We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great service, best ever host!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galapagos Best Hostel
Ranked #7 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great service, best ever host!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for nine nights in January 2013. We stayed in a four-bed dorm for one night and a private double room for eight nights.

Pros:
- The hostel is very clean. Both our dorm and private rooms were furnished with clean white bedding and soft towels.
- Both rooms were equipped with a useful kitchenette including pots & pans, cutlery and crockery.
- Fresh drinking water and unlimited wifi are included in the room rate.
- The price is very good value for the Galapagos Islands.
- Kevin, the host, was fantastic, with very clear communications before our arrival, a useful tour of the town covering restaurants, supermarkets, ATMs, post office, places of interest, laundry, diving... pretty much everything! He even helped another group of guests to hold a barbecue in the garden of the hostel.
- The hostel is well-located, just a ten-minute walk from the main street in Puerto Ayora.

Cons:
- I can't think of any. We had a fantastic stay.

Puerto Ayora tips:
- ATMs are temperamental. You can bring cash, or as a last resort queue up in the bank.
- For diving, we had a great experience with Eagle Ray dive shop and their DM, Israel.
- Walk to Tortuga Bay early in the morning to see blue-footed boobies up close.
- Take a taxi to the highlands to see tortugas in a more natural setting than the Charles Darwin centre. Eat lots of delicious cheese empanadas while you are at the ranch.
- We had good food at cheap prices in the following restaurants (budget-concious recommendations in brackets): Il Giardino (crepes), Isla Grill (chicken burger), Fruits de Mer (ceviche), Cafe Hernan (burger), Galapagos Deli (best ice cream)

Galapagos tips:
Like us, you may have found cruises advertised at unaffordable prices on the internet. This is the main reason that we spent our entire stay on land. However, you will find plenty of availability at much cheaper prices if you book when you arrive in Puerto Ayora. On one of our dive trips, we met a girl who paid $1000 for an 8-night first class cruise including all meals and three days of diving. Kevin, the hostel owner, will recommend a trustworthy tour agent when you arrive.

Room Tip: We really liked our private double on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    106
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
113
150
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
global
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I randomly ended up in this hostel and I was very happy about it! The location is a bit away from the centre, but with 1 dollar you are there in 5 mins. Rooms are new, spacious, exremely clean and comfortable - additinally you have a small kitchen and fresh water prepared for you. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack87jack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adana
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

very good place to stay in santa cruz. The owner Kevin helps a lot, he and the staff are very friendly. you can walk to puerto ayora, takes 10 minutes or you can have a taxi cost only one dollar. so very affordable and good place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunseli c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

It is a clean nicely run hostel. Only some rooms have attached bathrooms and there is a shared kitchen where you can cook your own food. If you are looking for basic accommodation and especially if you are single, this might be the best deal in town for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenigiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latacunga, Ecuador
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The place is clean, supplied with water, a kitchenette and air condition. A bit of a walk from the center-center, but never bothered me. The owners are sweet and Kevin even gives you a free tour of the town.

I would stay here again.

Rachael

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaellange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

though its a bit out of the way best home stay is a great hostel and the facilities and owners were better than the $100/night hotel that i also stayed in. it costs a $1taxi to get from town to the hostel or 15-20 to walk it. owners are very friendly and helpful. facilities are clean and like new. beds comfortable. definitely a hidden gem. the owners also allow you store your stuff in a locker if you plan to leave for a few days (to another island for example) and come back.
if you stay in a dorm, the "kitchen" is in the dorm room which might be a bit of a drag for everyone else that has to smell your cooking. not exacly "self catering facilities" but if you get a private room the kitchen is great and theres a market around the corner.

Room Tip: dorm room up stairs might be better so you dont hear the noise on the street. the private rooms with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany/uk/usa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

As pretty much every other review mentions, Kevin's welcome tour of the town sets the tone for your stay. He's just very, very helpful and friendly.
The property/rooms are large and generously equipped with good kitchen facilities so you could cook for yourself no problem. There's even a BBQ in the garden Kevin would probably let you use if you asked nicely!
Only drawback is the location which is more or less on the edge of town, but the taxis are plentiful (we almost always got one within 2-5mins, and take you anywere in town for $1 [as at Dec 2012]), and it only takes 5mins from the port to the property, so you just need to budget a few taxi trips per day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekosimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#6 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
303 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 45 in Puerto Ayora
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#16 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#13 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#9 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lava House Hostal
Lava House Hostal
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Best Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Best Hostel

Property: Galapagos Best Hostel
Address: Barrio Escalesia, Calle Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Galapagos Best Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL OF OUR ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU WILL BE GLAD THAT WE DO! The Galapagos Best Hostel is located in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island Galapagos. Which is one of the main hubs to explore the Galapagos. We are proud to offer affordable prices unmatched by other hotels in the Galapagos Islands. With all new Modern accommodations that have Kitchenettes You will wake up refreshed and ready to go out and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Galapagos Best Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Best Hostel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing