We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Galapagos experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

There's not a lot of bad things that can be said about this place; but I will nit pick on a couple of things.

First the good.
The location is fantastic, it's out of the way, you do feel like you're in your own little secluded paradise. This does mean that if you are going out in the evening you need to get the boat to taxi you into to town and back. This can be an inconvenience, but if you're on a relaxing holiday and trying to get away from it all, it does add come more character to your stay.

The breakfast is extensive with hot and cold food; however as the name of the resort suggests, expect to have some feathered friends join you for breakfast. Some might find that a little off putting.

I know this shouldn't be an issue, but the lack of TV in the room and wifi does mean that you are very much out in the wilderness. Which is fine if you don't need to get back in touch with humanity, but if you have any business needs that require you to have contact, you're out of luck!

The ability to be able to take out things like the Sea Kayak was very good. We went for a paddle round the bay and saw some excellent sites. Sharks, sea lions, penguins...very cool.

All in all, it's a very nice secluded hotel, but if you're looking for something fairly sociable, then this probably isn't the one for you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear James P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback and it will be shared with all the team. i must agree with you: our location is fantastic indeed.

We do have a TV and computers with internet connection available for our guests in our mini-business center as well as wifi in the property, i am deeply sorry if you experienced some problems with the signal, i do understand your need to be in touch with the world.

We are thrilled to know you enjoyed your kayak ride and your stay!

Best regards,

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (908)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 908 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would say that this hotel lived up to its advanced billing. The location is a little out of the way but it is not like you can't easily get to Puerto Ayora either by the boat supplied by the hotel or by public transportation which is $1 in the evening and cheaper earlier in the day. Once you get to the dock it is somewhat of a long walk from the dock to the hotel. You pass by the beach which is very nice but quite frankly we really didn't have time to go to the beach because after having excursions on the yacht all day we were very tired.

The rooms are clean. Every room has 2 twin beds. There is a hammock in front of every room. There is an elevated walkway to move from the rooms to the main building. I believe there are fewer than 25 rooms. The portal is large with a nice surrounding deck. There is a bar next to the pool. We didn't use the pool while we were there.

The breakfast buffet is extensive and good. The service is good. He never ate lunch at the hotel because he always ate lunch on one of the yachts. For dinner they did serve very well presented meals. There was an emphasis towards seafood. The food always looked wonderful and usually tasted quite good. There were a couple of misses, such as the cheesecake we had for desert on the first night. The Ecuadorian potato soup was superb. The service staff was excellent. We generally left some money on the table as a tip although I think service is included in the room rate.

The rooms are nicely appointed. There are no televisions or clocks in the room and no Internet access. In the main building there was a large television room, they had several board games there that could be played, and they had 3 or 4 computer stations where you were able to get online for free. The speed of the connection was less than cable and perhaps was equivalent to DSL.

The excursions to the various islands were wonderful. The hotel has 2 yachts and we were on the Sea Finch. The other yacht is named Sea Lion and is somewhat larger. There were about 12 of us in our group and we all got along quite well. It was somewhat of a production to get to the yachts. Though there is a harbor in Puerto Ayora we left from the Itabaca Channel which meant a five-minute boat ride from the hotel to Puerto Ayora, a 45 min. bus ride from Puerto Ayora to the Channel, and then another five-minute boat ride to the yacht. They said that they left from this location because of the location of where we were going and the roughness of the seas. They wanted to minimize our time at sea, though on our 3 excursions we were at sea getting to our destination for one or 2 hours.

Once we were at the other island and we would generally take a hike and also go snorkeling. Lunch was served on the yacht either between the activities or after we were done the activities. Even though the galley of the yacht must be small, the lunch as we had on the got were excellent. The first day we had a fish called wahoo, the second day was a chicken dish, and the third day was a slice of tuna. There are bathrooms on the yacht and there is even a shower though I don't think any of us use that. When we came in from snorkeling they did hose us down with fresh water. We rented wetsuits from the hotel for $15 per person and this rental was as good as long as we stayed at a hotel. I would recommend this. The water temperature was about 69°F (20.5°C.) and air temperature was in the upper 70s or around 25°C. There were people on our yacht from California who didn't mind the temperature of the water but I definitely felt that the wetsuits where a wise investment.

During the time we were at the hotel we were mostly involved with Valerio who was an excellent guide. He was knowledgeable and friendly. We also had some time with Mario who was also quite good.

The hotel is also close to Las Grietas which is a natural gorge filled with water that is popular with local people. I wrote about this separately.

I don't think you can go wrong visiting the Galapagos Islands and if you stay on Santa Cruz and can afford it, you should stay at the Eco Finch Bay Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear badwyer,

Thank you very much for your detailed review, thank you for sharing your experience with other travellers coming to this unique National Park, we are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and excursions with us. We are sorry if we made a mistake with your desert, we do our best to improve our service all the time and guest´s feedback is what help us the most, gracias!

Warm regards,

Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Galapagos is 1 of the world's most special places and it's important to stay somewhere that will compliment your experience. Finch Bay did exactly that!

In summary - the day trips on the luxury cruiser are spectacular, the staff are so friendly and accommodating, and the food is to die for!

Not being a seafaring person, I wanted to stay somewhere where I could enjoy cruising around the spectacular islands whilst being able to get off the boat at the end of the day and enjoy a wine by the pool watching the beautiful array of birds on the beach - which is exactly what I did!
The hotel is located on a small island off the main town of Puerto Ayora and the hotel staff did a seemless job of getting us from the airport to the hotel and into our rooms with our bags waiting for us (along with a cocktail) on arrival.
I booked onto the 4 night naturalist package and loved every minute of it. Heading out on the luxury cruiser each day to explore the islands was fantastic and every day had something new and exciting in store. Whether it was swimming with playful sea lions, spotting blue-footed boobies, admiring the abundant fish species while snorkelling, lazing around with sea iguanas and giant tortoises, hiking the scenic islands or just lounging around on board enjoying the wonderful lunches of fresh fish and salads and all things nice, I enjoyed it all! As a single traveller, what made my experience so special were the friendships I formed with the amazing staff. They were so attentive to my every need and nothing was ever too much to ask. On top of that, the guides are local, friendly and passionate about the islands. Go, relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KGstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear KGstravels,

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to know you had a great time in the Galapagos Islands, i was particularly happy to read your comments about our staff, i must agree with you, they are friendly, attentive, passionate, they just love to serve! and it has been a pleasure to meet you and be able to help you to enjoy your holidays, we all look forward to meet you again.

Best regards,

Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Following an amazing 5 day expedition on La Pinta of the Galápagos Islands, my husband and I spent 2 nights at the beautiful Finch Bay. The Hotel is located on a small island off the main town of Puerto Ayora. Their private water taxis are available to transport you across to the pier where a brief walk down a trail brings you to the hotel. It is simple in design, with small buildings centered around a gorgeous pool and open air restaurant. Just beyond the pool is a small stretch of beach, which although open to the public, feels like a little stretch of paradise.
The food was excellent and can be vouched for by the variety of finches that joined us at our table, eating crumbs from our table, and directly from our hand .
Service was personal and attentive.
After hiking lava fields and the active pace of touring the Galapagos by boat , this was the perfect place to chill out before returning to the States.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeeLongIsland_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear zeeLongIsland_Ny ,

Thank you so much for your review, we are happy to know you had a great time on La Pinta as well as at the Finch Bay Hotel, the way you visited the Galapagos Islands is in my opinion the perfect way to do it, first the cruise ship and then the hotel in order to relax and chill out, perfect!

Kind regards,

Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife isn't one for boats, so we went here based on the reviews and it didn't disapoint. Howver, we did spend a disproportionate amount of time on/near Santa Cruz. We definitly enjoyed it, but if you have the stomach to stay on a boat, you might be able to see more. My wife was pregnant at the time, and our group was mostly retirees, and all of the day trips were very acomodating to our physical abilities. I would recomend it to people of all ages and agility.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoOrange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear ChicagoOrange,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with others, we are very happy to know you had a nice stay with us. We offer excursions to 4 different central islands, Bartolome, Santa Fe, North Seymour and South Plazas and of course we offer excursions in Santa Cruz Island such as the highland´s visit, Tortuga Bay, etc. if you want to see the far away islands like Genovesa, Española, etc, the only option you have is to take a cruise ship. in the islands we visit you will see most of the wildlife you could spot in the Galapagos, the exceptions are the flightless cormoran in Fernandina, the waved albatross in Española, the red footed bobbies in Genovesa.

Best regards
Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I loved the Finch Bay Hotel! It was amazing to have such a great place to eat and relax. The beach is so close that you can even pickup the Wifi if you are in the right place.

I went out on one of the day trips and it was incredible! The staff and service was amazing. We had a great guide and with such a small group it was the best way to see the wildlife.

I cannot suggest enough how amazing the Finch Bay staff and service was! Can't wait to go back and see Javier and crew again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, Gerente at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Erin E,

Thank you so much for your review, we love to know you loved your experience in the Galapagos Islands and we all look forward to meet you again in the future, we are at your service.

Warm regards,

Xavier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My Daughter and I arrived at Finch Bay Hotel after 12 days of hectic travelling. We were meet at the dock and escorted to the hotel leaving our luggage to follow. Our room was bright, clean and inviting after a tedious journey from the Cruise ship we left at Baltra. We sat round the pool relaxing, reading and soaking up the atmosphere which was lovely. We had time to think and recall all the exciting and interesting sights we had seen during our 5 days cruise round the Islands. It was an amazing contrast which made the sights we had seen even more appreciated. We then visited Isabella Island and whilst what we saw on the Island was really interesting we were so pleased to return The Finch Bay Hotel to be looked after by the friendly efficient staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in both a ground floor room and an elevated room both were good in different ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Silberstein
Hotel Silberstein
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora 00000, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $436 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-rooms and 6 Ocean View suites hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yacht. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing