We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice experience”

Charles Darwin Research Station
Book In Advance
More Info
$550.00*
and up
Galapagos Top Excursions Pass
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Headed by a team of more than two hundred scientists, educators, research volunteers and support staff, this world-wide foundation is dedicated to preserving the Galapagos ecosystems.
NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We did expect more from the research station. The educational information is quite limited. What you get is to see large turtles. They are really intersting to watch. It's certainly a good trip if you are staying in town. Its an easy walk from the center of town. Worth spending a couple of hours. There is also a beach near by, so stop by and take a look. The views are beautiful

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GJaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    684
    602
    179
    50
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broome, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good way to spend an hour or so...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

They are doing a great thing here to increase The Giant Tortoise population, we went by ourselves, the sign posts have a lot of information, we were there at the same time as some groups from a cruise ship so we did have a cheeky listen to their guide... He was more or less saying exactly what was on the sign posts anyway...
If your hanging around PA it is worth a visit, but there are much better opportunities to see wild animals... diving, snorkelling, boat tours etc.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Levilouicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“I thought it was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I loved it. I thought the area was clean and they had a lot of turtles of all sizes and awesome land iguanas. It is small but for a free place, thought it was great. I spent a good amount of money on thirst but glad that it went to the support and care of those great turtles. God, I wanted to take one home, he would have looked so cool in my yard!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolfgang1Richmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recommend you to go there, to start knowing about de care for nature they have, i also took very nice shoots of too turtles triyng to make it (if you know what i mean) it was hilarious and also interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We did this on part of a boat tour. It was interesting to learn about the history and origin of the island and inhabiting species. The animals were great but of course didn't compare to what we saw in the wild on our tour. Worth a visit if you're hanging around puerto ayora.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Darwin Research Station also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Charles Darwin Research Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing