We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great respite - wish we had found it earlier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il Giardino

Il Giardino
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Puerto Ayora
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean, Ecuadorean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Best place in Galápagos to enjoy a beautiful meal with family and friends, indulge yourself with fresh sea food, cocktails, coffee and tasty italian gelato.
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great respite - wish we had found it earlier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nice location and atmosphere - second story open air eating overlooking the bay. Very clean. Friendly staff. Excellent, tasty food clearly prepared with quality ingredients and attention to detail. Had a great salmon salad - large and very fresh- and the most delicious crepes I have EVER eaten! Also, amazing coffee here and great desserts. Oh, and they have wi-fi throughout.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvs333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    626
    455
    132
    33
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Excellent food, friendly servers, very, very fresh food, very courteous people and open late. I liked everything about this restaurant and that's why we went everyday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Soadmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I cannot emphasize enough how good the coffee is! Current price is $2.20 for a Cappuccino that would put Starbucks to shame. $7.50 for an Omelette, fresh juice plus 1st class Cafe con leche? You gotta be kidding! Why go anywhere else for breakfast? Lovely atmosphere, charming service, good wi-fi and great food. The menu includes a diverse variety of healthful choices for all palates, including some very good vegetarian choices, for lunch and dinner. This is #1 on my list of places to eat in Puerto Ayora, Isla Santa Cruz, Galapagos

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TrailingTalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Save room for ice cream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Thie was our favorite restauart in town. We ate here a few times and loved every meal. The fish and shrimps dishes are good, The mixed drinks were just okay though. But the best part is that connected with the restaurant is an ice cream store where you can get delicious ice cream cones to go, or you can order yummy ice cream desserts from the menu in the restaurant. We LOVED the ice cream and even when we at at another restaurant, always stopped on the way home for a cone. You buy your ticket for the ice cream cones at the restaurant's bar, then take the ticket next door for your cone.
Don't miss out on the ice cream!!! And they give you tastes on little spoons so you can decide which flavor you want.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“We kept going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Their food was excellent, sitting upstairs gave us a nice view and outdoor dining, and the service was solid. We miss this restaurant now that we're back home.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank wonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Giardino also viewed

Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
Puerto Ayora, Santa Cruz
 

Been to Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing