We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silberstein - Bronze, Silver, Gold...”
Review of Hotel Silberstein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Silberstein
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Silberstein - Bronze, Silver, Gold...”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

A family run establishment, with recently the young, hard working and amicable Jan Silberstein taking over the hospitality and gastronomy this hotel is known for from his parents; this in addition to the dive center linked to the hotel - make for a great and convenient stay on the most beautiful place in the world - the Galapagos Islands.

I stayed on the Galapagos Islands for almost 3 weeks as part of my 6 month sabbatical I earned after 7 years of hard working in the oil industry. I decided that at least a couple of days I would splurge in one of the best places the Galapagos in my view have to offer.

This hotel is nicely located in a quieter part of Puerto Ayora, however within 5 minutes distance you will be in the area more filled with restaurants - however for good food and great wine you don't need to go anywhere else, as the hotel has a good chef (although the chef may change about once a year or every two years I am told); there is plenty of attention for getting the best staff available on the island. I noticed the difference - there are about 5 good restaurants on the island in terms of food and service and this is definitely one of them.

The Dive Center located just opposite of the Silberstein hotel is pretty OK for a Galapagos Dive Center. It offers reasonable deals for the great dive spots. With (new) "dive centers" opening and everyone trying to get a bite of the pie, it is getting more difficult for divers to figure out who's good and who's not. I have been on 4 diving trips with 3 dive centers because the programme they ran. On the galapagos unfortunately not all the centers are perfect - the Silberstein Dive Center however manages to continuously show a good safety record and usually attract nice staff (so I' m told when I was shopping around in the 3 weeks on the Galapagos). I did have some issues with an other Dive Center where I also sent a complaint to PADI... Which I never heard of by the way.

I liked the staff here a lot - especially the German ownership was a nice relief after having spoken a lot of spanish for a couple of weeks.

In short - if you look for a good and affordable stay in a superb environment where the staff does everything possible to make your stay excellent, try Silberstein!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsa_versteeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    105
    48
    19
    23
See reviews for
61
162
46
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

There is only one thing which I can credit this hotel with: it is one of very few places in Puerto Ayora that can be easily booked on-line. Otherwise this is a nightmare.

To start with, they lost my reservation. When I showed them a receipt, they refused to honor the price on it and charged me extra $50 per night. There was no hot water. Every time I complained, they would send a maintenance man over, he would do something and the hot water would start flowing for about 45 seconds to a minute. Another very peculiar aspect of that hotel was their understanding of do-not-disturb sign. If the sign is there, they honor it. If not, they seem to believe they have a license to enter without knocking the door first. Needless to say how annoying it was.

Also, their claim of a great location is technically correct, but somewhat deceptive. Puerto Ayora is so tiny, that any location would be great.

The bottom-line is: if you can, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NamtugE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Hotel Silberstein is a lovely slice of luxury set in the most incredible Island setting you could imagine. Spacious rooms, wonderfully attentive staff (who I heard speak at least 5 languages), and as much delicious food as any sensible human being could wish for. And for a back-drop the incredible islands of the Galapagos which are like an enormous zoo - minus the fences.
Chris and Tammy Lowe, UK

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
artbcpa
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

While I was not expecting American style luxury, there are some things in this era that when missing, are quite surprising. One of those is hot water for the shower. My daughter and I met up with a group of British tourists who had just spent a week in the Amazon. They wondered how their small side vessel in the middle of the Amazon could manage to have plenty of hot water for their showers, but the Hotel Silberstein could not. If missing a hot shower does not deter you, the hotel is a small, cute, local establishment with good food and helpful staff. Note that some of their rooms are far superior to others. For the last day of our trip we were moved to a smaller room as they needed the larger room for another party arriving that day. Although I do not see how displacing a travel agent to a less attractive room is a wise marketing decision, it did give me an opportunity to view another room and write this review. This room had no electrical outlet in the bathroom and no mirrors outside of the bathroom - not a good decision on their part. It was much, much smaller and a room I definitely would not have accepted for any more than one night.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artbcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Silberstein for three nights while on an Overseas Adventure Travel OAT trip to the Galapagos. The hotel is an older property but is fairly well maintained. Nice pool; very slow Net. Good restaurant and bar. Excellent pool. Rooms are comfortable, clean and with a few upgrades. We had a problem with our air conditioning system and was moved immediately to the adjacent room and all was then very "cool" indeed. Excellent and very caring staff. They are very close to downtown Puerto Ayora and the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank photoguy66degrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The Good:
The hotel has a nice white exterior and the property was an old residence converted into a hotel. The chef in the restaurant is very good; and I highly recommend the fish in a bag, or the grilled fish. The location is very close to town, and very near the Darwin Center.

The Bad:
You are charged for personal drinking water.

The Ugly:
Our double room (#5) was dated by at least 30+ years and we had to change hotels due to the smell of open sewer. The room is so cramped, you have to open your suit case on your bed; and the bathroom is so tight, you have to use a stick to flush the toilet since it's so close to the shower. And the sink water is not safe enough to brush your teeth, so they provide a toothbrush grade water (which is not safe for drinking either). The hotel does have slightly nicer rooms, and it seems like rooms #5 and #6 are the worst of the property (we hope).

We booked our trip through INTI travel, and we were refunded after contacting them upon our return. I recommend you ask in advance which room you are getting, and come with very low expectations compared to the price paid.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — The room. And "like least" is an understatement.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank paletexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villach, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Silberstein for 4 nights in May 2008. Service was very professional and very friendly. Room Blue Footed [-] (next to the pool downstairs) was clean and had comfortable beds. Nice inner courtyard and perfect shadow place with plants for the "outside" (covered) restaurant. For us not liking aircon the breakfast room was a little too cold but the food was great overall!

  • Liked — service food accommodation location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiedrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Mangrove
Red Mangrove
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
659 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
311 reviews
0.5 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cucuve Suites
Hotel Cucuve Suites
#4 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silberstein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silberstein

Property: Hotel Silberstein
Address: Av. Charles Darwin | and Seymour, 5 minutes from Charles Darwin Research Station, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Ayora
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Silberstein 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1993 Silberstein family bought the former Residencial Angermeyer, it was known to be the No.1 destination for information about the Islands. It was rebuilt and today it is the Hotel Silberstein, a hotel with all amenities to fulfill the expectations and beyond of our guests from all over the world. Our 22 comfortable rooms are all equipped with individual air condition and have a private bathroom with shower and permanent hot water, heated environmentally friendly by the sun. Our Restaurant offers international food and local specialties prepared by our professional team. For a complete vacation we offer any kind of tours, such as Diving and Daily Tours, as well as airport transfers and in between the different islands. Contact us for more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silberstein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galextur Hotel Puerto Ayora
Hotel Silberstein Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing