We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an adventure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Grietas

Las Grietas
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Santa Cruz Island Tour Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What an adventure!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

This is a must day trip but wear sturdy shoes and pack a small backpack. I don't suggest this for kids under 8. It's worth the price of the tour. Also, don't waste the extra $5 each on the glass bottom boat. You get a peak for 5 minutes through windows 4 little, skinny windows. My daughter refers to it as the "peek a boo tour".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    922
    481
    205
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
297 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

I saw some photos of it and I went directly to this place but Unfortunaltly there no control in that area for people who take some food with them and the last time I saw a couple eatting some Tuna Sanduches and it seemed like the rats that were around that eare just smelled it and was like walking on a rats house, Galapagos has to do something about it in these touristic spots to avoid consuming food while visiting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
313 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Refreshing activity if you have a spare half-day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took a water taxi from the main dock across the bay. Tell the taxi driver you're going to Las Grietas and they'll drop you off in front of a hotel where the clearly-marked trail begins. The walk is about 30 minutes and most of it is in open sunlight, so be prepared for that. We snorkeled for a while just enjoying the cool water and amazing clarity. There is not much to see except for a few fish at the bottom, but it's enjoyable nonetheless and worth it to bring the snorkels.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank daisy21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit of a walk to reach them!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We visited las grietas from Peurto Ayora by taking a water taxi from the dock for 60 cents. You just wait there and they come over it is very easy. The water taxi took us to just in front of the Finch Bay hotel where there is a nice beach for swimming. If you continue to walk along the beach and then follow a trail for 20-30 minutes you reach Las Grietas. We had to climb down over rocks to reach the water but it was very clear and refreshing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
“A Good Half-Day Activity Near Puerto Ayora”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

"Las Grietas" meaning "crevices" or "cracks" in english, is a visitor site near Puerto Ayora where one can swim in cool water pools between two tall cliffs. The interesting thing about Las Grietas is that the water found here is not saltwater, as it has been filtered by the rocks in its long journey from the edge of the ocean. A visit to Las Grietas is recommended for anyone that has a half-day to spare when staying in Puerto Ayora.

To get to Las Grietas from Puerto Ayora, we needed to cross Academy Bay on a water taxi to the western edge of the bay where the trails that takes you to Las Grietas begins. From the start of the trail we had to follow the signs to the Finch Bay hotel. Past the hotel we continued for another 20 minutes on a trail that starts off sandy and rocky, and winds up crossing over a jagged lava field, through a cactus forest, and up a sandy path once again to the top of Las Grietas. I recommend wearing closed toes shoes or running shoes is as the lava is often sharp and hot from the sun!

Once we arrived to Las Grietas, we found some wooden narrow steps that lead down to a pile of large boulders. From here, we climbed carefully into the water. Locals often come here to jump from various levels of the cliff, but this isn’t recommended, as the area where you need to land your jump is quite narrow. Use caution and always check how and where others are jumping from before you take a flying leap!

On the right hand side of Las Grietas, about 6 feet from the bottom of the pool floor, there is a small swim-through tunnel that is about 6 feet long. With one long breath you can make it through quite easily to the other side, and it makes for some adventurous photos. One area you must not miss!

Be sure to leave Las Grietas well before sunset, as the trail is not lit and the path is even less well-defined at night. Once again, I recommend a visit to Las Grietas for anyone that has a half-day to spare when staying in Puerto Ayora.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank PSchicke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Grietas also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Las Grietas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing