We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is heavenly. It's calm and peaceful. The staff are extremely helpful and the food is lovely.

Even though you have to get to the hotel by boat, it is very pain free and the hotel staff help with the bags.

Well worth a visit

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GayeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    147
    36
    6
    6
See reviews for
211
336
43
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had our wedding ceremony here at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel. The experience was excellently pleasant and positive from the beginning to the end. The manager Carlos was exceptionally professional and helped us out a lot -he also "hosted" our simple little ceremony (not a legal marriage) and he did a wonderful job :-) The hotel itself is beautiful, and (importantly) serves marvelous food!!!!! Its swimming pool attracts a variety of birds throughout the day - we hung out with a pelican, heron and a couple of ducks by the pool while we stayed. Thank you Carlos and everyone else (who was all very friendly) at Finch Bay for making our stay very special. Saludos! Kari y Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaridelCaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

we travelled with two young children, during the Galapagos busy season, so we were happy to find availability online for a sea view room about two months ahead of our stay. Less than two hours after booking that, we got an e-mail from Mr. Benitez, the hotel manager telling us that there has been a problem with the booking system and all the regular rooms were already booked for the dates we had requested. Not a good start, but Mr. Benitez offered us to stay at the "owners' suite" - a term which initially made us suspicious but which (after we asked for and received some photos and detailed location information) turned out to to be a wonderful large two bedroom apartment less than 5 minutes away from the main lobby of the hotel.

Everything about our stay was perfect, but it was the quality of the service by the entire hotel staff that really stood out. When our son got high fever in the middle of our third night, someone from the hotel went to town (quite a hike, including a jetty ride) got us some children's Ibuprofen, and hand delivered it to our suite. Free of charge. The kitchen staff made a yummy birthday cake for our twins for breakfast on our last day (which was the kids' birthday). Everyone else was unfailingly nice and friendly.

The one suggestion I would make is for the hotel staff to more clearly advertise to guests the importance of booking daily actvities - especially day trips to other islands - well in advance. Mr. Benitez offered us (in January, when we made the boking) a range of day trips, including several that we knew at the time we were interested in. But we thought we could just wait and book them when we got there in March. That was bad research: because of the rules of the National Park, the number of boats sailing from Santa Cruz to some of the nicest minor islands is limited and the day trips fill up! When we arrived at Finch Bay, everything (not just the tour company that the hotel works with, but everything) was booked. The staf at the hotel tried very hard to find us a spot on any boat, but to no avail. In the end, we got incredibly lucky because we went to an agency in town and, after about two hours of trying various combinations of days and destinations, found some spots that had just opened up due to a cancellation. So we ended up going to Bartolome one day and to North Seymour on the next day - which is pretty much what we had hoped to see. But we wish we had heeded Mr. Benitez's advice and booked the activities together with our stay - it would have saved us a lot of hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilioMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercedes, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I spent seven nights at Finch Bay and it was fabulous. The facilities were beautiful. The staff was outstanding. Everyone that worked there was friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and the day trips were beyond anything I imagined they would be. The guide were excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and i would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rally2165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We spent three nights at Finch Bay after our cruise around the Galapagos Islands. Having taken the water taxi we were met by a hotel employee who transported our bags whilst we made the 5 minute walk to the hotel. We were allocated a sea view room which was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The hammock on the balcony was a very nice touch ! All the reviews I have read mention the staff, they are all very friendly and extremely helpful. We also had the "Carlos treatment", he was around all of the time asking if there was anything he could do, fetch drink, order food etc. He obviously enjoys his job and was a credit to the hotel. He excelled himself on our last night when our travel agent had organised us a special meal which Carlos arranged by the swimming pool overlooking the beach. The food was top class and needless to say service impeccable. The Argentinian steak is "to die for".
I cannot fault the staff or the hotel in anyway, it is a marvellous location for a restful few days.

Room Tip: Sea View room, more expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cloughie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel took care of us waiting for the ship to return that night for my family.
We missed a flight out of Miami due to weather and got a day behind on our island adventure. We were traveling Linbald Expeditions which I highly recommend for the islands or any of their expeditions. We were suppose to board the boat on the island as the plane landed but being a day late the boat had left to do their first stop of many. So we were greeted by a driver hired by the hotel and escorted to the ferry crossing to go from Baltra to Santa Cruz which is a stone throw away. Once across another hotel driver was there and we traveled across the island to Puerto Ayora.This was a great for the kids and I because everyone didn't do this and we got to see the dry side of the island, up into the highlands and back down to the town on the other side of Santa Cruz. We then boarded the water taxi from the town around the bend to Finch Bay. yes it was a little bit of a journey to get to the Bay but well worth it. We walk to the salt flats near the and jumped from the rocks at the crevices which are just short walk from the hotel. After we spent the time by the pool and beach where sea lion's were basking in the sun. We had a room for the day into late evening before the ship returned to get us, yes I said returned. What guest relations. We did have dinner at the restaurant that evening and wow what a meal fresh fish and local favorites to cheeseburgers for the kids. The staff was great from the minute we walked up the beach greeting us with fresh fruit drinks till we left at midnight later that evening. Tito the manager took care of everything coordinating our excursion with the ship later. I relaxed in a hammock on the front porch of my room while the kids got some sleep watching a full moon rise over the most beautiful little bay with accommodation in the Galapagos. Great hotel especially if your not on a ship going from island to island. It's out of town enough but you can day trip from there with day tour companies. Loved it and so did the kids.

Room Tip: All rooms had a few. The second story was little bigger feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank n0me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

As the other reviews point out is a bit of an expedition to get here from the airport involving a bus ride,ferry,pick up truck and finally the Finch Bay water taxi followed by a 5-10 minute walk .Luckily the boat dropped us off at the pier and then went round to the beach abd dropped our cases there-all very efficiently done .
What stood out was the helpfulness and traning of the staff .It was clear that the manager was paying particular attention to what was going on and if a guest was waiting in the lobby he ensured they were immediately attended to .We had particular praise for Carlos who went of his way to see if we needed anything and Pepe at the bar .
the food in the restuarant was very good (if a little pricey but that reflects the location ) and the breakfast buffet was very good .We walked out one night to a restuarant called Angermeyer Point which was next to the ferry landing which was quite good but was very very quiet-we were the only people in there for most of our meal .
We had a garden view room which did lack a degree of privacy-we had to have the blinds down all of the time as passers by could see straight in to the room .The room was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate-the bathroom was a very good size .it was a little noisy early morning with guests constantly coming and going but the noise raised by slamming doors and loud conversations outside is a reflection on the guesta and not the hotel .

Room Tip: May be worth checking how much extra an ocean view costs to get a little more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#12 of 23 in Santa Cruz
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#6 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Address: Barrio Punta Estrada, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing