We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galapagos Dreams Hostal
Ranked #12 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bernay, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Galapagos Dreams Hostel, it's well located and only 10 min walk to Darwin Center (Beach, Tortoise and breading center).

We stayed there before we move to our rented flat and all was arranged by Jonatan e guy who run the hostel. He is so cooperative and helpful and will tell you all you need to know about what to do and how to do it.

We had a TV in the room but with no A/C but with fan and private bathroom. The room is big and has a small but not equipped kitchen, you may also use the kitchen of the hostel. Room cleaning is done day by day and they provide clean towels as well.

The hostel also provide free wifi, good one comparing to Ecuadorian standard.

There are also restaurants and bars around the hostel but the cheap ones are 15 min walk to downtown area (basically it's a street).

Room Tip: The room we stayed at was at the base floor, very humid but it has dehumidifier. We "believe&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2digitalnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    45
    25
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
41
23
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We never expected to find this place. We went with no reservations, as everything we could find online was booked on the days of our trip. When we arrived the administrator Jonatan Garcia was riding past on a bicycle. We came from checking out another hotel but were dis satisfied. He payed for a cab and took us just a few blocks from the center of town to Galapagos Dreams. The room was very clean, had ac, free wifi, and cable tv. The best part was the price. As we did not want to spend a lot on our room in the Galapagos because we went to see as much as we could not stay in a room. So for $20 per person per night you get breakfast each morning, for $15 without. The breakfast is scrambled eggs, with toast and juice. Either way totally worth the price. Jonatan is most helpful and friendly in recommending tours and setting them up for you. I don't think you could find a better place to stay on Santa Cruz island. So if your looking for a nice place to lay your head at night with friendly and helpful staff this is the best place for the price!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed 3 nights in this hostal and it was the best one in this price category on Galapagos. The manager also arranges tours - from boat cruises to daily trips to other islands. The hostal is not entirely in the center, but it is only a 10 minutes walk to the port. English and Spanish is spoken, the rooms are clean, the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerti1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok, stay was not much of a problem. Air con at this price IS good. But there was a consistent smell on the sheets and pillows which was not taken care of. Not to mention calling high prices when we ask about other rooms or tours. He also offered to change our flight and three days later he said(or, lied) that he has been to the office three times but it was so busy. He could have said 'Sorry I was busy, forgot' but he didn't. The real problem:do they KNOW how to keep a PROMISE? We booked two doubles before going to Isabela for three days and when we come back they show us a quadruple room! We've had these things too many times and complained, saying if we do not get two doubles we will move out. There was no owner at that time(and did not come back soon), only the 'employees' who did not give us a single apology. Rather, they just said over and over 'There isn't any doubles', did not listen to our complaints, just stared at their work doing nothing to solve the problem. No doubles?! Hello, we BOOKED it, the owner said OK, we even made a confirm call!! Finally they just went like, 'find another hotel'. Thanks to them we searched for another hotel all around town, walking in the sun. This really made us angry and hot. Do they really know how to keep a promise?!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Unyeondong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a funny stay- we had 8 people, but were at first told that we were staying in a room with 4 beds, in which they would add 4 more on the floor. Once we asked, they just gave us 2 rooms. There is a useable kitchen, which we were told was only available in the evenings, and cost $5 to use. We did use it, but never ended up paying the fee. The rooms were okay, but we all got electrocuted by the shower when we turned the water on and off.

Room Tip: Ask to see the shower first-if the handle looks dodgy, it will probably electrocute you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in December and had a couple of rooms. Location is a bit back from the beach front but walkable.

Rooms were basic but fine although we had niggles like a bathroom that flooded, we initially thought it was the toilet but it turned out the shower surround slopes outwards, wet socks, lovely. A light bulb was also out in the other bathroom and not fixed promptly.

On checkout they tried to charge us breakfast on top, a lot extra for what was obviously something always included (served with zero passion, brown scrambled eggs, cheap margarine etc.). Not something you would knowingly pay extra for! We ended up paying a token amount after standing our ground.

We booked a North Seymour tour with Galapagos Dreams and paid upfront with cash but it was a disaster and waste of time as we got all the way to the harbour at the top of the island and then discovered that the coast guard were not allowing the boat to sail due to some irregularity/falling out with the captain. We waited there for ages before coming back. Frustrating with little explanation. When I initially asked for our money back I was told I had to wait, they weren't happy but I got it.after sitting in reception a while (an upset customer is not conducive to selling to others!).

Luckily with 6 weeks in the Galapagos we had seen a lot but others on the trip were on much more limited time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallBizOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#7 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#10 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verde Azul
Hotel Verde Azul
#18 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Dreams Hostal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Dreams Hostal

Property: Galapagos Dreams Hostal
Address: Av. Cucuve y Floreana, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Galapagos Dreams Hostal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Located in the heart of Puerto Ayora, this hostal is within a 15-minute walk of Galapagos National Park and Charles Darwin Research Station. Tortuga Bay Beach is 2.1 mi (3.4 km) away. Property Features This hostal features tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and free breakfast. WiFi in public areas is free. Room Amenities All 15 rooms offer free WiFi, coffee makers, and cable TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Galapagos Dreams Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Dreams Hostal Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing