We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional: Best place I stayed at in South America”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Galapagos Best Hostel
Ranked #7 of 54 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional: Best place I stayed at in South America”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was the nicest accommodation I had in South America out of ~15 hostels and budget hotels. It meets all my criteria for a very good or excellent hostel - comfortable bed, hot shower, free internet access. It is a fairly new hostel so everything is in good condition. It will probably take you 20 minutes to walk to the jetty or supermarket, 15 minutes to get to the restaurants in town - more or less depending on how quickly you walk - so the location is really good.

These are some of the things that I felt made it an exceptional hostel:
- Excellent instructions on how to get between the airport and the hostel.
- Included orientation tour of the town that shows you key locations and how to get back and forth. You also get a card to help you use the taxi services to get you home or to the centre of town so you will never get lost.
- Towels included and you can have them washed whenever (hotel quality service)
- Good kitchenette, with a fridge, included in each room (4 bed dorm)
- Unlimited drinking water available in each room (almost as good as drinkable tap-water)
- The toilet paper is real toilet paper and good, not your average public restroom kimberly-clark stuff
- Airconditioning - you may not need it, but sometimes you might and it is quiet and effective. New hostel = new system
- A nice view from the top floor
- Lockers with key provided (security is not an issue, but extra peace of mind doesn't hurt)

OK, the one downside is that the internet is pretty slow which is mainly due to the fact that you're the galapagos islands and shouldn't be on facebook anyway.

When I stayed here, the name of the place is what I got. I was in the Galapagos, it was the Best accommodation I experienced on this trip, it was also a family Home and I Stayed there. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    106
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
113
150
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012

If you need a quiet and very nice place to stay it's a goo option to stay. It's not directly in the center, but the 15 minutes walk to town ist a good occasion to walk through the village and see unknown places and friendly natives. If you don't like to walk you can take a taxi (1 $).
The room is modern and very clean, has the right size. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm and there was enough place for all 4 girls. The kitchen was very practical and helps save money by not going to eat in the relativ expensive restaurants in town.
What made me feel home and feeling well was the helpfulness and hospitality of Kevin and his wife. You get a lot of help and useful information about what and how to do on the island(s).
You don't have to worry about nothing in this place so you really can relax.
Maybe it's a little bit expensive but the price is fair and worthy for what it is!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here for three nights and found it to be clean, spacious, safe and friendly. The facilities in the private room I stayed in included a private kitchen area with a fridge, an ensuite bathroom and unlimited drinking water, as well as the use of a computer with internet, wi fi and an orientation tour of the town. It is a short walk from the centre of the town which means that traffic is quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLNixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We spent almost 2 weeks at this nice family-run Homestay and we would return any time.
The Place is really clean and the owners know a lot about the Galapagos and (free) stuff to do there.
The bathroom in the dorm gets cleaned every day and you can use the Wifi and the kitchen. The Tea is free and its within walking distance of the darwin research center. (a taxi ride around town costs only 1 dollar in nay way).
The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franziska H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed in the 4 bed ground level dorm. Superb bathroom, high quality mattress and nicely clean room. Really best value for money. Kevin, the owner is a very helpful source of reliable information on almost any kind of activity. Location is a little out of town but transport by taxi is just one dollar. Only drawback during my visit were the local neighbours with a slum-dog behaviour starting a party at 4 am. Nevertheless the area is save. So think of earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WolfgangSUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Right off the bat, we knew this would be an excellent stay the way Kevin communicated information on how to get there before we even arrived on the island. When we arrived, checking in and getting everything settled was super easy. Kevin took us on a tour of the city after showing is the clean and spacious room with a private bath, hot water 24/7, jug of fresh water, and mini kitchen. We slept comfortably and cooked food. The ambiance is perfect: laid back just like the islands. The Best Home Stay was easy to get to, taxis were pretty regular and the town was not far to walk to; it is good exercise in a lovely place!!! There is a small store for fresh vegetables, fruit, bread and other amenities within 3 minutes walking distance as well as a pharmacy for all your Caladryl/ sunscreen/sunburn needs. We recommend the Galapagos Best Home Stay without any reservation to anyone that is looking to travel to the islands.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I totally loved my stay with Kevin (who speaks english) and his family! It is a little bit like coming home. Their welcome is very warm. He is a great guy who takes care of his guests. You can ask him any question, he will do his best to help you.
He shows everybody around in town and tells you which are the best places to go to…. And it are the best places!!! Everyone agrees.
He tells you about all the organized trips and where you can go by yourself on the island. It is an easy way to know where you should or shouldn’t spend your money.

The rooms are spotless! And in every room there are good facilities to cook and a fridge. Again, it is spotless, so no awkward smells in the room. There is free bottled water, tea and coffee in your room. Airco and wifi.

I can highly recommend this place. I wouldn't put any effort in looking for something else!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katrienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#5 of 20 in Puerto Ayora
304 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 45 in Puerto Ayora
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
Germania Casa de Hospedaje
#15 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Espana
Hotel Espana
#13 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#9 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
48 reviews
0.5 mi away
Galapagos Dreams Hostal
Galapagos Dreams Hostal
#11 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galapagos Best Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galapagos Best Hostel

Property: Galapagos Best Hostel
Address: Barrio Escalesia, Calle Piqueros, Puerto Ayora, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Galapagos Best Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL OF OUR ROOMS HAVE AIR CONDITIONING AND YOU WILL BE GLAD THAT WE DO! The Galapagos Best Hostel is located in Puerto Ayora on Santa Cruz Island Galapagos. Which is one of the main hubs to explore the Galapagos. We are proud to offer affordable prices unmatched by other hotels in the Galapagos Islands. With all new Modern accommodations that have Kitchenettes You will wake up refreshed and ready to go out and explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Galapagos Best Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galapagos Best Hostel Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing