We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect place to stay in Galapagos”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mimosa

A view from the rocking chairs on the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view from the rocking chairs on the terrace
The only shot of the house as surrounded by gardens Suite 1 with connecting padded door to Suite 2 enabling large, double, family suite if desired
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
A view from the rocking chairs on the terrace
The only shot of the house as surrounded by gardens
Suite 1 with connecting padded door to Suite 2 enabling large, double, family suite if desired
Suite 1 with connecting padded door to Suite 2 enabling large, double, family suite if desired
Suite 1 with door to main entrance of villa and a private door to the outside.
Suite 1 (Fernandina) position within the villa
Suite 2 with two single beds
Suite 2 with two single beds
Suite 2 with private entrance to outside.
Suite 2 (Marchena) position within the villa
Suite 3, 2-ambiente with one double and two singles. Great as a family suite.
Suite 3 double bed ambient
Suite 3 bathroom
Suite 3 (Genovesa) position within the villa
Suite 4 double bedroom
Suite 4 with entrance to private terrace
Suite 4 exit to private terrace
Suite 4 private terrace
Suite 4 private entrance hall with suitcase rack
Suite 4 bathroom
Suite 4 bathroom
Suite 4 (Pinzon) position within the villa
Public area, the living room
Public area, the living room
Common area 2
Public area, the steps to the top terrace in the backround and the steps to go down in foreground
Public area, the fully-equiped kitchen
Kitchen
The kitchen
One of the two dining tables in the public living areas
One of the two dining tables with the kitchen in the background
The kitchen bar
The 2-ambient terrace at the top of the house
The rocking chairs, hammock and sofa on the top terrace.
Position within Puerto Ayora
Floor plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
sashaagaf...
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Galapagos”
Reviewed January 3, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This is a fantastic holiday house, with everything you need for a comfortable stay in the Galapagos. The house is a short walk from beaches and the incredible Las Grietas - a steep rocky cliff from which locals jump into cool, deep water. The rooms are all large and comfortable, with great beds, clean bathrooms and very flexible room layout to sort a wide variety of guests (families or groups of travellers). The rooftop balcony offers great views of the surrounding area, while the main living area offers a cool, comfortable retreat in the evenings.

Property manager Paul MacFarling is exceptionally friendly and helpful (meeting us at the dock to help with bags, and helping us depart again), and I highly recommend making use of his excellent tours as well (he took us through the Charles Darwin Research Centre and to the Highlands to view cloud forest and giant tortoises). Paul even lent us snorkelling equipment to use while we were staying at the house!

Travelling with a young family, I definitely recommend this as a great option for staying in Galapagos - with plenty of space to run around and good access to beaches, we really felt at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jdisc
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mimosa was a Fantastic place to stay!”
Reviewed December 27, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I'm so glad that my family stayed at Mimosa. We stayed 6 nights and found Mimosa to be a beautiful and affordable option. This was our first trip to the Galapagos and we chose to stay on land because the cruises are so expensive. The Mimosa's owner Paul was a huge help in making the most of our week on Santa Cruz. He was indispensable in helping us book two day excursions to other islands which was so much fun, and he spent two separate days guiding us at the Darwin Center and to the cloud forest highlands. Paul is a biologist and 20 year guide in the Galapagos. He is passionate about these islands and shared so much wonderful information with us. The property is beautiful, clean, and out of the busy downtown area. It's very near a beautiful beach, and thanks to Paul we made the most of all the activities you can enjoy without a National Park guide. I would highly recommend contacting Paul if you're considering staying in Puerto Arroyo, I understand he rents other properties as well. Awesome!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Paul was hugely helpful and kind!
Liked least: Zero complaints
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewed December 8, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ecuador
Reviewed December 4, 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ecuador
Reviewed October 29, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hamburg
Reviewed September 8, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2011
Thank you Sabrina. Glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The Netherlands
Reviewed September 1, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 1, 2011
Thanks Bram,

Really great to have a review at last. Can I point out that by 'appartment', this is in fact just one of the 'rooms' in the house, which has it's own private terrace, a bathroom separated from the main bedroom by the 'entrance hall' of the room. This layout certainly does give it the feeling of an apartment within the 'house'.
Bram stayed here while it was being run as a B&B and occupied this room/apartment!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing