We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are not sure whether or not to book this hotel, stop hesitating and do it”
Review of Red Mangrove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Mangrove
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We took the "Full Adventure in the Galapagos" - three islands in 7 nights - package with Red Mangrove and cannot give enough praise to the team which planned the itinerary and eased our passage throughout.
We chose to visit the islands for the flora and fauna and were not disappointed in the least with the variety of experiences planned for us. Accommodations and food on the three different islands could have been ordinary and it would not have mattered. On the contrary they were most certainly not ordinary (although if you are looking for luxury resort spa vacationing, you probably should not be planning a trip to the Galapagos in any event), but more than met our expectations. The accommodations (3 different locations in total) throughout the tour were of different styles (from more rustic at the beginning to higher luxury at the end) and we can honestly say that all were charming and impeccable. Also, we would be remiss not to mention the very good quality and diversity of meals.
The Red Mangrove staff were invariably friendly and helpful and our Parque Nacional naturalists extremely competent and genuinely interesting people to be with.
We are a couple which until this trip had avoided guided tours like the plague, preferring to plan our own itinerary. This experience was almost enough to make us change our minds for the future!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 666 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is, no doubt, THE PLACE you should be in on main Galapagos island. Everything from the start (booking) to the end (leaving) is superb. Nice people and nice hotel. Believe me, you don't need more.

They also offer rare opportunity to traver around the islands and also sleep there, which is much better than riding there and evening returning back, or sleep whole week on some type of boat.

Yes, everything is little chaotic here, but I liked it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The staff at Red Mangrove made us feel welcome and helped us learn about the amazing Islands. Our personal guide, Jimmy, was fantastic, as he led us on adventures where we snorkelled with sea lions and sea turtles. It was great to visit 3 islands: Santa Cruz, Floreana, and Isabela. They are all unique, and the accommodations are true to what's advertised. Santa Cruz' Red Mangrove beautiful view included sea lions lounging on the deck. Floreana was incredibly peaceful - definitely worth the 2 nights' stay. And the beach on Isabela is powder soft and quiet - perfect for a leisurely walk in the early morning. The 3 of us (including our 15 year old daughter) will treasure our memories from the Galapagos. It was busy, but relaxing - a great break from the real world. Wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This was a "Galapagos Express" tour booked through Friendly Planet and operated by Red Mangrove in Galapagos. We were at Galapagos Santa Cruz Divers Lodge, Aventura Lodge, and Isabela Lodge. I went with my sister. We're both in our thirties and travel extensively.

It was our first "adventure tour" and we cannot say enough about how impressed we were with the whole experience.

SANTA CRUZ:
From the moment we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. Our guide Javier greeted us and we saw he was friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient. He rectified a problem we'd experienced at the airport. We were very impressed with his professionalism, integrity and commitment to guest service. And we were happy to see that attitude carried through our entire Galapagos tour. We had Jorge and Wilson as naturalists and they were both absolutely wonderful. Friendly, knowledgeable, open to questions and very responsive to the needs of the guests on the tours. Our accommodations, and the common spaces, both at Divers Lodge and Aventura Lodge, were excellent, sparkling clean and very comfortable. All in all, this was 10/10.

ISABELA:
Again, impressive on every front. Accommodations were comfortable and very clean, our guide Kelly was wonderful, and everything ran incredibly smoothly. Our naturalists, again, were outstanding. Polo and Omar were both very professional, knowledgeable, keen to respond to what we wanted to do and see. Every activity -- especially the Tintoreras tour and snorkeling, but even an "improvised" activity of walking to the Tortoise Nursery -- was fun, educational and memorable.

For gastro-travelers: the food is fresh and local, but nothing extraordinary (which was fine with us...we did not go for a culinary experience.)

I will echo another traveler and say that if you're looking for comfort and an organized, unforgettable way to experience Galapagos, go with Red Mangrove. I cannot recommend this tour enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have returned from a beautiful but quick visit to the Galopagos Islands. We only had a 3 day tour of the islands because we planned the visit at the last minute when we decided to visit Ecuador with family and friends. Our trip to the Galapogos was short but it was filled with great memories and alot of laughs. We experienced great customer service right from the airport, There was a representative from Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge to greet us and deliver us to Puerta Ayora where our adventure began. We visited Santa Cruz , Floreanna and Isabella Islands. Our guide, Juan and naturalist , Polo were fun and knowledgable about the islands. We traveled with friends and our daughters ages 16 and 20. They had a great time and we were happy to hear them say that they would love to come back someday. Be prepared for the speedboat ride between the islands, they can be quite queezy for some. Take the sick sickness pills that they offer and hope for the best!!! The rides are all at least 2 hours long. But sea sickness and all we loved the trip especially Isabella Island.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Aventura Lodge as part of our tour of the Galapagos Islands. The lodge was fantastic and very well maintained, hugged a scenic section of the bay with iguanas and boobies hanging out near the docks. Our 2nd night was in the suite major, which was one of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in- not the fanciest, but the most amazing sitting area and deck, with unbeatable views. Other ocean-viewing rooms in the hotel are also quite nice. The food was delicious and drinks well done, and everyone was friendly and very accomodating. A great place to stay, and would definitely go there again.

The tours organized by the Red Mangrove were a bit more expensive than some of the other land based tours, but well worth it. We had small groups and expert, English speaking guides throughout, and they used their own watercraft when needed. We saw EVERYTHING we wanted to see on the islands: sea lions, blue footed boobies, marine iguanas, Galapagos penguins, giant tortoises, volcanic craters, endemic finches, snorkeling, white tipped sharks, sea turtles, etc. What a great tour! Mary Elena was our favorite guide, but each one was fantastic. I'd recommend just visiting Santa Cruz and Isabella if you have limited time. Many tours go to Floreana as well, but those we talked to agreed that it was ok but more interesting from a human culturl perspective and not necessarily worth visiting if time is short.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Happy_Go_Lucky_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We booked an 8-day Galapagos trip through REI and Red Mangrove was their contracted provider. We had a great experience with them and would highly recommend them! The 3 properties we stayed at -Adventura Lodge on Santa Cruz as well as their properties on Floreanna and Isabella were all unique and comfortable. The accommodations are somewhat on the basic side; especially Floreanna but had enough charm and service to more than make up for that. Red Mangrove assigned us an "adventure guide" (in addition to the Galapagos naturalist guide) who stayed with us for the whole trip. He handled every detail. We just had to show up with the appropriate gear and everything else was taken care of. This service really enhanced our vacation. Our only complaint was that the food was nothing special. If you book with Red Mangrove, I suggest calling them directly to discuss your needs on the trip. They are very receptive and will help customize your trip as much as they can.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EVK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
350 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mangrove

Address: Avenida Charles Darwin, Puerto Ayora EC010110, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $304 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Mangrove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Red Mangrove is an oceanfront hotel with the best views of Academy Bay, located in Puerto Ayora. The hotel is the perfect place for Galapagos visitors to stay considering many activities like snorkeling, hiking, beaches, swimming, kayaking, and visiting the Charles Darwin Center are just minutes away. Why else is the Red Mangrove a good decision? For those who are prone to seasickness the hotel gives you a stay where you feel just like you're on the water with the option to choose different packages with the activities mentioned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Mangrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Mangrove Aventura Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Red Mangrove Aventura
Red Mangrove Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing