We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to stay on Santa Cruz” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Castillo Galapagos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castillo Galapagos
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Fun place to stay on Santa Cruz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here four nights in total with great host, Alejandro.

The Good:
Rooms - we stayed in the front tower and the back tower and was fun. Themed right down to window shutters and lights. Big beds and plenty of space. Fridges available in all rooms. Hot water and table or sofas and a hammock in rooms too :) no ac but very airy rooms with good ventilation.
Staff - Alejandro will do pretty much anything to make stay comfortable and easy. Is knowledgeable of the area.
Value - puerto ayoro isn't a cheap place. We had no accommodation booked and ended up walking around for about an hour looking for places to stay and were either ridiculously priced or had screaming kids and a disco on the ground floor. The castle is in a generally quiet area and if off-season or plenty of availability Alejandro may organize a deal with you.
Gardens - gorgeous. Swing in a hammock or walk around.

The Bad:
One night out of the four we had a disco down the road an was on a Monday night as well?!? Not much Alejandro can do about that though. Put earplugs in and went back to sleep.

The Ugly:
Nothing ugly about staying in a castle!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    11
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
9
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We walked around Puerto Ayora looking for accommodation for a few nights. Until we stumbled across this place, the others we had encountered were either too pricey, unwelcoming or just a little too shabby. We loved El Castillo! The rooms were clean, spacious and the fan was more than adequate to cool the room. It's a 15 minute walk to the port, 10 minutes from the kiosk street, and 5 minutes from a small supermarket/s. And taxis are just $1 and frequent if you'd prefer. Alejandro was very accommodating sorting out the rooms we wanted, leaving luggage as well as with local information too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

A little way out of the centre of Puerto Ayora, but still that's only a ten minute walk from the water front, and you get to see a little life on the way there apart from travel agents and souvenir shop.

The building is a castle-like structure built of lava and we had a very large room with a little turret and hammock too. Clean and comfortable, the shower was a little slow to warm up but that wasn't a problem as it was hardly Arctic conditions outside.

The hosts were very pleasant and helpful and a generous breakfast was provided that kept us going for the whole day.

The only criticsim is that credit cards weren't accepted. This would have been useful so we could keep hold of our cash as we were having problems withdrawing money from ATMs. Otherwise very nice and we really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_boy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The thought of staying in a castle sounds appealing but it needs a LOT of work. Rooms seemed unclean even if they were just cleaned. The shower was tough to get warm. Overall everything just looked really run down. The upside was the owners/staff were very hospitable. For some reason there seemed to be frequent domestic fights/arguements happening while we stayed there which gave a nasty vibe as well as made it hard to sleep. Like other people commented on the price is much higher once you add in the tax. That was a nice surprise on the last day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We booked El Castillo well in advance in fear of not being able to find available places in Santa Cruz. After we arrived there we realized that given the fact that it was the "off season", we could have booked a much nicer place for less than what we paid. To make it worse, we didn't realize that the 22% taxes weren't included in the already expensive price we were given - and to top it off, they only take cash! El Castillo is an interesting concept for a hotel - staying in a castle is appealing, but unfortunately the place needs a lot of help to make it worth it. The room we stayed in was extremely large, but awkwardly decorated and poorly lit. Not sure what it was, but we believe the ceiling was deteriorating, as when we would come back from the day, our items would have little pebbles all over them (I can only imagine what fell on us as we slept). The water was warm at best and very low pressure. The location is a 10 minute walk to the pier but with cabs only being $1, it wasn't too bad. Potentially in high season or if the price was a 10th of what it was, it would be okay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked the Hostel 3 Months in advance due to High Season on Galapagos. The Reservation was confirmed. When we arrived, they told us, they have given our room away one day before!!!
Don't book it, if you don't want to get disappointed.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Probably the most memorable room we have ever stayed in...our daughter in the tower above us. Really lovely. The owners were very friendly and breakfast was good...trays are available for a DIY breakfast in bed!
Booked through Booking.com, but realised when we arrived that we were paying maybe double the going rate so we moved after a couple of days to something much cheaper.
Note: the hotel is a 10 minute walk from Peurto Ayora centre.
Suggest that you try to book direct with the hotel to see if you can get a better deal than offered on Booking.com though.
BTW, a tip for those on a budget...maybe only 50% of the mid-range hotels in Puerto Ayora are on Trip Advisor and when we were there (July) all the TA hotels were full, and they were all more expensive than the non TA hotels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
Hotel Brisas Del Pacifico
#7 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 48 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Fortaleza de Haro
La Fortaleza de Haro
#2 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
Hostal Gardner Galapagos
#24 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Viajeros en Galapagos
#34 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
3.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
0.9 mi away
Galapagos Best Hostel
Galapagos Best Hostel
#3 of 53 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostal Estrella de Mar
Hostal Estrella de Mar
#22 of 44 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castillo Galapagos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castillo Galapagos

Property: El Castillo Galapagos
Address: Barrio Pampas Coloradas, Calle Isabela, Puerto Ayora EC200350, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Castillo Galapagos 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely place, built in volcanic stone, local travel agent and everything you'll need to guarantee satisfaction on your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your El Castillo Galapagos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castillo Galapagos Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing