We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Value in the Galapagos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galapagos Best Hostel
Ranked #8 of 55 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were delighted to find Gal. Best Home Stay. It was clean, a comfortable bed, a place to put your suitcase and belongings, water jug (you cannot drink faucet water on the island). Kevin and his wife have fixed up the rooms to meet American standards. It has a little kitchenette, microwave as well as air conditioning. It is not on the main strip, but very easy to get a taxi for $1 and taxi's are abundant. Kevin is the best. Kevin provides a guided tour to orient you to the area. He cares about his customers and is available for any needed assistance. We stayed in the corner room on the top floor and were very happy with our accomodations. There is a little sitting area on the top floor to eat breakfast or read. If you are looking for a good value this is the place.

Room Tip: Good value!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 15Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for Galapagos Best Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 373 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Kevin is absolutely one of the nicest homeowner I've ever met in the 53 country I've visited so far in my life. Best tip if you go to the islands! Relly clean rooms, free drinking water and coffee, free guiding in town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakuza68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Spacious, clean, friendly, helpful and easy. Kevin is a great host and extremely helpful. Nice large and clean rooms. Comparatively quite cheap, especially for the quality. Highly recommended. Enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Galapagos Best Home Stay was not only very affordable (most accommodation in the islands can be quite expensive) but very clean and comfortable. It felt more like a guest house than a hostel. The room was nice, and the air conditioning very much appreciated.

The owner, Kevin, is very friendly and even offers a tour of the town upon arrival. It was a great way to find out about some of the attractions in Puerto Ayora.

Although located about 15 minutes from the centre of town, it's either an easy walk or a $1 taxi ride - negating the issue of distance. The town is also very safe, day or night.

In short, Galapagos Best Home Stay is one of the best places to explore the Galapagos Islands from on a budget.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mork87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was my first stay in a hostel. I must say, I was very impressed in many regards. For the price, you will not find a better deal on the island!! I paid $25.00 a night for a private room with private bathroom. I can honestly say this was way better than some of the hotels Ive stayed in for hundreds of dollars a night. Kevin the owner is such a great guy who really takes care of his guests. He gives you a tour of town, helps you with taxis, and even went down the street to get me ice when I sprained my ankle. :) The room I had was excellent as well. I had a single room on the top floor with a full kitchen, refrigerator, air conditioning, and an unlimited supply of water. There is no issue getting a taxi here, and yes its a 15 min walk to town, but who really cares. If I ever make it back to the Galapagos again, I know where I'll be staying! Thanks KEVIN and keep up the good work! The only thing that drove me nuts on the last day was the rooster next door, but that has nothing to do with Kevin, and Im sure the neighbor probably ate it by now! hahaha

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was very satisfied with my room there. it was clean, good air condition, clean and good kitchen, always drinking water (as much as you want) included (There are other places that don't offer this service), clean bathroom. You got shops and laundry service very close to the hostel.
Kevin is a very helpfull and friendly person. He shows you the town and gives you some tips. And when he meets you in town on the way back home, you can jump on his quad.

There are also locker facilities so if you go on a more-days trip you don't have to carry arround all your luggage.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabarberRabarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A friendly welcome (with a free short tour of the local area and highlights of town), large clean rooms, good and quiet air conditioning units, fridge in room (and kitchenette too), the accommodation here is excellent value for Puerto Ayora. Also close to local shops and laundrette, and with taxis frequently passing by to take you to town for a dollar. Alternatively, to save the dollar and get some exercise, the route into town is an easy 15 minute stroll to the Darwin Centre, or about 20 minutes to the jetty.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethMuswellHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#7 of 47 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#16 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#15 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mi Caleta Inn
Mi Caleta Inn
#7 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#9 of 55 in Puerto Ayora
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Best Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Best Hostel

Address: Barrio Escalesia, Calle Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $38 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Galapagos Best Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL OF OUR ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU WILL BE GLAD THAT WE DO! The Galapagos Best Hostel is located in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island Galapagos. Which is one of the main hubs to explore the Galapagos. We are proud to offer affordable prices unmatched by other hotels in the Galapagos Islands. With all new Modern accommodations that have Kitchenettes You will wake up refreshed and ready to go out and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Galapagos Best Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Best Hostel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing