We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful view!”
Review of Las Grietas

Las Grietas
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Santa Cruz Island Tour Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful view!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We went here to snorkel and found that the snorkelling wasn't good, but the lagoon was still worth the visit. It was picture-perfect. A post card type place. Go for the view, still try the snorkelling (sometimes there are a few good things to see) and if you are the dare-devil type you can jump off the cliff into the water.

On a side note: We met a family who said the snorkelling was amazing. We found out afterwards that we missed 'the amazing' snorkelling because we stopped after the first crevice. When you get to the end of lagoon you can go over some rocks and get to another area and then do it again. We didn't do it but the family we met did and loved it. So, if you go, swim to the end and go over the rocks to the next swimming hole.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    940
    493
    207
    31
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing swim in crystal-clear, cold water rockpool”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I don't think I've seen water that clear in a rockpool before. That was a super refreshing swim after the hot hike over. It's about 1 km hike from the Angermeyer dock, a rocky hike so wear comfy walking shoes or dive booties.

To get to the pool you have to go down a steep staircase, then climb down some craggy rocks (some are slippery because they're covered in moss). Not a place to bring kids, I saw someone bring a small baby and they had to turn back. Also there are wasps everywhere, I got stung in funny places, the little ba$tards are just so persistent.

The pool itself was wonderful, not so deep (about 7m to the bottom), but don't stir up the bottom because it's all silt. You'll muddy up the pool and ruin everyone's day. Go when it's sunny, and not after the rain because the water will be murky then.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank irenenevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Sight to See”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

This location was a stop during our day bay tour. Several other bay tours had this destination on their itinerary as well, and it was quite crowded. But breathtakingly beautiful!! Water was cool and refreshing, which was much appreciated after the walk to get there. However after visiting with flip-flops, I would suggest water shoes or sneakers - something with a gripped sole, as you're expected to climb into and out of the water on rocks (and I don't mean pebbles. Definitely a naturally beautiful site!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We werent sure what it was when we walked there but it was worth the walk. Make sure you have swimming gear and take a snorkel and mask.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stevie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
584 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Unexpected Fun”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Folks were jumping from the rocks up above. Now that I am in Guayaquil, I wish I had taken a shot. Got some good video from the water (which was chilly). A nice stop on a day tour or land tour.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Grietas also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Las Grietas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing