We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Wonderful New Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and Wonderful New Experience!”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The hotel is beautiful and simple. I learned how excessive our lives are by staying here. At first I thought what are we going to do without a TV, but then quickly realized that we were so busy that we didn't need a TV. By the time we got back to the hotel in the evenings we were ready for bed. I am a night owl and I really don't think I went to bed any later than 8:30 any of the nights we were there. I was dead tired in a good way. My son and I laughed when we got our first meal because we are use to Texas size portions and the portions here appear small. Well again we were wrong the portions were actually perfect. I never went to bed hungry and have even cut back drastically after returning home. Walking along the beach of the hotel you will see sea lions as well as other animals that you will recognize after the excursions. The staff was helpful and kind. They even start to know your name after the first day. They are more than happy to help you with anything you need. We left for excursions each day and got a great view of many of the different Islands in the Galapagos. Soto was our tour guide and did a great job of making sure we saw as many animals as possible. He would always point out things for us to take pictures of and explain the different animals and plant life that we were viewing. Soto picked us up from the airport and returned us to the airport making sure that everything went smoothly.(The airport is quite a distance from the hotel, but it is worth it and nice to have someone help get you through the logistics.) Everyone on the yacht that we took for our excursions did a great job of taking care of us and we always had a wonderful lunch on board. We had a small group of 12 people and have made life long friends as a result. We stayed in a garden view room and we were very satisfied with the room. I don't think we would have had time to enjoy an ocean view room because we really were that busy. My son chose this vacation as his 8th grade graduation present and I admit I was a little hesitant because I really am not an outdoorsy or nature person, but I honestly enjoyed this vacation so much and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 11Michelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for many things: thank you for coming to Galapagos and choosing Finch Bay Hotel for your stay, thank you for your review and feedback, but thank you specially for sharing your deep thoughts and feelings.
It is so difficult to be aware of ourselves all the time, aware of what we are, where we are, who we are. I love to see you were aware about all this when you were here in the Enchanted Islands. In life we must look for satisfaction, not for pleasure.

Warm regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    621
    164
    39
    7
    8
See reviews for
239
394
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

With heavy hearts we left our Galapagos cruise on the MV Santa Cruz and came to The Finch Bay Eco Hotel to get our land legs back. The rooms are simple and comfortable with great views over the pool and beyond to the sea. The food poolside is excellent. The restaurant does a full buffet breakfast and then an a la carte evening menu which is on the pricey side. We did however have the Chocolate Volcano dessert after eating in town - highly recommended.
We hired sea kayaks and had a paddle round the bay and were treated to sea turtles by our side. The whole place is teeming with life.
Getting to town is fun as you either take the hotel tender or more fun on the water taxis as you get close to the boats as various crew members are dropped off - only $0.60 per passenger.
The hotel is small and just what we needed after coming off our boat - quiet relaxation.

Room Tip: There are so few rooms that all are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bedfordians23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your Galapagos Cruise aboard the MV Santa Cruz - i have been there many times and loved it as well- and of course we are very happy to know you were able to rest and relax at Finch Bay Hotel, this is the perfect place to do so after a cruise around the islands, we are surrounded by nature and wildlife.

kind regards
Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for 10 days at this beautiful hotel. We found the service to be exceptional and all the staff were very responsive to any needs. If we could give six stars we would. Carlos was an absolute gem! Within an evening he knew all our names and took such exceptional care of us. My son was feeling ill one evening, overtired and motion sick. Carlos noticed and immediately set about making him a special ginger tea to make him feel better! It worked like a charm. Also after discovering I had forgotten my toothbrush on arrival I enquired at the desk if they had any. They right away arranged for the "panga" or water taxi driver to get me one from town and had it waiting at the desk by the time we finished dinner.
The food was fantastic, a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. We very much enjoyed tasting the gourmet and Ecuadorian specialties. The breakfast buffet had a great variety of tasty dishes and they were refilled quite speedily.
The setting is quiet and beautiful and we enjoyed watching the variety of birds that came to visit the pool. We loved to see the sea lion that came to rest on the beach at the hotel one morning as well.
During the daily short walk to the water taxi dock we always saw marine iguanas, lava lizards and lots of birds. The hotel had their own water taxi and we never had to wait more than a few minutes for the short ride to town.
We did all our tours through the hotel and without exception they were well planned and we were well looked after. Our guides Valentin, and Soto were a wealth of knowledge, very patient and we were definitely given lots of time to take photos and ask questions. Having a guide meet us as we arrived was also a great help to guide us through the arrival process.
We stayed in the ocean view rooms and found them to be spacious, well-appointed, and very clean. The hotel provided us with fresh drinking water daily in our rooms and also refillable water bottles to take on our tours. Very helpful!
We were sad to leave and would go back to this hotel again in a heart beat if possible.

Room Tip: Loved the ocean view rooms. The hammock provided was a treat. The rooms were very large and loved wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert-Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your review. it was a pleasure to meet you and we miss you already, we are delighted to know you had a nice stay at Finch Bay Hotel.
It is always sad to leave such a wonderful and unique place like the Galapagos Islands but i am sure you have many beautiful memories in your heart, they are yours forever so in some way you have the islands and its beauty with you wherever you are.

Warm regards
Xavier Burbano de Lara T.


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I have been to Galapagos three times and always stayed at finch bay Eco hotel. The hotel has a wonderful location with the beach, where you can meet sealions and other animals, less than a minute from your room. The food is excellent and the staff is very helpful. The dailytrips they are offering is fun, exciting and interesting. The guides are professional and enthusiastic!
I have also travelled around in Galapagos, stayed som other places, it's nice.. But it's always good to come back "home" to finch bay after som days at other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FridaMOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I get very happy everytime i know you are coming back and for all of us it has been wonderful to see you growing, we met you when you were a little girl and now you are a beautiful young woman and person, you are part of the Finch Bay Family indeed. Please say hi to your parents and friends. i look forward to see you again and again.

Love
Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a nice place to stay for two or three nights before boarding a cruise ship. The rooms are comfortable, the meals are tasty, the staff is helpful, and the setting is a scenic cove. The hotel offers a shuttle to Puerto Ayora, but the town has little charm. However, there are two fun hikes: to Las Grietas, a swimming hole with crystalline clear water in a small canyon; and, to Tortuga Bay, a gorgeous stretch of white sand favored by marine iguanas and sea birds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review, we love it!
I am agree with you, the Finch Bay Hotel is a nice place to stay before boarding a cruise ship, but it is the perfect place to stay after a cruise ship, it is a place where you can rest and relax, it is a place where you can re-make your trip with your mind, write about it, feel it again, think about the beauty of the islands and keep exploring them going to places like Las Grietas or Tortuga Bay, Garrapatero Beach, kayak rides, etc.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days including 2 nights before exploring Galapagos Islands on the Yacht Isabela II for a number of days. This hotel was great. The food selections prepared daily were quite good especially in the morning and at dinner. The room was comfortable and a good nights rest enjoyed. The facilities were noticeably clean and in very welcoming order. All of the staff we met did an extraordinary job at making our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks to Carlos in particular as he watched over our travel group of 16 people. We did some hiking about and were even able to attend via water taxi the local Sunday Mass. Glorious experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChasP165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and feedback, we love to know you had a nice stay at Finch Bay Hotel before your tour aboard the beautiful Isabella II yatch. We hope you got enchanted by the Enchanted Islands.
Carlos sends his best regards to you!
We all look forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Treated us with five star service. Loved the experience; very beautiful has beach and lovely pool setting; good rooms too. Can't say enough about the great food; service and presentation. Loved our stay there.

Room Tip: All are good; next to beach. Can go see sunrise in the morning. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xavier B, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.
We treated you the way you deserve and i am delighted to know you loved the experience in Galapagos at Finch Bay Hotel, i look forward to see you again in the near future.

Warm regards

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing