We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful home away from home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Opuntia

View of front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of front of house
Entrance and dining room Living room and door to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
View of front of house
Entrance and dining room
Living room and door to patio
Living room
Living room
Dining room and office area
Dining room and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Office area
Seating area near kitchen
Patio and garden
Patio and garden
Patio
Side deck and garden
Patio and garden
Downstairs room one: twin beds
Downstairs room one: twin beds
Downstairs room two: queen bed
Stairs leading to second floor
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Balcony
Balcony
Rooftop patio
Rooftop patio
Rooftop patio
Garden
View of house
Tortuga Bay (30 min walk from the house along a path within national park)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz, Galapagos Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
mvs333
Ithaca, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful home away from home!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful place to land after a long journey to the Galapagos! The location was perfect - close walking distance to shops, restaurants, downtown, Tortuga Bay trailhead, etc., yet in a quiet neighborhood away from the noise. The owner was attentive, kind and very helpful with our last-minute reservations. The setting and house itself is beautiful - surrounded by beautiful flowering gardens. A full, well-equipped kitchen was great for preparing our own meals. Laundry on the premises. We enjoyed morning coffee on the 3rd floor sundeck watching the sunrise! If I ever return, I will plan to stay here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah_S_K
Scarsdale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful home, great and supportive owner, and close to everything”
Reviewed March 2, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

From inquiry to stay Tatjana was great! She answered all of our questions, provided help with booking day tours and airport transfers. She also recommended local guide Paul who was very helpful and knowledgable.

Her home has everything you need for your stay and more. Balcony and patio has great views of beautiful gardens. We enjoyed our morning tea/coffee and kids afternoon swings in hammocks. Her home is close to everything market, restaurants, kiosks. Maria (maid) and Mr. Marco (taxi driver) were great. Maria came every other day and even did our laundry!

Easy access to Tortuga Bay for morning run and nature walk! We are so glad that we chose her home for our stay in Galapagos!

Thanks Tatjana for sharing your wonderful home and all your help!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the amenities and location
Liked least: Nothing that we can think of
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2013
Thank you Shalin! I am glad you had a nice stay, all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alisonjan...
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed February 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We ummed and aahed if we should have a land based trip in the Galapagos, this villa helped us decide! The accommodation was great and provided everything we need for our family of me, my husband and 2 of our grown up children. It was close to Tortuga beach for running, swimming and wildlife spotting. We saw sharks, turtles, boobies, pelicans and iguanas there each time we went. It was only a few minutes to walk to town, there are several grocery stores close by and when we booked our day trips the bus driver knew where to pick us up from. The outside spaces with sunbeds and hammocks were perfect for relaxing, the kitchen was well equipeed and there was a washing machine and drier too for us to use. The bed in the master bedroom was one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. This was a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Walking to Tortuga Bay at first light
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 11, 2013
Thanks Alison, I am gappy to hear you had a nice time in the Galapagos and at Villa Opuntia!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wulfenite...
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
Reviewed January 11, 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Opuntia is very close to the main part of town. We were within walking distance of the Kioskos (street vendors), bars and restaurants. Tortuga bay is just down the street (albeit, a really long walk). The grocery store was just around the corner and it was easy to catch a taxi near the grocery store for day trips and near the dock to catch a water taxi.
The house is surrounded by a garden that is very relaxing to take your morning beverage. At night we sat up on the top balcony and listened to the sounds of the city. The house was clean and the maid stopped by three times per week. We stayed for 10 nights and it was an amazing place to stay.

I would highly recommend staying at Villa Opuntia to anyone planning to visit Puerto Ayora.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was close to the heart of the Puerto Ayora.
Liked least: No complaints
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnsville
Reviewed December 5, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Buenos Aires
Reviewed November 21, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mommicon
Long Island, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Home Away from Home and A Great Location”
Reviewed August 17, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I visited the Galapagos Islands with my family, young adults 23,24, 25.
The house and rooms are larger than in the pictures shown. The gardens are beautiful and the location is perfect, very private, within walking distance to the town,Tortuga Bay, Charles Darvin Station.
We booked 3 excursions to other Islands.(Semore,Isabella, and Bartolome) They picked us up in front of the house . The tour operator was GALAGENTS and boat's name was THE NAREL.The tour guide, Jaime Navas was excellent(explained all events) and the crew on the boat was outstanding.(boat safety,meals,and includes snorkelling equipment)
The kitchen at the villa has everything. We did breakfast and a few dinners in but there are many good places to eat within walking distance.The KIOSKOS has good fresh fast food.
The owner Tatjana recommended reliable taxi (Don Marco) who even stopped in the Highlands to see the tortoises and lava tunnels.
The dryer was broken when we arrived but Maria(housekeeper) managed to have fresh towels, clean sheets and even did some of our laundry.
Having wifi was good to email the owner when we there was no running water ( water pump broke).She responding so quickely and it was fixed in no time. Thank you, Tatjana for having everything well organized.( folder in the office with phone numbers, restaurants,and Island activities).
This is perfect home for families and close friends to experience the Galapagos Islands(more relaxing,very spacious) I regret not staying longer.
Thank You Tatjana for sharing your home
Great family memories and we hope to return again. NY

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious house, great location ,clean and owner availble in emergency
Liked least: no running water(broken water pump)but fixed quickly and broken dryer
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing