We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Managed”
Review of Red Mangrove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mangrove
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We were on a Galapagos tour run by Red Mangrove and staying at 5 of their properties including 1 on the mainland. We chose this land based way to avoid our seasickness issues with the more traditional small cruise boats. It worked out very well indeed. We visited 3 islands traveling between on speed boats about 2 hours each trip.
The lodges are great and the overall quality of the tour was very high. Our guide Jimmy from Red Mangrove was great and the Park Naturalist, Fabio, was outstanding. The 2 combined to make a wonderful team giving us an excellent and memorable experience.
The Aventura is their flagship and it is wonderful, obviously well managed, with a prime waterfront location. Some rooms do have a great view as does the restaurant - which is very good. Staff are really nice, happy and efficient, friendly but not overbearing.
It is a lodge as apposed to a hotel and this comes through with a more intimate and personable atmosphere right through from the people, the food, rooms and just the way the place embraces the beautiful natural setting.
If you want to visit the Galapagos without cruising, or need accommodation while there I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms are available.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Red Mangrove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 663 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed at the Aventura Lodge for 2 nights on the 8 day/7 night "Full Adventure" tour package. We would highly recommend this package, and will focus on the specifics of the Aventura Lodge in this review.

Facility: Situated on the waterfront, with a great dining area overlooking the bay of Puerto Ayora. No beach per se, but a very relaxing place to enjoy an adult beverage. You are very likely to get visits from lazy sea lions and marine iguanas.
Rooms: Modern, comfortable and spacious, with the room we stayed in having a private patio. Free wi-fi and cable television, if you so desire.
Food: Probably the best cuisine (buffet style) of the 3 Red Mangrove properties.
Surroundings: Walking distance to the Charles Darwin Research Station. Be sure to check out the laid-back bar (Break Point?) across the street.
Staff: As with every other property, fantastic!!

In comparison to the other two Red Mangrove lodges, think of this one as "modern/traditional" in a town-like setting. We have also completed reviews of the Isabella and Floreana Red Mangrove Lodges--hope these help!!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank gsa_and_av
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Purchased the hotels 5 night Triangle package. Wonderul tour guides and relaxing week. On the water, the lodge is perfectly situated. Hotel food was fresh and delicious. Only thing missing was banana's - one of the country's top exports. Staff couldn't be better. Each room is unique. Spacaious and country cottage like. Soap is terrific!

I asked one staff member, where I could purchase their salt and pepper shakers as they hadf a great design. He said there was a store near his house and he offered pick up for me after work. WOW! Jose is a super star!! Service can't be better than that!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We were on a Friendly Planet tour (www.friendlyplanet.com) tour to the Galapagos and this is where they placed us for the last leg of our journey. See our review for the Red Mangrove Divers lodge. The main restaurant is here. It is right on the water (bay). The service is excellent. You will see Iguanas and Seals on the wharf, and boats. The rooms are very nice. The service and friendliness is excellent. The food is good, but we were underwhelmed. We expected more shell fish.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arkansastraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

We hopped along Galapagos island staying in three different locations of Red Mangrove group. We appreciated all of them but mainly those in Floreana, very essential but amazing as far as the perfect integration with the local environment is concerned, and the one in Puerto Ayora, a nice structure with large rooms and nice location. Personnel is professional and the various trips proposed are well organized, with professional guides always.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank giuste2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We've been in September in Galapagos and we did the Darwin triangle experience with Red Mangrove. Amazing! For us sharing this experience inland, not in a ship, getting to know the people from the islands, the towns and then travelling from one island to another made the difference.
Logistics are great, the Red Mangrove staff make your stay and your transfers easy and comfortable. The guides were fantastic, some of them getting to be almost friends at the end, as you share your experiences with the for days.
The three lodges are extremely nice; each one different but with the same comfort and attention to detail. Their diving center is proffessional and reliable, soemthing important in Galapagos, a dream come true for divers but that requires proffessional people guiding you.
Overall an amazing experience with amazing people. We'd love to come back soon!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We took the "Full Adventure in the Galapagos" - three islands in 7 nights - package with Red Mangrove and cannot give enough praise to the team which planned the itinerary and eased our passage throughout.
We chose to visit the islands for the flora and fauna and were not disappointed in the least with the variety of experiences planned for us. Accommodations and food on the three different islands could have been ordinary and it would not have mattered. On the contrary they were most certainly not ordinary (although if you are looking for luxury resort spa vacationing, you probably should not be planning a trip to the Galapagos in any event), but more than met our expectations. The accommodations (3 different locations in total) throughout the tour were of different styles (from more rustic at the beginning to higher luxury at the end) and we can honestly say that all were charming and impeccable. Also, we would be remiss not to mention the very good quality and diversity of meals.
The Red Mangrove staff were invariably friendly and helpful and our Parque Nacional naturalists extremely competent and genuinely interesting people to be with.
We are a couple which until this trip had avoided guided tours like the plague, preferring to plan our own itinerary. This experience was almost enough to make us change our minds for the future!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
872 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
348 reviews
5.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora EC010110, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $311 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Red Mangrove is an oceanfront hotel with the best views of Academy Bay, located in Puerto Ayora. The hotel is the perfect place for Galapagos visitors to stay considering many activities like snorkeling, hiking, beaches, swimming, kayaking, and visiting the Charles Darwin Center are just minutes away. Why else is the Red Mangrove a good decision? For those who are prone to seasickness the hotel gives you a stay where you feel just like you're on the water with the option to choose different packages with the activities mentioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Mangrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing