We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relatively Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relatively Good Hotel”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is good....not great. I arrived on Dec 29th and found that my reservation was missing. They blamed Expedia and told me that there wasn't a room available on the 31st (New Years Eve!). I was offered a room that the workers use for $180 per night, which was 100% unacceptable for anyone traveling from the U.S. that expects suitable conditions. Therefore, I had to spend hours of precious time figuring out logistics and stressing out after 1.5 days of travel.

The real situation -
1. The hotel is a serious walk from where the water taxi drops you off. Yes, you have to take a water taxi every time you want to go into town. Granted, it is only .60-1. per person each way depending on the time of day.
2. While they do have the only hotel with a beach on the island, the beach is not private and is packed with locals. Hope you like the pool because that's where you will be!
3. The garden view room is small and it is hardly a garden that you want to look at. It should be called the shrub view room.
4. The service is great as long as you don't have a problem. If you have a problem, forget receiving any customer service.
5. The pool is nice.
6. The breakfast is really good. My advice to the owner is to put up a net,so people don't have to compete with the birds for their food. That was a little gross.

Overall - My problem with Finch Bay comes down to value. I had to stay at three different hotels due to my reservation issue and now have a very different perspective of the hotel. I think the Angermeyer is by far a much better value. The hotel was $100 cheaper per night and the people were beyond phenomenal in helping me. Also, they are at the water taxi stop, so I didn't have to walk 5-10 minutes every time I wanted to leave the hotel. In closing, Finch Bay had an opportunity to take responsibility for my reservation missing and at least try to contact Expedia. Instead, they just transferred blame and basically told said I was out of luck. After 3 flights, 2 buses and 2 water taxis, as well as countless hours of traveling time, the last thing you want to hear is that you don't have a reservation.

Room Tip: Don't get the garden view room. I had room number 1 and it was uninspiring.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelxvalmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear michaelxvalmont,

Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate all your comments but i want to clarify some things:

We did not blame anybody, on the contrary, we did the best we could to help you out with your booking in a very high season (new year´s eve), we apologized with you and your wife, we were honest and we told you the truth about the options we had for you, your booking was only for 2 nights 29th and 30th, not for the 31st.

As you know you got a room at the Hotel the first night, for the second night we offered you a room in my house and the rate was $100 us with taxes and breakfast included, besides your dinner and bottle of wine was on the house the first night, our only intention was to apologize and make you feel welcome, we understood the situation and the bad time you had when you arrived.

Finally, i am glad you found what you were looking for at the Angermeyer Hotel, it is a beautiful place and its staff is amazing, we know them all.


Best regards,

Xavier







.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    165
    40
    7
    8
See reviews for
244
397
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Xavier Burbano de Lara T., the general manager, and his staff provided excellent service in delivering a gift from the hotel's bar to my girlfriend and her party during a recent stay. He was extremely responsive via email and very attentive to the details of my request. I even decided to modify my request after placing the initial order and he handled it without pause. Extremely professional, courteous and a true pleasure to interact with.

I've yet to visit Finch Bay, but based on my very positive exchanges with Xavier, I have no doubt they treat all their guests equally well and provide a great experience for them. Thank you, Xavier. I truly appreciated your help. And to Xavier's boss - give him a raise - he deserves it!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rebel4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Rebel4141,

Thank you very much for your review, you are very kind. It was a pleasure to serve you and i look forward to meet you someday, maybe for your honeymoon? you must see the beauty of the Galapagos!

Best regards,

Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linwood
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We recently had a two night stay at this very pretty place. It was part of a land/sea Galapagos tour. The front desk was very knowledgable and helpful regarding their ability to coordinate with our tour company for departures and our itinerary while there. There was no charge for towels, (and they were plush and plentiful) or the pool for that matter (so I don't get the previous review!) Marine iguanas and beautiful birds are everywhere. The rooms where spacious and the shower was great. We really enjoyed breakfast (a buffet), however we were a party of 10, so dinner took way too long. If you like to "dine" than you will enjoy dinner, however we were tired from our full days, and found the dinner menu limited, expensive, and again too long an experience. I highly recommend going into town and eating at the pizza place (right in the center). The food is great...beer ice cold, inexpensive and not a huge wait. The town is undergoing a huge expansion, and there are tons of side streets opening with cool shops and great bargains. This is a great option for those who want to see the Galapagos from a land-based property. There are several others that are being (or have been) built so do some research, but this was very nice.

Room Tip: There are not that many rooms so they are all good....this is not a huge place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear sksm,

Thank you very much for your review, we hope you had great holidays in the Galapagos Islands. Thank you for your feedback, we work hard every day to improve all our services, you comments are very important and we appreciate them all.

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, fl
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Finch Bay is a great place to use as a base to explore the Galapagos Island. The rooms are very modern and well designed. The resort is a great place to return to after a day of exploring the islands. The food is good, not great, but you don't go to the Galapagos for the food. I must say the service is exceptional. Tips are included, but you get extra care if you tip. They love Americans in the Galapagos.

The tour packages are first rate. Don't even question spending money on the tour packages, just do it. The resort's yacht and included meals are worth every penny. The guides have a really good knowledge of all aspects of the islands.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenzo32082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear kenzo32082,

Thank you very much for your review, we are very happy to know you had great holidays in the Galapagos Islands, it was a pleasure to meet you and have you as our guest, we do love Americans for sure as well as we love people from all over the world visiting this unique National Park.

Best regards

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Location , location, location , quite stunning , perched on the beach over looking the bay , couple of things to look out for , no towels at the pool it will cost you $10 to use the pool , lunch was great , very nice bar area , very friendly staff shame the made such a meal of the use of the pool .

Room Tip: Take your own towel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear EddieCarroll,

Thank you very much for your review, our location is a blessing and we love it too!
Regarding your comments about the pool: we do charge 10 us to the non-guests tourists coming to the Hotel to enjoy its facilities, you were not a guest at the Hotel and you were informed about our company policy. I am glad to know you enjoyed your lunch and i hope you had great holidays in Galapagos!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

What will I remember about Finch Bay?
-Awesome Food
-Great Service, great location,
-The staff was always willing to help and worked hard for you!
-Carlos was top notch! He worked hard to get us a fishing trip on our one free day! It was well worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear dbeers2618,

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to know you have good memories of your trip, the Galapagos Islands are unique and for sure every single visitor will have unforgettable memories, what will we remember about you: beautiful and kind people, nature´s lovers like us!

Warm regards

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Finch Bay is an elegant and exclusive. It 'a very quiet place near the beach Los Alemanes. It 's very expensive but if you want a high quality service worth it. Excellent tour by boat to the islands.
The breakfast is good, the service always professional. A little old the beds in the rooms. Excellent swimming pool to relax after the tour by boat or on days off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
308 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
47 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing