We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small rooms, value for money, perfect location”
Review of Hostal Elizabeth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Ayora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Elizabeth
Ranked #38 of 57 Puerto Ayora B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We changed hostel after two nights to find a cheaper deal. We found it at Hostal Elizabeth. The bed was really good (but fairly small) and it was almost impossible not to bump your head somewhere going the way up the stairs to the third floor where we stayed. The bathroom was also very small, and even though the shelves in the room are useful, the room (without A/C) still made me feel like a giant in a midget-home. It was clean, wifi was working properly and the price was not bad. It felt a little scary to switch off the heather of the shower with the water running, because the wires were kind of exposed. We survived evidently.
For watching the bags will you are on multiple-day-trips they charge 1 dollar per bag. It is located right at the harbour where everything happens, so that is very nice. So all in all, not bad, but since there is nothing in between Average and Very Good, I pick Average. If there would have been a Good, I would have picked that.

Room Tip: We had room 21, you have to climb some stairs but it gives you some more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 96 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights at this hostel. It was really basic but totally fine for the price of $35. I really want to emphasize that there are plenty of budget options in puerto ayora (also on Isabella and san cristobal).This is not the only one which offers a room to stay in for cheap money. You can easily arrive in the islands and just ask around in the hostels near the harbour, you don't have to book a room in advance. There are definitely better options as hostel Elizabeth which are spacious and cheaper (e.g. hostal Brattle). Hostel Elizabeth is okay but nothing special!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. It's not the most perfect, its kind of loud, hot and not spotless but the people there are amazing! The owner and the staff are so helpful and kind it made our stay amazing. The views were beautiful and it was such a nice location, right on Charles Darwin Ave. There's a nice area in the middle to sit and relax outside, a beautiful spot on the roof where I sat for hours and its only a short walk from most of the food. It's cheap and therefore not perfect but it's perfect for young travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We arrived on the San Cristobal Boat mid morning very hot and tired and in the middle of a parade. We saw the Hostal Elizabeth sign from the dock and booked our stay. we were on the third floor and had a wonderful view of the bay. Very friendly staff, very very convenient location. The fan was sufficient for us, but there was no air conditioning. I highly recommend this hostal.

Room Tip: Views form the third floor are great. You are a few steps from the main dock and easy walking dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelphineTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is quite ok. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The owner is very nice. The location is very good, everything is in walking distance. The wifi is slow but it works.
The rooms are not very big but ok. The negative thing: the beds were very uncomfortable and it is quite noisy during the night.

The price is very reasonable.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Easyfish13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We only stayed one night because it was so small that you could'nt go to the toilet or have a shower without leaving the door open. It was also dirty, very noisy,unsafe & expensive for the lack of quality. We found significantly better accomodation for a cheaper rate one street back from the waterfront. The owners were very helpful when we were paying them to stay but very nasty after we left to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Go one street back from the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJean58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights and he helped us a lot to arrange things like round trips, booking boat tickets and wich tasty food to eat among many other things wich made our visit to the island an easy stay.
The location is just a little walk from the harbour if you arrive from a boat.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank OlleDoleDoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Ayora hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#7 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
321 reviews
0 mi away
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
Finch Bay Galapagos Hotel
#2 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
892 reviews
0 mi away
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
Red Mangrove Ecoluxury Hotel
#8 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
Semilla Verde Boutique Hotel
#1 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
446 reviews
0 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#3 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
356 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Pelican Bay
Hotel Pelican Bay
#14 of 21 in Puerto Ayora
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Elizabeth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Elizabeth

Address: Charles Darwin Avenue, Puerto Ayora 593, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Ayora
Price Range: $20 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As we´re very close to the sea our third story rooms offer a wonderful ocean view. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Elizabeth Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing