We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Silberstein
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pelican Bay(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Solymar(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fernandina(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mainao(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cucuve Suites(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Gardner(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Red Booby(Puerto Ayora)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
172
128
53
23
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
128
53
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdarwin centergalapagos islandsnice poolcourtyard areacomfortable roomfish marketlovely hotelrestaurants and barsswimming poolwithin easy walking distancein townthe charles darwin researchspent nightsconvenient locationtour companysanta cruzthe main street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 402 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2011

There are very few good places to stay at in Puerto Ayora. This is average, but expensive for what you get. No real amenities, pool small and not nice, and that's it! On the other hand, it's OK if you need just a place to spend the night in between day tours to the islands.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EstebanArcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stumbled upon the restaurant of this hotel and had our meal there that night. It was just what we needed and the manager, Jan was very accomodating and attentive. Food and wine really great. We got a tour of the hotel exterior thereafter and it was such a lovely setting in a beautiful little town of Puerto Ayora - the nucest village we have ever visited on our travels. Ann Marie, Ireland

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AntiVenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in this hotel from 24th to 27th of July for a part of our honeymoon. The hotel is externally quite good but is not so comfortable, the room are small without TV and the staff is negligent and not so kind. The only positive note is the food.
Moreover we founded a serious lack of cleanliness and we founded a towel dirty of fresh blood, not an old bloodstain, but fresh blood and this means that the towel was not washed... When we asked for explanation we received no excuses from the staff but only a new towel more dirty than the first one.
At the end I cannot recommend this hotel because it is inadequate for the asked prices.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peppea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Despite the decent reviews on this hotel chain, we were disappointed. The rooms were clammy and humid; the pool was scummy; the food was incredibly dull (and included items like powdered eggs and MSG laden broth) and we got sick from it; the town of Puerto Arroyo is a tourist trap with no charm; and the staff were simply lackluster and unconcerned. We saw no evidence of any owners who cared about the place. I will give good marks to the boat and guide services - those were quite good, the guides knew what they were doing, and we saw terrific wildlife.

Room Tip: Stay on a good boat instead.
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0nica_M3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSilber, Manager at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Dear M0nica_M3,

Thank you for your posting on our property.


We appreciate every comment our guests leave us in our guestbook, personally, or on tripadvisor.com. This gives us the possibility to prove that we are doing well (12 excelent, 14 very good reviews (70% of all reviews) and also it is a great way to help us to improve our services, if something went wrong, or if anything needs to be changed, for the well being of our guests.

Here are my comments on your review.

1. We are sorry that you arrived into Puerto Ayora during the rainy season, and that you didn't like the atmosphere. Considering the town a "tourist trap" is something unrelated to our hotel, and I can confirm that many guests consider it a very charming place with nice restaurants and waterfronts. Visitors consider it enjoyable viewing Pelicans and Fregats flying above, while catching a glimpse of marine iguanas relaxing on the town sidewalks.

2. As for your comment about our hotel food: We definitely do not use the ingredients mentioned in your review. We wouldn't even know how or where to get those ingredients. We've only heard about them, we've NEVER considered using them in our food. Everything we serve is of only the most freshest ingredients available. WE CARE ABOUT OUR CLIENTS' HEALTH AS WELL AS OURS. The information you stated is simply NOT true, in fact, it is quite an offensive accusation.

3. As we mentioned, the Galapagos has their rainy season in the months of March and April. This means that the ambient is not dry, but it also does not mean that our rooms are clammy and humid. We clean the pool twice a day, but sometimes due to weather conditions, the rain might flush leaves or petals into the water from our flower garden. We apologize sincerely for any inconvenience this might have caused you.

Our staff is at all times the most concerned with the happiness of all our guests. The receptionist who was in charge during your stay confirmed your visit, and also remembered you. He also confirmed having taken good care of all your special needs in the best manner possible.

I am happy to confirm that the statements made in this review were NOT correct, and that if there are questions or concerns, I can be contacted directly.

Kind regards,
Jan Silberstein

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

we moved here after 2 nights at a very nearby excellent b&b which couldn't reserve our room for all 3 nights. hotel silberstein has decent reviews but had to haggle w/ them thru expedia as when i booked payment was supposed to be when we stayed & the hotel wanted it deposited directly into their "foreign" account or wouldn't accept the reservation-- that was hassle #1 to be resolved. place looks nice from outside. upon entering pool looked dingey...got checked in, paid w/ card. went to room.....the smallest room i've been in outside of paris & not at all charming. bathroom had approx. 12 tiles measuring 12 inches by 12 inches to give you a sense of teeneyness. this for $200 a night....staff were very nice. breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSilber, Manager at Hotel Silberstein, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2011

Dear Lauren 728,

thank you for your review and your comments.

First of all, I am sorry that you did not find what you expected. In fact, the pool area will be rebuild, but I will upload on our homepage (and if possible also here on tripadvisor) a 360 degrees tour through the Hotel with pictures taken in December 2010 without manipulation. So it is shown that it is not "dingey" as described. We always procure to have our installations accurate and charming at all times!

If the stay is booked through Expedia the normal procedure that offers Expedia is the direct payment at the hotel or we also offer the option of a pre-payment to our bank account in Miami for more commodity. Reservations through Expedia are generally accepted, as it is secured through credit card.

It is difficult to compare rooms in Paris with our rooms. I could not imagine which room you stayed in, because so far this has not been an issue as you can see from other comments.

I will forward your positive comment to our staff and the breakfast to our kitchen.

Kind regards from Ecuador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews