We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay in Puerto Ayora!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa de Judy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel La Casa de Judy
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Puerto Ayora!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

A guidebook reviewed Casa de Judy (formerly Hotel Galapagos) positively as a good place to stay for budget-conscious travellers. The book said it was a good option because of its relative proximity to the main strip. Looking for accommodations, my husband and I decided to visit, and were won over by Judy's warm personality and the simple, but beautiful design of the place. Two rooms were available on short notice: one in the courtyard (by the pool), the other on the third floor, which Judy recommended (a little pricier).

Despite knowing that we would spend most of our time scuba diving and sight-seeing, we opted to splurge on an ocean view room on the third floor. I'm happy we did. The view was beautiful, and it was nice to have the privacy. Rooms by the courtyard tended to have many people walking by, and it was a bit louder there.

We enjoyed our stay at Casa de Judy. The room was clean, and tastefully decorated, with two comfortable Queen beds. More importantly, it had air conditioning, and hot water.

Wifi was available in the courtyard area, which we were happy to use. Finally, breakfasts were included in the cost of the room. They were lovely, composed of all the breakfast goodies: warm bread, eggs, coffee, sliced fruit, and fresh fruit juices.

We definitely felt at home there, and would recommend it to others looking for a nice, and relaxed place to stay in Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_Chickita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    43
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
41
65
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Galapagos Inn is in a quite side street, but only 5-10 minutes away from most important places in Puoerto Ayura. It's a medium sized hotel and costs less than a lot of the other hotels in town. The rooms are simple but very clean. There is a nice pool. Judy, the owner is incredibly nice and helpful and goes out of her way to provide you with information. All in all very good value.


Galapagos Inn ist ein mittelgroßes Hotel in einer Seitenstraße, 5-10 Minuten Fussweg vom Zentrum und anderen Sehenwürdigkeiten. Es ist mittelgroß und gehört zu den günstigeren Hotels in der Stadt. Die Zimmer sind einfach aber sauber. Es gibt einen schönen Pool. Und die Besitzerin Judy ist sehr nett und hilfsbereit. Alles in allem, bestens für den Preis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Judy and her husband made us feel like family. This property is off the main path, but not too far from it so it was easy to walk to and from around town. We arrived in September which was a little off season and Judy let us choose any room we wanted so we picked the top of course to have a great view. She helped us coordinate every excursion and really was a great concierge with the feeling like she was your mom who really cared about your safety and making sure you enjoyed the island.
Anything you needed she made sure it happened. We asked for a small birthday cake to have at 8am in the morning to celebrate our friends' special day before heading off to the airport and of course she went to the bakery the day before and purchased one that was great and had it all laid out during our breakfast. We love the special touches and how personable she was.

The room that we had was quaint, large and clean. There was 3 of us that traveled together and we were all single so the 3 twin beds were perfect for us. Don't expect a lot of room amenities besides a TV, a place to hang a few clothes and clean towels. Plus, you're on a beautiful island with tons of things to do so you shouldn't be spending anytime in your room with exception of sleep.

Every morning we would go down and Judy would have a nice simple breakfast for us and great conversation.

If we ever get the chance to go back we would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spicytravelasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineyard Haven, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The staff made you feel like you were at a relative's house. They were so great, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are simple, clean and really all you need. AC worked great. Short walk to town and the best breakfast you can ask for! We upgraded our last week in Isabella to a fancier hotel and though the location was better (right on the beach) Casa de Judy still beat them in service and accommodations!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in december 2012. Really nice hotel and Judy are very helpful in every way. Only bad thing is that it was rarely any hot water, which for my girlfriend is an important thing. We would definitely stay with Judy again if we go back to Puerto Ayora.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joachim0658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Casa de Judy with our family of 4 (kids are 10 &12).

Judy (the owner), her husband, sun (Julian who was also our guide, and an excellent guide by the way!) and daughter were very friendly. Judy is a charm and makes you feel very comfortable. The installations are clean and the AC worked perfectly (which wasn't the case for the other 2 hotels we stayed in Galapagos that advertised as having AC). The common area downstairs is great for socializing with other guests in the morning and evenings and exchange experiences on what we saw /will see next day.

Yes, it is true that the installations are simple and the breakfast was ok, and pool is small, but the friendiness of Judy and staff compensated for any of these shortcomings.

We will definitely stay here again without any hesitation if we get a chance to come to Galapagos again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SeattleResident999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while we explored the Galapagos. The rooms were simple, but spacious and clean, and our room had wonderful views over the bay. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the main street in Puerto Ayora, and about the same distance from the Charles Darwin center, so it was convenient but also quiet. Breakfast was good and included a fresh juice - we had blackberry, watermelon, guava - fresh fruit, eggs, bread, coffee and tea. We could also refill our water bottles at no charge, which was useful.
What really makes this hotel stand out is the owner, Judy, and her husband. They could not have been more friendly and helpful, and they made our stay a pleasure. Judy even arranged a tour to Isabela for us, which our tour operator had told us was unavailable for the day we wanted to go!
We would definitely recommend this hotel, and if we go back to the Galapagos we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor facing the ocean have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Ayora
0.0 mi away
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
Finch Bay Eco Hotel
#1 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 730 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fiesta
Hotel Fiesta
#3 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
Red Mangrove Aventura Lodge
#5 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
Angermeyer Waterfront Inn
#2 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Solymar
Hotel Solymar
#4 of 18 in Puerto Ayora
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iguana Crossing
Iguana Crossing
#1 of 6 in Puerto Villamil
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Casa de Judy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa de Judy

Property: Hotel La Casa de Judy
Address: Fragata y Escalesia, Puerto Ayora 200350, Ecuador
Location: Ecuador > Galapagos Islands > Santa Cruz > Puerto Ayora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Ayora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel La Casa de Judy 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel La Casa de Judy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa De Judy Galapagos Islands/Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing