We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Benavidez
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A happy experience!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is in a very quiet area with no noise, lots of nature, and the sea almost in front of your room. The staff takes care of every detail, so, staying at the hotel is a pleasure. Breakfast is excellent and the restaurant offers "gourmet" meals. The daily yacht excursions to different islands are very well organized, in safety conditions, with an excelent lunch, bilingual guides that explain everything and answer all your questions and give you great opportunities for snorkeling. When you come back from the yacht excursions, the hotel is the best place for a relax time before dinner: Each room has a Paraguayan hammock in the porch to rest in a very comfortable way! If I would visit Galapagos again, I will choose to stay at Finch Bay Eco Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    637
    167
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
247
402
49
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent 2 nights in mid June prior to a cruise. The ocean view room was great and was a wonderful respite after 11 days of travel. The staff was very helpful in coordinating a Highlands tour and transfers to and from Baltra. The food at the restaurant was excellent and service was always spot on.

We found the hotel's water taxi service to and from town easy to manage and the short walk to the dock its own Galapagos experience.

All in all,all of our hopes and expectations for a great stay came true. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Loved this hotel. Decent sized rooms, great swimming pool, big enough to swim in, plentiful breakfast and delightful location. Loved having to do the gentle walk past the beach and iguanas to get to the taxi boat for the short ride to the town. We took a boat ride each day to see different islands, go snorkelling and followed advise to tread carefully in case we stepped on an iguana. Our guide, Valentin, was very informative. Lots to see and do. Would have liked to visit the Darwin Research facility for longer than the allocated one and a half hours. 4 nights was not enough. Certainly hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the beach, but are more expensive. The garden rooms were just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex Fells
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a charming hideaway where you are a part of nature. The food was excellent, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In fact, I dropped a necklace into the sink, and they managed to get it out and return it to me. Our daily trips were great fun as well, seeing the flora and fauna and snorkeling at different places.
I would love to go back again.

Room Tip: There are only a small number of rooms. Perhaps pick one with view of ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Nice rooms: no TV, radio, clock - get away from it all. Food very good, but if you're allergic to shellfish it accompanies many dishes w/o being listed on menu. Ask. Nature guides great.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbloom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is heavenly. It's calm and peaceful. The staff are extremely helpful and the food is lovely.

Even though you have to get to the hotel by boat, it is very pain free and the hotel staff help with the bags.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony here at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel. The experience was excellently pleasant and positive from the beginning to the end. The manager Carlos was exceptionally professional and helped us out a lot -he also "hosted" our simple little ceremony (not a legal marriage) and he did a wonderful job :-) The hotel itself is beautiful, and (importantly) serves marvelous food!!!!! Its swimming pool attracts a variety of birds throughout the day - we hung out with a pelican, heron and a couple of ducks by the pool while we stayed. Thank you Carlos and everyone else (who was all very friendly) at Finch Bay for making our stay very special. Saludos! Kari y Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaridelCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
4.8 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#13 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing