We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Castillo Galapagos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Castillo Galapagos
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Staying in the El Castillo was absolutely brilliant. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the town which is quite nice and relaxing after eating your dinner. Our room was the top tower which was great - the view is outstanding! The room is very clean and it is huge. It doesn't have an air-con but there was a huge fan so it was fine. The decor is very unique but it adds to the place for sure! The staff are amazing and so helpful. Alejandro was awesome! He is a great host & really helps when your looking to book a trip. It is a very friendly atmosphere and you really feel at home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else! A great stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katieanderson19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bando182
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told that they had given our room away. It was no longer available. And the hotel was sold out. Apparently someone else wanted to stay later than initially planned so they got "first dibs" on the room, leaving my girlfriend and I without a place to stay. I was very upset, obviously, and asked for some sort of solution. They told me that I could stay at another place across town for the same price. His friend was a manager there. Okay. I told him I wanted to look up this place on the internet first, to see if it was decently reviewed. But of course their internet wasn't working. So we took a cab across town to his friend's hotel. It's called Galapagos Dreams. It was a nice looking place, but it was full. No vacancy. Not sure why this couldn't have been figured out via telephone. Unless of course, this was some kind of scam? Anyway, his friend tries to hook us up at this other place down the street -- a low-end condo (not a hotel). It was maybe a 1.5 star place, with no facade and no people working on the premises. We were looking for something a little more 'vacation-friendly' and I was pretty much furious at this point. Ultimately we found our own place, nearby, for less money and better service. I can't find the name of it anywhere, unfortunately, but it's at the corner of Charles Darwin and Calle #61.

That's the short version of the story. But needless to say, I would not recommend you book with this hotel. It was a huge source of frustration with no accountability.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bando182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

What a fun and unique hotel. It's about a 20 minute walk from the port so we took a taxi to get around. We were fortunate The owners spoke English and were very helpful with our taxi. There were no TVs in the room so they let us use the one in the lobby to watch DVD. I wish we had more time there and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comesta2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booked this place for our arrival on the Galápagos Islands. It's a beautiful castle made from lava stones.
Our room was large, had 2 little balconies - I felt like Shakespeare's Juliet!
We had a leak in our roof on the first night unfortunately - if we could've been bothered to tell her, she would have moved us to another room but we didn't actually say anything until the next day so we can't really complain!
The owner was a wonderful host and makes the most fabulous fruit juices!
It was a little further out of town than most of the places but in a little town like Puerto Ayora that doesn't matter too much.
If you just want a cheap clean room you'll probably find somewhere cheaper in town. But if you want somewhere with a lot of character then this place is perfect! I spent my birthday in PA and it was wonderful going back to "our castle" at the end of the night!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We only had one full day and two half days to spend in the Galapagos. When we checked in, Alejandro asked what we were interested in doing, and he recommended several options to make our short stay as productive as possible. He then phoned the taxis, and tour operators, and set up our tours, and also collected the money if necessary. The tours were exactly as he described, and we got more in than if we had tried to do it on our own. He also has several bikes that are available on a first come - first served basis for free.

He would have the breakfast ready by the time we were ready to get up and go, all we had to do was ask the night before. The house is very unique and consist of several rooms, we got one with a private bath that could sleep 4 or 5 people. There were no bug issues in our room, there was a gentle breeze blowing all night and everyone slept well. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The WiFi worked pretty well, and there was a TV in the common area, as well as a desktop computer available for use by the guests. All the bathroom fixtures worked well. There are some construction features that will seem odd if you have only stayed in US hotels, but it is just the way things are done in Ecuador. Every room I saw was clean, and the service was great.

It is a few blocks to thre main drag, but is actually closer to the entrance to Tortuga Bay than many of the other hotels. Also, the bikes are usually available anyway.

Be aware that there is a mandatory service charge and tax that will be added to the total price, part of which had to be paid in cash, but this is true of most of the hotels on the islands. The tax is 12% and the service charge is 10%.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Village, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

When we arrived, they had no record of our reservation. But they did have rooms available so we stayed there. Originally intended to stay 2 nights, but after the first night we looked elsewhere. The rooms had not yet been cleaned, presumably because they didn't expect us (we booked 3 rooms). Only one room had A/C and there was no water for a shower in the morning in one of our rooms (I don't mean there wasn't any hot water - I mean zero water came out of the shower or the sink). I'm no stranger to hostels and don't need the nicest place, and this place is definitely...unique, but I expect more at this price point. For $30 more per room we stayed at a FAR superior hotel on the waterfront our second night. Spend the extra money and get a good night's sleep. You'll also enjoy being walking distance to the waterfront where almost all of the restaurants and activities are located.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dillon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hostel is in a quiet, residential part of town, about 10 minutes walk from the centre of town. It is a lovely castle, with many unique and redeeming features. It is also worth mentioning that it's next to a mangrove, so the area is humid and full of bugs...

We had a great large room at the top of the building, with a balcony and upstairs room, so suitable for a family. However, the room had no air conditioning. The real downside to the room was it was infested with bugs during the night. We opened the windows (which had netting for the bugs) at night, due to the humidity, but unfortunately we realised during the night the netting hadn't worked. We woke up to hundreds of bugs in the room, in the bedroom and bathroom the walls were covered. We were both bitten during the night, and had severe swelling for the next few days. We had no sleep after finding hundreds of bugs of course!

It was a shame as the hotel and staff were really great. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Perhaps we were just unlucky. If they have fixed the netting in this room, then I would recommend staying here. Otherwise it is a nightmare if you want to get some sleep...

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FranglaisNomadique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#6 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#6 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Galapagos Native
Galapagos Native
#7 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
North Seymour
North Seymour
#13 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Morning Glory Lodge
Morning Glory Lodge
#1 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.3 mi away
White House Galapagos
White House Galapagos
#8 of 54 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Galapagos

Property: El Castillo Galapagos
Address: Barrio Pampas Coloradas, Calle Isabela, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Castillo Galapagos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely place, built in volcanic stone, local travel agent and everything you'll need to guarantee satisfaction on your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your El Castillo Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing