We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people - top quality handicrafts!”
Review of Galeria Aymara

Galeria Aymara
Ranked #10 of 28 things to do in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jewelry & latin american art and craftwork
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great people - top quality handicrafts!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Galeria Aymara is definitely the finest and most exclusive original handicraft shop I've visited ever!
A must for every Galapagos-visitor!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent shop”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is an excellent shop in Puerto Ayora, the main town of the Galapagos, on the island of Santa Cruz. Lots of beautiful, high-quality items that the owners have found from artists and crafts people in Ecuador and elsewhere in South America. A little pricey, but worth it - after all, you get what you pay for. Nothing chintzy or tacky here. When we were there, we saw a little sculpted sea turtle that, once we got home in the US, we regretted not buying. We emailed the shop to see if we could buy it over the phone with a credit card and have them send it to us. Sure enough, Martin was very helpful - he called me and offered to send it by Fedex or registered airmail. I chose the latter for $10 and it arrived in great shape in 11 days (and trackable online). Excellent products and excellent service!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Veteran-Traveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great find, cool gallery and freindly staff”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We had a great expereince here and bought a mask and a retablo mirror. Beat was very helpful. We went to the gallery at about 7 PM and did not have enough cash. He said to come back the next day. We wanted to give a deposit to ensure our purchase but he said it should be fine Sure enough, when I reached the next evening, he had it all packed up nicely and ready to go. It is a well laid out and maintained place. Only thing is that it opens later than most other places (at about 9 am) and one of the earliest to close (by 7:30 am) in thr area. They have a small shop at the Baltra airport as well, but the choices are much better at the Ave. Charles Darwin location.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rashmi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Worth your time to visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We visited both locations of Galeria Aymara. You owe it to yourself to visit one or both if you are looking for art that did NOT arrive via China or other non-native countries. Our purchases were outstanding; tapestry, carvings, woven basket and statuary. The gallery representative was most helpful. We could not decide between 4 woven wall hangings. He cleared a wall, and hung all 4 of our potentials so we could see them on a wall versus laying on a table. When we decided on our purchase, he made shipment to the US so easy. All items arrive in a timely manner and undamaged. A most positive experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank aquarium-mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galeria Aymara also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Galeria Aymara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing