay at the Red Mangrove Adventure Inn and Isabella Lodge! They greeted my parents, brothers, and me warmly with smiles and the best tea south of the equator upon our arrival. In our week with them, they helped us with all sorts of unexpected needs such as finding the best ice cream, popping microwave popcorn, and fishing a pair of pants out of a tree. In addition, we planned all of our day tours through the Red Mangrove. They were exceptionally patient as they guided us in our island transfers, taught us to snorkel, and offered accommodations for my parents when they just couldn't walk any more. The hotel rooms were beautiful, clean, and stocked with the necessary water, comfortable bedding, and air conditioning. Breakfast included everything we needed from eggs and pancakes to fresh juices and fruits. It was delicious! We especially enjoyed watching the wildlife on the pier at breakfast or while resting in the afternoons. Our favorite animal was the sea lion that spent a day on the hotel's bench! The locations of the two hotels, ambience, and staff really made our trip magical! We will all be recommending Red Mangrove to our friends and family, and if we get the chance to return, we'll be there!

  • Liked — The friendly staff and location
  • Disliked — The internet connection was a bit weak
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank CPenelope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

The Red Mangrove island hopping tour is fantastic - we had a brilliant experience of seeing all the different and incredible landscapes and animals that the Galapagos has to offer and really felt we got to know it during our 5 days. Our guide (carolina) was also fantastic. With our small group it was a much more intimate and detailed experience than doing it from a ship, and we felt much more part of the islands. The hotel on santa cruz is great - apparently the suite is spectacular - our room (verde) was also absolutely lovely. And the lodge on Isabela is gorgeous particularly if you get an oceanfront room. Just one thing to note- if you island hop to Floreana the accom is more than basic - small (hot) sheds, with no fan, only bunk or single beds, and because no electricity in the mornings, also no running water thus no way of taking a shower or flushing the toilet. RM don't go out of their way to advertise this but they should - we of course understand the special circumstances of the Galapagos but it is a question of managing expectations, particularly of people who have been led to believe (and have paid for) good quality accommodation throughout. Apart from that, though, just brilliant - the Galapagos and its animals and landscapes is a once in a lifetime experience and RM handle the whole experience with great sensitivity and expertise. We loved it - but be honest about Floreana!

  • Liked — Views over the ocean and of the wildlife
  • Disliked — not being told about the different standards of the lodge in Floreana
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RebeccaandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

I can't say enough about my stay at the Red Mangrove . . . the location, the service, the whole experience . . . it was absolutely fabulous!

It is situated in a living mangrove which gives you the feeling of being surrounded by nature and isolated from the rest of the world. Yet all the shops, restaurants (try Cafe del Sol), and sights (including "Lonesome George" at the Darwin research station) are just a very short walk away. The deck offers fantastic views as you sip your beverage of choice among marine iguanas lazily sunny themselves all around you and eat your breakfast with "Masculino" the Sea lion. The rooms have a very stylish yet rustic feel that is very consistent with the laid back island feel of the lodge (try to get the Suite Mayor if you can; it is spectacular!).

And the service . . . as a very frequent world traveler I have never had such good service! The girls at the front desk could not have been more friendly or more helpful! They all speak very good English (several of them having lived in the U.S.). Just tell them what you would like to do and you will get plenty of advice, arrangements, and maybe even some really great company on your adventures in the Galapagos. There are some truly great people working at this lodge with great hearts and fantastic attitudes toward life. I feel really lucky to have met them. (I never thought I'd say that about a hotel staff!)

In summary, even though I was only there for a couple of days I feel like I had a week long vacation filled with adventure, relaxation, and made some great friends!

Go stay at the Red Mangrove; you won't regret it!

  • Liked — The service and the location.
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jpeebles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Various locations
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Red Mangrove for three (3) nights in December ’08 and January ’09 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was some confusion at the start as the room that we had reserved was not available, however, Roberto was extremely accommodating and quick to respond to the minor inconvenience.

The location of the hotel is extremely handy, within easy walking distance of the entire downtown (about a 10 minute walk from the main pier) but far enough away so that it is in a quiet area where you are not subjected to the noise, traffic and ship tourists (this was extremely handy given that we were in town for New Years eve – a very big celebration in Ecuador).

We had a chance to tour around town to view the other available hotels and would argue the Red Mangrove is one of the best when considering price, location and quality. The staff is extremely helpful and eager to please – top marks especially go out to Roberto and Veronica.

We had read some of the reviews posted on Trip Advisor and I must say, it is my opinion that the negative reviews are all completely off base; the positive reviews give the most accurate description of the hotel. The complaints about the breakfast (which is excellent and fast), dinner food (also excellent), room cleanliness and room amenities are unfounded in my view. Everything worked fine during our stay and previous postings complaining about inconveniences associated with island living (i.e. no paper in toilets due to septic, separate drinking water, etc.) sound like comments from either those who are not well traveled and expect conditions (better or worse) to be exactly as their home country or uppity individuals who look for fault for the sake of finding fault, even in inconsequential areas. The Galapagos is not London, New York , LA, Hong Kong, Rome, Toronto, etc. nor should we expect or want it to be.

The Red mangrove is a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Boomer2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#2 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
5.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
7.7 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge

Property: Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Water front lodge, with the best view of the bay, enjoy our own all inclusive adventure rates, including your daily adventures to explore the Island. Enjoy food and drinks in our Restaurant Deck ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing