We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Galapagos Best Hostel
Ranked #8 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

This place is a model of customer service. They show you around and are a treasure trove of information. If you want a dorm bed or like to cook, look no further. It isn't the cheapest place in town, but it is pretty close and offers much more than most other budget accommodation in Puerto ayora.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 374 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

Kevin does a great job of making this space as hospitable as possible. Each room, including the 4-bed dorms are kitted with a kitchenette, mini-fridge and full-sized lockers. The bathroom has one of the biggest shower spaces I've seen in South America.

The moment you get there, from seeing your name on the door to taking Kevin's tour through town, you feel right at home. The house is located a bit further from the town center, but the tranquility and space make the commute worthwhile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed @ Galapagos Best Home Stay for three days, and had luggage stowed there for four when I was at a boat trip. Room had one or two other people traveling. If you are constantly out and about, this place takes care of basic necessities adequately and is super clean. The luggage was safe, and had another bed ready for me when I got back. On the way out of the island, realized that I left my computer charger in the room. It is pretty much irreplaceable on the islands and had time sensitive work that needed the laptop for the trip. Kevin, the owner, found it and figured out a way to send by boat to where I was and drop off a block away, one day later. Not only does he give a much needed tour of Santa Cruz upon arrival in a no-nonsense kind of way, which was super helpful, Kevin will go the extra mile to make sure you're good to go. Ask him how he got there - his story's pretty inspirational as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayfarers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I was recently in the Galapagos (Puerto Ayora) and had the pleasure of staying at the Best Stay. They have great management (kevin) who if you aren't familiar with Puerto Ayora will give you a short tour which is very helpful. They have the internet, air conditioned rooms, a kitchen,clean water etc. and most importantly a little beer refrigerator. I enjoyed my stay there and the price was fantastic. This is a great spot to stay, quiet and nice, I highly recommend it.

Dan- From Denver Colorado

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagoldbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Best host in all of the Galapagos! It's refreshing to receive one-on-one guidance & advice Kevin is willing to share with his guests. Not only did he give us an idea of the best times to be at the best places, but he helped match our interests with other people in the hostel so everyone could save on fares and tours. We appreciated Kevin going the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. The location off the beaten path was fine for our short stay - taxi into town is $1 - and gave us insight into a local neighborhood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Galapagos Best Home Stay for only one night. The room was big with a kitchenette and filtered water. The room didn't have much character and was a bit dark, but it was clean and the shower had nice hot water. Also, Kevin, the owner of the hotel is extremely helpful. He directed us to great places to visit in Puerto Ayora, called us cabs, and was generally a very nice person. One drawback is that it is a fairly long walk from the center of town, but cabs are cheap so it's no big deal.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kttraveller0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Kevin is a fantastic host. The rooms at the homestay are very well maintained and cleaned on a daily basis. Drinking water, microwave and a fridge is available in each room. All the information that we required was provided by Kevin when we made the booking starting from the transportation know hows to be able to get to the homestay to what to expect in Galapagos. Upon arrival, we were taken on a local tour and were given significant information about the local restaurants, supermarket, laundry and other essential information for our stay.We had an amazing time in Galapagos and our stay at Galapagos Best Homestay made it delightful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramya235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.0 mi away
Hotel Crossman
Hotel Crossman
#21 of 25 in Santa Cruz
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#7 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#15 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#8 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
Coloma Galapagos Hostal
#3 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava House Hostal
Lava House Hostal
#6 of 57 in Puerto Ayora
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Best Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Best Hostel

Address: Barrio Escalesia, Calle Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $38 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galapagos Best Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL OF OUR ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU WILL BE GLAD THAT WE DO! The Galapagos Best Hostel is located in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island Galapagos. Which is one of the main hubs to explore the Galapagos. We are proud to offer affordable prices unmatched by other hotels in the Galapagos Islands. With all new Modern accommodations that have Kitchenettes You will wake up refreshed and ready to go out and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Galapagos Best Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Best Hostel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing