We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A very special place”
Reviewed December 26, 2007

Stayed at this hotel over the Chrsitmas holiday and booked the package with Gate 1. This vacation was worth every dollar paid. The staff was fantastic and went out of their way to constantly assist us. I note the comments about the meals, and found the meals very good. There are people at this hotel from all over the world and it appears the hotel attempts to provide meals that cross many cultures and tastes -- usually a meat, vegetarian and fish/chicken/seafood dish to select. There were other local restaurants that were not on the site but nearby that had more traditional food from Ecuador. The day trips were really nice. My friend and I were the only people scheduled for the Darwin tour and the guide took us without question or insisting on a larger number of people. The hotel has a yacht that does trips to other islands that is very enjoyable. The Galapagos is a very special place with friendly residents and I would suggest anyone who has an opportunity to definitely go. It is also nice that Ecuador is on the US dollar so you don't spend time figuring out exchanges, and there is no time difference. Thanks Finch Bay!

  • Liked — The staff and the wildlife on the hotel grounds
  • Disliked — It was a distance from town and you had to take a boat
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaunfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    164
    39
    7
    8
See reviews for
240
394
48
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights in October 2007. Nice rooms excellent location. We had little time to explore because of tight tour schedules. Breakfasts were good as were the meals aboard the Sea Finch yacht when doing the tours. The hotel was badly let down by it's evening meals and service at the meals. I am probably one of the easiest people to please and this is the only time I have given a negative review - any restaurant is only as good as their last meal. The guides were on auto pilot and after our experince with the guides on The Manatee could only be rated as second tier. However this apart the Hotel is in an excellent location which is added to by having to take a boat to get to it and very peaceful.

  • Liked — Relaxing rooms
  • Disliked — Awful evening meals
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincolnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
finchbayhotel, General Manager at Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2011
Dear lincolni,

Thank you very much for your review and invaluable feedback, i am very sorry if your experience at the restaurant was not the best but at the same time i am proud to tell you that we have been improving a lot! just check the last reviews we got and you will realize it is true!

Best regards

Xavier Burbano de Lara T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2007

My two children and I spent 8 days at the Finch Bay Hotel this past August. It was a wonderful experience. We loved every minute of the time spent. The hotel's trip planner, Lourdes was super nice and very attentive. Our guide, Mario was also wonderful, and helped make our various day trips educational and fun. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The grounds of the hotel are quite striking and I enjoyed lying in the hamock on my porch looking out over those grounds. We also enjoyed walking to the beach in front of the hotel to say hello to the two sea lions there! The restaurant was really good and the wait staff were attentive and friendly. Our boat trips on the Sea Finch were all great. The boat crew took good care of us, and there was plenty of food and water on the boat. Over all, the experience was one of the best we have ever had!

  • Liked — The employees were wonderful
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bclead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Overall a great hotel and superb base for the Galapagos if you've decided on land over boat.

Advantages:
Nice location on pretty beach
Very attentive and polite staff
Good range of food and drinks
Great in house tour company (Metropolitan Touring)
Comfortable rooms with hammocks

Disadvantages:
Hotel is designed for very hot temperatures. It was a little cold when we were there, especially in the dining room
Rooms could be bigger
Hot tub not 'hot'!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 7om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed at Finch Bay as part of our honeymoon. Everything was top from start to end; the hotel itself was in a beautiful setting (well it is the Galapagos after all!), the service was fab and the food was brilliant (the breakfast buffet was huge...). The daytrips were really good and the guide was great. We stayed 4 nights but in hindsight I wish we'd stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2007

From the time we arrived until the time we left, everyone at the hotel bent over backwards to make us happy. We truly loved every second there. Tito, Soto, and Pepe the bartender and all of the staff are terrific. We felt safe there, the rooms are small but very clean and well appointed. Las Grietas is worth the treacherous "hike"....wear sneakers not flip flops!!! Get up early and watch the sunrise and the wildlife at the beach....breathtaking.

  • Liked — Views, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — bad communication services but then again, it is the galapagos and you don't go there for that
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

stayed here on april 11th for 8 nights,couldnt have picked a better place,management and staff very freindly and helpful.the hotel has a lovely boat that does excellent trips to some of the islands.i saw a very wide variety of sea birdsthat were very tameand a joy to watch with their eggs and chicks.the snorkelling from the boat was the best ive ever experienced,i saw sharks,penguins,sealions and turtles.the fishlife was incredible at times looking like a wall of silver when the larger fish were chasing them.i spoke to quite a few people who were based on boats and they all seemed to be having a great time,so if you decide on a boat or the finch bay your in for a great time,personally i would stay ashore and do day trips ,it all depends on your personal preference. i have been lucky enough to travel to a lot of different parts of the world,but the galapagos was the trip ill never forget.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pettethefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
6.4 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
46 reviews
9.2 mi away
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
Royal Palm Hotel Galapagos
#11 of 24 in Santa Cruz
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N | Puerto Ayora, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing