We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, very simple, needs some updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pelican Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pelican Bay
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Puerto Ayora
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location, very simple, needs some updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Pros-
close to everything
clean
nice friendly and helpful english speaking staff
inexpensive

Cons-
not very comfortable
needs lobby furniture that is comfortable and cushions on pool furniture
hard beds
lots of noise between rooms and from the town

Room Tip: walls are paper thin. try to get one where you are not near anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodLori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
21
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

The Pelican Bay hotel has easy access to the harbour and the main shopping street in Puerto Ayora. The reception, when someone is there, is fairly friendly but there may be issues with English being spoken if you are not a Spanish speaker. Once you have their attention the service was reasonably good and they can organise taxis to the highlands or tours to other islands. Check with agencies, however, to compare prices and quality of the boat service. The one tour (to Isabella) I organised through the hotel had 30 people on a boat with a maximum capacity for 21! It was uncomfortable and did not provide water! Profit making at its best!

The hotel rooms were clean but simply furnished and the beds are not made for anyone needing back support. Breakfast is included but is at the basic end of the spectrum. The hotel looks like it has not finished its building program and this means it's appearance is compromised.

I think there are better alternatives as prices are relatively high, which is partly a reflection of the Galapagos tourist honeypot effect where many hotels, boats and agencies have inflated prices knowing that the area offers an irresistible pull. Not really in the spirit of a unique bio-resource!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at Pelican Bay for 5 nights a few weeks ago. We had a very nice experience here. The hotel manager and staff were all very friendly and helpful. The manager set up 3 day trips for us. I had a lot of questions about what to see and do in the Galapagos and the manager was very helpful in answering all of my questions. My husband ended up getting sick on one of our last days in the Galapagos and the manager came with us to the hospital and talked with the doctor and came with us to the pharmacy to get medicine. I really appreciated how much he helped out his guests. Rooms were clean. Pelican Bay is located a block off the main street so it had a more quiet environment.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

I moved hotels on the first day as it was too pricey this one was about $80 a night cheaper then my first one, didn't have fancy decorations outside but had a pool and the breakfast ladies are really nice. The owner could be a bit friendlier but apart from that it's good value as you spend most on the day out doing day trips and don't need a fancy hotel. If you need just a place to sleep that won't cost the bank and you get breakfast this is your hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabretoothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Let me start with positive; the lady that runs the restaurant is nice, does a wonderful job and the food is good. If only I could say that about the rest of this dump. Our room was small and stinks really really bad. There were bugs crawling all over the place. The shower drain was clogged but that didn't matter because it was no hot water shower with, twice! Rude management.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank defan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#4 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ninfa
Hotel Ninfa
#9 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
3.5 of 5 stars 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#1 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galapagos Garden
Hotel Galapagos Garden
#12 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pelican Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pelican Bay

Property: Hotel Pelican Bay
Address: Av. Floreana y Adolfo Hanny, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Beach Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Pelican Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pelican Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pelican Bay Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing