We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty, but I could've gone without”
Review of Las Grietas

Las Grietas
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.00*
and up
Half-Day Santa Cruz Island Tour Galapagos Islands
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty, but I could've gone without”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

This was one of my least favorite parts of the trip. Don't get me wrong, the volcanic cracks were beautiful, but with all there is to see in Galapagos I felt I could've done without and spent my time on something else..It doesn't take up that much time though, it was part of my bay tour which ended at 1..the bay tour up until and after the grietas was a bit boring for me but apparently others disagree..I guess I am more of an adventure person and it wasn't anything much more special than things I've seen outside of Galapagos..but still beautiful and worth seeing if you can.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nathalieaisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    511
    211
    32
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great View But..”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

First let me say the scenery at Las Grietas (once you get there) is beautiful and somewhat unique. But the hike to this area has much to be desired. There is a foul smell and lots of trash on the trail. Very unfortunate. We did not actually swim there because there were like 30-40 people (mostly locals in the their teens and 20s maybe) and we were nervous to leave our backpacks unattended on the rocks. (We were there during the local school break in March as we understand.) Though we didn't swim, the pictures we took were pretty but I'm unsure I would whole-heartedly be able to recommend this hike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OneTravelBugFromAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoa, Manabi, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An adventure to go swimming!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great trek from town to this site which does not require a naturist guide. Be prepared to climb down boulders to get to the swimming hole. Go early and be there at high noon when the sun shines directly into the grotto. By late afternoon the place is packed with tourists on tours, and young locals strutting their stuff, jumping from heights and generally disrupting the solitude and beauty of this place. Do not take valuables.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SherylBensonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Interesting Grotto”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is worth the trip to this grotto for a swim if you go early in the morning as it gets busy. We went before 8am and had the place to ourselves until 9am.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“different heights to jump from, and a cool canyoning further back”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

there is one side where the masses of people go down the stairs. however you can walk to the other side if you are adventurous and not scared of heights. . . (or you can just swim across). from there you can go further back into the canyon for another 200 meters where there are no people, warmer water and more fish!

lots of different jump heights and super safe cause its deep.

but yes, the path there is treacherous so don't wear flipflops

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kayrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Grietas also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Las Grietas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing