We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly Perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

Overall a great hotel and superb base for the Galapagos if you've decided on land over boat.

Advantages:
Nice location on pretty beach
Very attentive and polite staff
Good range of food and drinks
Great in house tour company (Metropolitan Touring)
Comfortable rooms with hammocks

Disadvantages:
Hotel is designed for very hot temperatures. It was a little cold when we were there, especially in the dining room
Rooms could be bigger
Hot tub not 'hot'!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 7om
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    159
    37
    7
    8
See reviews for
231
378
45
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2007

We stayed at Finch Bay as part of our honeymoon. Everything was top from start to end; the hotel itself was in a beautiful setting (well it is the Galapagos after all!), the service was fab and the food was brilliant (the breakfast buffet was huge...). The daytrips were really good and the guide was great. We stayed 4 nights but in hindsight I wish we'd stayed a few more nights.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LondonNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2007

From the time we arrived until the time we left, everyone at the hotel bent over backwards to make us happy. We truly loved every second there. Tito, Soto, and Pepe the bartender and all of the staff are terrific. We felt safe there, the rooms are small but very clean and well appointed. Las Grietas is worth the treacherous "hike"....wear sneakers not flip flops!!! Get up early and watch the sunrise and the wildlife at the beach....breathtaking.

  • Liked — Views, staff friendliness
  • Disliked — bad communication services but then again, it is the galapagos and you don't go there for that
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

stayed here on april 11th for 8 nights,couldnt have picked a better place,management and staff very freindly and helpful.the hotel has a lovely boat that does excellent trips to some of the islands.i saw a very wide variety of sea birdsthat were very tameand a joy to watch with their eggs and chicks.the snorkelling from the boat was the best ive ever experienced,i saw sharks,penguins,sealions and turtles.the fishlife was incredible at times looking like a wall of silver when the larger fish were chasing them.i spoke to quite a few people who were based on boats and they all seemed to be having a great time,so if you decide on a boat or the finch bay your in for a great time,personally i would stay ashore and do day trips ,it all depends on your personal preference. i have been lucky enough to travel to a lot of different parts of the world,but the galapagos was the trip ill never forget.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank pettethefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

We stayed for 5 days and could have stayed for many more. The hotel staff were extremely nice and friendly. The maids fixed up the room several times a day. The wildlife we saw at the hotel was incredible! From iguanas to huge blue herons to blue-billed ducks in the pool and finches joining us for breakfast, the most amazing thing is that they all have no fear of humans. The beach in front of the hotel was just georgous.
We were given snorkels and flippers to use for the duration of the stay and were given a kayack to use. The kayack was so much fun! We went around the mangroves and around a small island and had a sea lion follow us for about 2 hours sticking his cute little head up from time to time to say hi. We took a boat tour to an island to see seals and iguanas, which was fun, but we could have just stayed at the hotel and took out the kayack and have seen quite a variety of wildlife without the boat tour. The water was an incredible shade of turquoise, and the sunsets were georgous! The food was quite good, and the fresh juices in the morning such as blackberry and guava were delicious. The food inclusive package was very good, but the al a carte was better. I would go for the al a carte if I ever have the opportunity to go back. There is also a great restaurant a few minutes walk from the hotel that had a great view of the harbor and the food was wonderful and quite reasonable. They also are very eco aware. Just loved it!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
13 Thank Eat&Sleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

I cannot say enough nice things about the Finch Bay Resort and their staff. Everyone is so nice and so willing to make your stay unforgettable. Having the option of a land-based Galapagos tour was wonderful for us. The new Sea Finch boat gave us the opportunity to visit amazing places on nearby islands. To see the Galapagos is truly a magical opportunity, which was very much enriched by our guides Mario and Valentino. They were both extremely knowledgeable and delightful and went out of their way to take superb care of all of us. The islands are beautiful and the opportunity to see so many wildlife close at hand was truly special. The Finch Bay is immaculate, the food superb and the setting idyllic. Tito and Suto we miss you!

  • Liked — Staff was incredible
  • Disliked — Long walk from boat dock to the actual hotel and it's hard when you're tired arriving.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Ready2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2007

Our family of 12 stayed at the Finch Bay Eco Hotel for 8 days and 7 nights just before Christmas of 2006. Our family included 3 generations with ages from 3 to 73. We all had a fabulous time. It started with the fine work of Metropolitan Touring which own the Finch Hotel. We dealt with them through the Internet and found them to be very responsive. As an aside, while at the Finch, we were greeted by "Rocky", the owner of Metropolitan Touring. He was very gracious in welcoming our family to the Finch Bay Hotel. This friendliness was typical of all the staff.

The Finch Bay Eco Hotel is a small hotel, but classy. Going on the hotel's tours to the various Galapagos Islands on the Sea Finch Yacht gave us the opportunity to meet other hotel guests.


The facilities of the hotel were quite fine, but the thing that made our stay special was the hotel's staff. Tito, Soto, our guide Mario, and the rest of the staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and to make our stay enjoyable. Examples of little things such as setting up a big screen projector and serving popcorn while the youngsters of our family watched movies as their parents went scuba diving. Being the "baby sitting" grandparent I especially appreciated that. On the tours our guide and the yacht's crew saw to the special needs, comfort, safety, and enjoyment of the youngest and oldest of our family.

The tours are very well planned. They are physical and informative. You see sea lions, turtles, Blue footed Boobies, and other fabulous birds, iguanas, and many fish species. You see them in their natural state. No cages, no confinement, but you must stay at least 3 feet from them. You hike across islands that are unique and varied in terrain and fauna and snorkel in various bays with the playful sea lions, penguins, and sea turtles.

You won't get a newspaper dropped at your door. In fact we did not see a newspaper while we were there. No television. They did have Internet access, but don't go there for these things. Go there for a visit to a unique part of the world and to be treated with complete respect during your stay.

We walked a lot on the tours; we saw wonderful sights we will never forget. The Galapagos Islands are unique and amazing.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
26 Thank BigPoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
6.3 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
8.3 mi away
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
Casa Natura Galapagos Lodge
#12 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finch Bay Eco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Bay Eco Hotel

Property: Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Address: Punta Estrada S/N, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador (Formerly Finch Bay Eco Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finch Bay Eco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning hotel enjoys a peaceful and magical beachfront location in Puerto Ayora, on Santa Cruz Island. The 21 Garden View-room and 6 Ocean View suite hotel makes the ideal base for exploring the natural diversity and attractions of the island – including Tortuga Bay beach – and for taking day-trips to nearby islands, aboard its own, specialized yachts. The hotel also implements best practices in sustainable tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Finch Bay Eco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Finch Bay Eco
Finch Bay Eco Puerto Ayora
Finch Bay Eco Hotel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing